We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and people, rooms could use a little updating”

Villa Merry Lao-Swiss
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Merry Lao-Swiss
Ranked #129 of 272 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Had a great time during our 3 day stay here. Very nice young lady at the check in desk. Rooms were nice but AC froze up every day. Comfy beds and great spot to watch the giving of alms in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at Villa Merry Lao III two weeks ago (Feb 2012) for 4 nights.

Thu, who manages the hotel was so lovely and helpful with suggestions on places to visit, including best times to go, etc. She was so attentive that when I had returned to my room for a nap after an early start, she came to check on me when she hadn't seen me for a few hours saying she was worried I might be sick and couldn't get downstairs (I was travelling alone).

The room was a great size, very clean. I had no problem with TV reception has mentioned in a previous review, however I was on the 3rd floor and was only able to access the WiFi on the ground floor which was a little disappointing.

Location is great for dining & bars being straight across the road from most of the recommended bars, which have a curfew of about 11pm so you aren't kept up all night with noise.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Villa Merry Lao, big thanks to Thou!

Room Tip: I stayed in a Superior Double Room (see photo) which was $28 per night. Some may consider this quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylieT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The room is big enough but quite basic. There is a television in the room but reception is horrible so you cannot really watch any channels. Free wifi is good. Breakfast provided is pretty good as well. Across from many pubs which is good for us. Staff is the biggest draw in the hostel! Receptionist is always smiley and helpful. Makes you feel really welcome in the hostel all the time!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were very comfortable at this hostel - it was well located, large and spotlessly clean - a great place to start our Mekong holiday . All the staff were very friendly, and as others have mentioned, the Receptionist, Chou, was wonderful, meeting our every need. Nice breakfast and nice atmosphere, and good security. Highly recommended, thank you Chou :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cessandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This hotel is in a good location. The rooms are very nice. Bathroom had a window into the room, which was a bit odd, but not really a big deal.

The staff were all lovely. Especially the young lady on reception. She was very helpful and chatty.

Breakfast was included. All very nice. I really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sair1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
9.9 km away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
258 reviews
1.1 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
872 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#35 of 71 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
298 reviews
0.9 km away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
911 reviews
0.7 km away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Merry Lao-Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Merry Lao-Swiss

Address: Phousi Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Villa Merry Lao-Swiss Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing