We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“city hotel for shopping and sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emirates Grand Hotel
Ranked #224 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“city hotel for shopping and sightseeing”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

First impresssion, two towers and a loud Sheikh Zayed Road in front. The Receptionist was friendly and helpful, so we could move in the room two hrs earlier than 3.p.m. . The deluxe Room was spacious, friendly and very clean. A big kitchen and huge frigde! Ok..just a pair of cuttlery and plates ... ;-) Bathroom..ok, clean functional and big! Ohh yes, many give guest give this report with the towels. i fully agree. First day many towels..big, medium and small. After three days..only two big towels :-(. Ok, i didn't agree with the bad reports about the lifts, it seems the hotel worked on this problem with a new electronic.
Ok. for travellers/shopaholics. Dubai mall is not far...but don't walk! The streets behind hotel are still under construction, so it be a bit dangerous to walk on the construction side.Better take the Metro and then Bus in front of station to the Mall.
Ok, result of the hotel? Again? Yes! if you don't need beach holiday and want a priceworthy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarstenWatsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    284
    164
    74
    79
See reviews for
178
179
59
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
beirut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I don't usually review motels because they rarely fall outside what one would expect. Frankly if this hotel had been as satisfactory as a roadside Best Western in the US, I would not have reviewed it either. There is something deeply unpleasant about this place. It's right on a hugely busy super highway (sheik Zayed Road) that produces an infernal roar 24 hours a day. The soundproofing is poor so you hear it everywhere you go from the rooftop to the bedroom to the lobby. It's like Chinese water torture. The room was large, clean and new, but kind of uncomfortable, everything is badly designed, drawers too low, closets that hit doors, a bathroom with no where to put anything. Also, no light switches near the bed so you have to get up after reading. I don't think I've seen that mistake in any hotel I've stayed in! The Suite also has a large section devoted to a kitchen. Why I don;t know. It even has a dishwasher and clothes machine...odd, I must be missing a point here. The windows were super filthy, barely able to see out of them onto a view, which in any case was very ugly. And the elevators are clearly a mistake. The architect of the building deserves to be banned from the UAE. He put 5 lifts into a 47 story building. Schindler has retrofitted them with a system that makes them as efficient as possible, but they are still inadequate. In fact I wonder if this was ever designed as a hotel from the start. The lobby is kind of scrunched.
On the plus side it was clean, the towels were big.

Room Tip: PIck another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epok100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Comfortable, modern and spacios rooms. The hotel was fully booked so it was a very good opportunity to test their services. The elevators are few, but they are efficiently organized. If I had to indicate a weak point, may be it would be that there would be more people at the reception, particularly when the hotel is fully booked.
The price is very adequate considering the service offered.
Recommended for visitors and exhibitors at the exhibition center. It is 15/20' walking distance from the exhibition center (not so easy to walk), and 5 min in taxi.
They always have taxis at the door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I really like the location and room size. Unfortunately my stay was spoiled by unprofessional reception personnel who did not informed me about all the conditions of wi-fi usage which caused additional costs for me. Moreover hotel does not have quality control system. For them staff is always right, not client, even when they can not prove it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenaschum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed there for 3nites in Feb 2012, will never go back to that hotel again.
1.No hot water in the shower, only warm water.
2.No proper shower, it has a shower in the bathtub, toiletries not filled like shower gel etc.
3.Worst lifts ever made.Wait 20 minutes at a time.
4.Terrible staff , poor service, called for porter when checking out and waited over an hour and a half and had to go down myself to get the bellboy as I was rushing for a flight.
5.Aircon is preset to cold and cannot be adjusted.
6.Paid for 3nites with breakfast, and only had breakfast for 2 days.My agent requested early checkin, they charged me 540 dirhams extra for breakfast for that day.
7.The hotel is situated in a very busy highway and far from everything.
8.This hotel is frequented by callgirls, definately not a hotel for a family.

Paid 1050 dirhams a nite for a useless hotel, dont waste your money and trust me , dont stay there !!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.0 km away
Carlton Downtown Hotel
Carlton Downtown Hotel
#158 of 550 in Dubai
1,020 reviews
0.2 km away
Number One Tower Suites
Number One Tower Suites
#299 of 550 in Dubai
306 reviews
0.3 km away
Rose Rayhaan by Rotana - Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Towers Rotana
Towers Rotana
#106 of 550 in Dubai
2,223 reviews
0.4 km away
Dusit  Thani Dubai
Dusit Thani Dubai
#79 of 550 in Dubai
2,067 reviews
2.2 km away
M Hotel Downtown By Millennium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Grand Hotel

Property: Emirates Grand Hotel
Address: Emirates Grand Hotel Sheikh Zayed Rd | Financial Metro Stop, Dubai 0000, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the commercial district, on Dubai’s prominent Sheikh Zayed Road, the alcohol-free 47-storey Emirates Grand Hotel is offering a panoramic city and Arabian Sea views. The tallest building in the world,The Burj Khalifa, and the largest Mall in the Middle East – Dubai Mall is reachable within less than 10 minutes driving, opposite Financial Center Metro Station, easily accessible to the Dubai International Financial Center, Dubai International Convention and Exhibition Center, Dubai World Trade Center, and just 15 minutes drive away from Dubai International Airport and 5 minutes from the golden sands of the Jumeirah Beach Park.Wi-Fi is available.Guests have access to the rooftop pool offering a panoramic city and Arabian Gulf views, and the fully equipped fitness center as well as a tennis court. A wellness center which includes a sauna, a hot tub and a steam room is also available. The Emirates Grand Spa offers a wide range of body treatments and facials.Enjoy home cooked meals at our world class restaurants, and the famous Arabic shesha, also well known as hubbly bubbly is served either on the rooftop lounge or in the garden area.relax with your favorite beverage at the roof top terrace.Plan a meeting in any of our four meeting rooms fully equipped with contemporary audiovisual facilities and business center guarantees every function to be a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Emirates Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing