We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit to Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The Grand Luang Prabang is set in a very beautifull location with amazing views of the Mekong River. Its a bit outside the City but there is a shuttle bus or you can use Tuk Tuk. However, the grounds and the archtiekure are beautiful (beeinng a fromer royal palace) but we where very disapointed with the service. The staff tried hard but wit limited English language skills and lack of traning it was disappointing. The manger we only met be coincidensce on the 3rd day and he did not intriduce himself.
The good news is the managment is going to change and Banayan Tree is taking over. We hope that this will solve the problem and the Service will become adequate to what the premises deserve and it could become a great palce to stay again.

Room Tip: Look for a room with views over the Mekong River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Peter K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. It was a pleasure to read the details of your experiences. I have taken note of all comments, concerns, and suggestions and still hope you eventually would give us another chance to redeem ourselves on the negative aspects. Until then, we all wish you the very best.

Kind regards,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

The best part about The Grand Luang Prabang is its location. The worst part about The Grand Luang Prabang is...its location.

PROS: If you're looking for a hotel far from the hustle and bustle (or as "hustle-y and bustle-y" as Luang Prabang can get, anyway) then this is the perfect spot for you. Its spacious property has old world charm and the view of the river right next to it is absolutely gorgeous in the mornings. It's also very quiet, a mixture of its location and, from what I can tell, a somewhat small clientele. I'm not entirely sure every room was ever booked during the 5 nights we were there. Aside from the breakfast hours, there is very little traffic throughout and it was always a surprise to run into other tourists on the premises.

Rooms were cleaned every day and breakfast was decent, if not extraordinary. Same for room service food. There was a pool but I never used it. Looked nice, though. The front desk spoke good English and housekeeping, when you run into them, are accommodating.

CONS: As mentioned, the place's biggest drawback is also its location. It's actually farther out of the main city center than Google Maps indicates, in case you were looking it up. Luckily the hotel provides regular shuttles into town and pickups, though I can't vouch for how well this is run as we never took it. (We had friends in the city who picked us up regularly.)

One major nitpick: The bathrooms are way too cramp for my taste, and I often had to slide in and of the shower. (And I'm a pretty slim guy!) I can't imagine more than one people trying to get in and out of this closet-sized room at the same time. Housecleaning also skimped on the toiletries. Apparently you have to use up every single drop of their tiny shampoo bottles before they'll give you a new one. For the cost of the stay, this was disappointing.

OVERALL: If you're on vacation and want to control the noise pollution of Luang Prabang, this is the place for you. It's got "old school" charms and all of the amenities. Free internet was mostly reliable. People will use the word "peaceful" to describe this place a lot, and they aren't wrong. It's incredibly peaceful. Just be aware that you'll have to make daily treks into town for everything else.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the river as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iHopper_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear hopper_globe_2010

Thank you for your feedback and point of view regarding our beautiful but somehow challenging location. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our unique Grand Luang Prabang experience.

We hope you will choose us the next time you are visiting Luang Prabang.

Kind Regards,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across this hotel as the premises booked for us was not much better than a backpackers hostel. The Grand, positioned on the banks of the Mekong River, is a stately hotel that is a must to visit. Well priced, great food and service set this aside in an area that you might think would not have such a place. The atmosphere is enjoyable & staff could not do enough for you. The GM helped us (4 couples) out with a great deal. While it is a short distance from town, it's worth the location. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Tony P,

Thank you for your review of the Grand Luang Prabang. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was helpful to you.

It was great to hear about all the philanthropic activities you did while staying with us and we hope that we can welcome you again in the future. Perhaps we can even join you!

We look forward to seeing you again soon to enjoy the fascinating views of the Mekong.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

An expansive, beautiful and well maintained resort. It is a wonderful place to stay and only ten minutes or less in the free shuttle to the markets of downtown Luang Prabang. Our rooms were comfortable, with excellent amenities, and spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet selection was fantastic and although the lunch/dinner menu was a bit limited in options, the one dinner we had was delicious.
The restaurant overlooks the meandering Mekong River (as did our rooms) which added a sense of peace and tranquility to the experience - except on one morning when it rained so all the outdoor tables were unusable, and the restaurant and covered terrace were uncomfortably packed.
WiFi was spotty and the pool underwhelming. There also isn't a lot to do at the resort (no spa, no river activities) but we had previously arranged lots of day trips so that wasn't a big problem for us.
Service was unpredictable - largely because so many of the staff didn't speak English too well, but a newly implanted management team from the Banyan Tree Group was just starting to work on that, so hopefully they will be able to make improvements on this front.
Despite this I would return in a heart-beat and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Dhalbat,

Thank you for your review of the Grand Luang Prabang.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the selection at our breakfast. We are currently working on revamping our menus in the restaurant and look forward to being able to offer you a wider selection for lunch and dinner in the future.

With regards to the service, we apologize for the slight issues faced and are working very hard to ensure the service levels will be improved. Comments such as your own will help us greatly in order do so.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Luang Prabang in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed there during the new year holiday, and it was a great peaceful escape from town while being only 15 min away from the hotel shuttle stop at the post office.

Staff need more training and quality supervision especially at front desk and shuttle. Front desk staff promised to make restaurant bookings but never followed up. We made shuttle bookings at the posted regular times but the shuttle didn't show up or was very late several times. Overall we like the hotel but thought service needs improvement.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tuxedomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Tuxedomack,

Thank you for staying at the Grand Luang Prabang during your recent visit to Laos and for your review.

We apologize for the lack of service you encountered during your stay and you can rest assured that we are improving this as we speak. We pride ourselves on ensuring the service is of the highest level and will work endlessly in order to get it up to the required standards.

Do let us know when you return so we can make your peaceful escape an ever better one.

With appreciation,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.7 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
5.1 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
843 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
#29 of 71 in Luang Prabang
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#17 of 71 in Luang Prabang
421 reviews
3.2 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
4.7 km away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 71 in Luang Prabang
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort

Address: Ban Xiengkeo, Khet Sangkalok P.O. Box 1191, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#23 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: €109 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miracle of Luangprabang city, the Grand luangprabang hotel is where the music offered by the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel And Resort
Grand Hotel Luang Prabang
Grand Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing