We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beit Marrash

Beit Marrash
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aleppo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beit Marrash
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Aleppo
Rome, Italy
1 review
“very nice one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

very nice one ,We stayed here for 5 nights and can only rave about the excellent service and beautiful atmospheric room. This is hotel that we can highly recommend. The location is excellen the service is good,i hope to be back soon

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

My wife and I travelled to Aleppo duing the Islamic Eid holidays so there weren't that many visitors there. We checked in a t the hotel directly. The room is large and comfortable. the staff is helpful, but the map they provided is lousy.

For American standard, it is a 3-star hotel. But for the europeans, it is a 4-star hotel. The courtyard is very nice. And it is relatively new, so everything is ok.

We duid walked about 15 minutes to the nearby restaurant for dinner. The hotel is not located in a convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukokyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Our group of 26 was divided between Beit Wakil and this off-shoot, which is a more recent conversion nearer the old city, and by no means the poor relation. We found it charming and were given a beautifully restored room overlooking the peaceful courtyard with fountain, trees, flowers and sun-loungers – an oasis of calm away from the busy main road, but only a few minutes’ walk from the citadel and souk. We had a mini-bar, satellite TV (with BBC, CNN etc), good air con, a comfortable king-size bed and spotless bathroom with walk-in shower. True, there is no restaurant or bar here (though they offer a reasonable buffet breakfast) but there are several good eating options in this area. Unless you are on a half-board deal, you don’t have to return to the sister hotel (a 20-minute walk), even though the food there is pretty good. It is possible that groups are given preference over independent travellers in some respects, such as room allocation, food and transport between the two establishments. So when booking, you should insist on a large room at Beit Marrash, rather than Beit Wakil, on room-only or B&B terms. If you can’t get this guaranteed in writing, take your business elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

We had a confirmed reservation for 8 days ay Beit Wakil. When we read the reviews on Tripadvisor we called Beit Wakil asking that we be allocated one of the larger rooms. It then emerged for the first time that we would not be accommodated in Beiit Wakil for the full stay, but would spend part of our time in Beit Marrash (a sister hotel). The owner claimed that a booking for Beit Wakil was, at his sole discretion, a booking for Beit Marrash!

The owner of the hotel gave a glowing description of Beit Marrash, indicating that it was in close proximity to Beit Wakil which was said to have a spledid restaurant where we could take our meals. As a result, we changed our reservation to spend the whole stay in Beit Marrash.

We were required to check in at Beit Wakil and were kept in the lobby there for more than an hour waiting to be transferred to Beit Marrash. Far from being nearby, Beit Marrash was a taxi ride from Beit Wakil and a 20 minute walk along very busy roads.
Beit Marrash has no restaurant, nor is there one nearby, And it is impossible to get so much as a coffee or a soft drink on the premises.

The hotel is pleasant, but the standard of the linen and towels leaves a great deal to be desired. The breakfast was, to say the least dire, and if the hotel had a coach party in house, there was insufficient for the other guests to have even a modest breakfast.

Althhough we had booked and paid for Beit Wakil (which has a restaurant and a bar) we were told the rate for Beit Marrash (without these facilities) was the same. Moreover, although we agreed the rate beforehand, the hotel charged 25% more than agreed for an extension of 2 days. It was impossible to speak to the owner who took every opportunity of avoiding us and he hid behind his most junior staff who accepted that we were correct, but were powerless to amend the account. Oddly, we were advised not to make a formal complaint to the authorities because the owner 'is a friend of the President'!

We did eat (once) at Beit Wakil. It is third rate at best and focussed on serving the needs of tourist groups.

The only reason this report is not classified 'terrible' is that the young staff were very pleasant. However if you are an independent traveller be aware you will be treated as a second class guest compared to the tour parties and that Beit Marrash is very poor value for money compared to other hotels in Aleppo.

  • Liked — the garden
  • Disliked — the tired towels (and the shortage of towels)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SebastianWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

The owner of Beit Marrash quoted us the same price as sister hotel Beit Wakil and this was not reasonable given the inconvenient location and poor standards.

We arrived in the evening and our stay did not get off to a good start because we were asked to check in at Beit Wakil (their other hotel). After waiting 30 minutes we were brought to Beit Marrash. When we asked where we could get something to eat they told us we had to go right back to where we had just come from. It is a 20 minute walk down the side of a busy road to get to the nearest restaurant.

On the plus side, the location is within walking distance of the citadel and the souk. The courtyard is also very nice and the rooms are recently renovated.

Unfortunately the rooms were not well aired, and the towels in the bathroom were somewhat used (one had dried paint stuck to it). Of course these are small things, but I expected better from the price and the description given by the management.

Service was a bit hit and miss, and there was a definite 'customer is wrong' attitude. Not like the kind hospitality we experienced elsewhere in Syria.

  • Liked — Nice courtyard
  • Disliked — Sloppy service
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemberTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beit Marrash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Marrash

Property: Beit Marrash
Address: Sabaa Bahrat Fountain | Alshebanieh Alie, Aleppo, Syria
Region: Syria > Aleppo Governorate > Aleppo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Aleppo
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beit Marrash 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing