We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
12
30
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
30
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriverside hotelhotel breakfastmekong rivergreat locationegg stationthe main houseyogurtfree wifinight marketevery morningwould stay againpropertiesbanksupstairs
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had A very friendley stay . This place has a very good area and the hotel staff are very helpfull
How is this for service .The Manger SURI found that I had left my mob phone in the room. Next
he arrived at the airport on his motorbike and found me with my phone. What service .So if you are going to SALA PRABANG stay at this hotel. YOU will have a great visit. Cheers SJB

Room Tip: Very good room on the veranda you can sit and watch the world go by ,and not much noise .Frist floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The owner was very kind when we arrived as we asked for a balcony he moved things around for us.We had a room at the back which was quieter than the front but lots of dogs and cats fighting through the night.We had breakfast over the road overlooking the Mekong which was lovely(unfortunately it was bitter cold so everyone ate with their coats on as it is outside).would love to return when bit warmer in mornings.Linen very good and plenty of hot water.We all loved Luang Probang so much to see and great restaurants all in walking distance.

Room Tip: See above re rooms at back
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel building overlooking the Mekong. A small but lovely room with heat (thankfully, because it got quite cold); a strong, hot water shower; a balcony overlooking the Mekong; coffee, tea and bottled water in the room; friendly and helpful staff; and Mr. Coo, the hotel owner, available when needed. Lovely people, lovely room, lovely city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufusrastas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and were pleased with our room in one of the hotel's properties on a street back from the main building. The room was clean and tidy and we were able to turn the AC up to keep us warm during the chilly nights. There was plenty of hot water too which was very welcome as it was pretty cold during our visit. Good freshly prepared breakfasts are served on a terrace overlooking the Mekong. All in all a good choice of place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our stay here began with a few mis-steps: the arranged car in from the airport was not there to pick us up. When we arrived at the hotel by the Mekong river, we were told the reservation was for their other property a few blocks away not riverside. A golf cart was called to take us and our luggage to the other property. The other hotel although clean and tidy looked like a 2 story motel around a courtyard. Because it was extremely cold that night, the copious hot water from the shower was terrific as was the firm bed and extra blanket ...but there was neither view nor heat. Breakfast was lacklustre served in the garden. We returned to the riverside hotel intending to cancel and find a room elsewhere but the owner said due to a cancellation, there was room for us. The colonial house with its extensive renovations is charming. We had one of the 4 upstairs rooms; 2 face the street with river views; 2 face over the back courtyard roof covered with bougainvilleas. All rooms have private balconies with an upholstered chair and little table with kettle and tea/coffee. The rooms are cozy and the French glass doors allow for an expanded view. Bathrooms are adequate and the hot water here , after a little wait, is plentiful. For cold nights, the rooms have heat!! For hot days, there is AC. The real treat was the heat - otherwise mornings in December in Luang Prabang can feel like camping. Breakfast is served on the hotel's riverside terrace: yoghurt, fresh fruit, cereals, toast, jam and eggs made to order. A special of pancakes, crepes, french toast on occasion. Tea, coffee and juice. No complaints there. The staff is helpful if their English skills are up to speed. Otherwise, the owner is fluent in English and extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is well located being situated in the old colonial quarter. Price is higher than many other options in the area but the charm of the original main building is undeniable. There is a free computer available to guests, a nice sitting area in the open lobby and a small library. Accommodations at the property on the next block and/or at the one on Sukkeraine St. would cause me to look into one of the many guest houses in the area. Because we had not been met at the airport, free transport back for our departure was provided. It was a nice gesture and was appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 rooms in the main house on the riverside. Those facing the back are possibly a bit quieter but there is not much traffic to speak of.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-till-I-drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews