We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, service could use work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar - CLOSED

Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$160
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Spreading its wings far from Shoreditch’s Rivington Street original in London, Rivington Grill, Souk Al Bahar was the first to open in Dubai, followed by a second, Rivington Bar and Grill that opened in 2012. The restaurant, located in the cosmopolitan Downtown area, is very well known in Dubai and is famed and loved for its seasonal menu, simplistic décor, friendly staff and fantastic views. The Rivington Grill concept is ‘back to basics’ home cooked food, offering authentic British classics, with what the chef’s call ‘a Rivi twist’.The adjoining terrace is the restaurant’s highlight; sitting over the water ways of the Dubai Fountains, with the Burj Khalifa looming just meters away, it offers one of the best vistas in the city, and makes a great space for sundowners and dinner parties at dusk. As well as the á la carte menu and the blackboard specials, the restaurant also offers ‘The Rivi Lunch Hour’ which is a new take on the common ‘business lunch’, where a 2 course lunch will be all done and dusted within an hour for just 100 AED.
DXB
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good food, service could use work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Had been meaning to give it a try for a while now but rarely go to the Dubai mall area as its too hectic for my liking. Overall first impressions were great, wonderful view, nice restaurant and all the staff very polite and say hello. Menu looked very good, and while it was quite expensive, it was one of the best hamburgers I have had in Dubai. Wife's fish and chips were also very good. For the price you pay I think the service should be much better and more attentive. Will be back again more often when they open the new location in the madinat area I believe.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YVR_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    206
    72
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steak with very friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I went to the Rivington Grill with a colleague. We didn't have a booking but were offered to sit at the bar, so we did. It was a great place to see the restaurant working like a well oiled machine. The bar staff were making cocktails and great to talk to. We could watch the kitchen taking and making the food orders. Although there was a slight mistake with our main course coming before the starters had been clear, they made up for it with some free wine. Fantastic Rib Eye steak and great wine.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnJampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Stunning view, good English cuisine but horribly expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

1 fish and chips, 1 tandoori chicken, 1 Atlantic prawns, 1 chicken pie, 1 salad, 1 bowl of chips, 2 bottles of wine, 2 desserts and a coffee. All yours for £300!

Atmosphere great, service pleasant, views of dancing fountains and big buildings great but value it is not.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fedupphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Outside Terrace a Must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We chose to eat here on the last day of our holiday to Dubai. Booked a month beforehand online for the outside terrace with fabulous views of the Burj Khalifa and the fountain show On booking were given two options early 7pm or later 9pm. Took the early option and combined it with a 4:30 slot to go up the Burj Khalifa, this worked out very well. They must be doing something right as the restaurant was packed and they were turning people away. Loved the terrace but personally would not have wanted to sit inside. Some previous reviewers have critised the service but for us it was excellent from start to finish. The food was good but expensive for what it was and they do not accept entertainment vouchers. Our bill for 2 came to £180 for 3 courses, a glass of wine, a beer, soft drink and 2 liquor coffees. To sum up the food on its own would not be worth it but the view makes it all wothwhile and we were very pleased with our choice.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbigailShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cannot put it into words”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Great meal, good staff, very nice Chefs who come and talk to you, wine spot on, will go again very soon, Don't miss this one !!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riggs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing