We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$121
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Thongbay Guesthouse(Luang Prabang)
US$55
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$105
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$130
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Heritage(Luang Prabang)
US$167
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
146
169
46
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
169
46
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater buffalomekong rivertuk tukin townshuttle serviceswimming poolbreakfast terracemanicured gardensformer palaceregular shuttle busserene settingminute driverooms overlookingfrench colonialthe general managerpost officerooms are nice
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The best part about The Grand Luang Prabang is its location. The worst part about The Grand Luang Prabang is...its location.

PROS: If you're looking for a hotel far from the hustle and bustle (or as "hustle-y and bustle-y" as Luang Prabang can get, anyway) then this is the perfect spot for you. Its spacious property has old world charm and the view of the river right next to it is absolutely gorgeous in the mornings. It's also very quiet, a mixture of its location and, from what I can tell, a somewhat small clientele. I'm not entirely sure every room was ever booked during the 5 nights we were there. Aside from the breakfast hours, there is very little traffic throughout and it was always a surprise to run into other tourists on the premises.

Rooms were cleaned every day and breakfast was decent, if not extraordinary. Same for room service food. There was a pool but I never used it. Looked nice, though. The front desk spoke good English and housekeeping, when you run into them, are accommodating.

CONS: As mentioned, the place's biggest drawback is also its location. It's actually farther out of the main city center than Google Maps indicates, in case you were looking it up. Luckily the hotel provides regular shuttles into town and pickups, though I can't vouch for how well this is run as we never took it. (We had friends in the city who picked us up regularly.)

One major nitpick: The bathrooms are way too cramp for my taste, and I often had to slide in and of the shower. (And I'm a pretty slim guy!) I can't imagine more than one people trying to get in and out of this closet-sized room at the same time. Housecleaning also skimped on the toiletries. Apparently you have to use up every single drop of their tiny shampoo bottles before they'll give you a new one. For the cost of the stay, this was disappointing.

OVERALL: If you're on vacation and want to control the noise pollution of Luang Prabang, this is the place for you. It's got "old school" charms and all of the amenities. Free internet was mostly reliable. People will use the word "peaceful" to describe this place a lot, and they aren't wrong. It's incredibly peaceful. Just be aware that you'll have to make daily treks into town for everything else.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the river as far as I know.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iHopper_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear hopper_globe_2010

Thank you for your feedback and point of view regarding our beautiful but somehow challenging location. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our unique Grand Luang Prabang experience.

We hope you will choose us the next time you are visiting Luang Prabang.

Kind Regards,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across this hotel as the premises booked for us was not much better than a backpackers hostel. The Grand, positioned on the banks of the Mekong River, is a stately hotel that is a must to visit. Well priced, great food and service set this aside in an area that you might think would not have such a place. The atmosphere is enjoyable & staff could not do enough for you. The GM helped us (4 couples) out with a great deal. While it is a short distance from town, it's worth the location. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Tony P,

Thank you for your review of the Grand Luang Prabang. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was helpful to you.

It was great to hear about all the philanthropic activities you did while staying with us and we hope that we can welcome you again in the future. Perhaps we can even join you!

We look forward to seeing you again soon to enjoy the fascinating views of the Mekong.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

An expansive, beautiful and well maintained resort. It is a wonderful place to stay and only ten minutes or less in the free shuttle to the markets of downtown Luang Prabang. Our rooms were comfortable, with excellent amenities, and spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet selection was fantastic and although the lunch/dinner menu was a bit limited in options, the one dinner we had was delicious.
The restaurant overlooks the meandering Mekong River (as did our rooms) which added a sense of peace and tranquility to the experience - except on one morning when it rained so all the outdoor tables were unusable, and the restaurant and covered terrace were uncomfortably packed.
WiFi was spotty and the pool underwhelming. There also isn't a lot to do at the resort (no spa, no river activities) but we had previously arranged lots of day trips so that wasn't a big problem for us.
Service was unpredictable - largely because so many of the staff didn't speak English too well, but a newly implanted management team from the Banyan Tree Group was just starting to work on that, so hopefully they will be able to make improvements on this front.
Despite this I would return in a heart-beat and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Dhalbat,

Thank you for your review of the Grand Luang Prabang.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the selection at our breakfast. We are currently working on revamping our menus in the restaurant and look forward to being able to offer you a wider selection for lunch and dinner in the future.

With regards to the service, we apologize for the slight issues faced and are working very hard to ensure the service levels will be improved. Comments such as your own will help us greatly in order do so.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Luang Prabang in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed there during the new year holiday, and it was a great peaceful escape from town while being only 15 min away from the hotel shuttle stop at the post office.

Staff need more training and quality supervision especially at front desk and shuttle. Front desk staff promised to make restaurant bookings but never followed up. We made shuttle bookings at the posted regular times but the shuttle didn't show up or was very late several times. Overall we like the hotel but thought service needs improvement.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tuxedomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Tuxedomack,

Thank you for staying at the Grand Luang Prabang during your recent visit to Laos and for your review.

We apologize for the lack of service you encountered during your stay and you can rest assured that we are improving this as we speak. We pride ourselves on ensuring the service is of the highest level and will work endlessly in order to get it up to the required standards.

Do let us know when you return so we can make your peaceful escape an ever better one.

With appreciation,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here six nights with our two girls. The grounds are beautiful and breakfast area overlooks the Mekong. The pool was a nice infinity pool but a bit chilly. The staff really didn't speak much English which makes it a bit challenging. It is about 10 mins outside town but was nice to have the gardens that our kids could run around. They have shuttles that go into town at reasonable hours. The bar looks nice but they really didn't advertise it. At one point a water main broke so we were without water for 4 hrs. We decided to head into town and when we came back they gave us a nice bottle of wine for the inconvenience. It was kind of nice to see the place now before they really upgrade to a full on resort. I would avoid the massage since they come to your room. For massages, go into town. Luang Prabang was a great trip!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for reviewing your recent trip at the Grand Luang Prabang.

Comments such as your own make us understand even better what we need to improve and therefore it is much appreciated. We are currently putting in place additional training programs in order for the staff to be able to communicate better with our guests.

Please allow us to apologize again for the inconvenience of the water supply; we hope it was not too much of an issue at the time.

Overall we are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery in Luang Prabang and hope to welcome you again soon.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews