We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and River View: perfect!”

The Belle Rive Terrace
Ranked #23 of 233 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Belle Rive Terrace is located opposite The Belle Rive Hotel, above the river shore. Tamarind trees and umbrellas cover it from sun and rain. Overlooking the shore of the Mekong River, with a beautiful view of the nearby mountains, it is a peaceful place during the day, and a romantic place in the evening. When the sun sets over the Mekong mountains, The Belle Rive Terrace is the best place in town to enjoy the scenery with a refreshing and classic sundowner.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The restaurant on the upper bank of the Mekong River is ideal for watching river boats or the sunset while sipping cool drinks or eating excellent Lao or Thai food. Try the Mekong river weed, the spicy morning glory, and the chicken with cashew nuts. Yum!

Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelleRiveBoutique, General Manager at The Belle Rive Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Nicholas L

Thank you very much for taking your time to share this great review.

On behalf of our team we are very glad you enjoyed our restaurant on the upper bank of the Mekong and found it ideal for watching river boats or the sunset while enjoying cool drinks.

In addition, we very much appreciate your comments regarding quality and taste of the local Mekong river weed, the spicy morning glory vegetable dish as well as the chicken with cashew nuts.

We truly hope that you will come back soon again for another pleasant time at The Belle Rive Terrace.


Best regards



The Belle Rive Terrace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2016

The Belle Rive Terrace is the most beautiful spot to watch the sun go down over the Mekong while being spoilt with a delicious dinner. They do different platters to accompany your drink for aperitif, so you get to know a lot of traditional laotian food like for example the Mekong wheed which is delicious, as everything else. Make sure you treat yourselves to the lemongrass chicken, the curries and all the rest on the menu. And they have a nice espresso and capuccino.
The service is very charming and they are all Lao people understanding English. We will definitely be back.

1  Thank RosaCHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelleRiveBoutique, General Manager at The Belle Rive Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Dear RosaCHK

Thank you very much for this delightful review about your recent visit at The Belle Rive Terrace.

What a pleasure to read that you found your drinks fantastic, food delicious, service great and charming and the sunsets the most beautiful in town. Since we have enlarged our terrace in May 2016, we indeed do get a lot of positive feedback. It offers now more space and privacy and allows our guests to dream away while watching the boats on the Mekong river.

Also - and on behalf of our future guests - we thank you very much for recommending some of our tasty dishes, sharing platters as well as the local coffee we use. If you are looking for honest Lao food on the Mekong river side - The Belle Rive Terrace and our team will do our utmost to ensure you will spend a pleasant time with us.

We thank you very much again for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor and already look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back during your next visit.


Best regards


The Belle Rive Terrace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stopped by for some relief from the midday heat and to seek shelter from the PiMai "water throwers," and decided to also have lunch. There was very little room to sit inside (and no A/C anyway), so we ended up at a table outside/sidewalk. The service was a bit slow and the waiters kept misunderstanding what we asked for. The food we tried was average at best: hard to find the chicken in the cashew chicken dish, and the red curry was loaded with meat; however, it was so sweetened, I couldn't eat it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TropicalDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelleRiveBoutique, General Manager at The Belle Rive Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Dear TropicalDuck

Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your lunch experience during the water festival Pi Mai.

We are glad you found a quiet place during these busy and hectic 3 days in April and could at least relax a while in a nice setting. At this point we would like to mention that most of our guests enjoy our Terrace restaurant right on the Mekong river shore instead of sitting inside - where we do have Air Conditioning by the way. Our guests enjoy the magnificent view on the opposite temples while watching the boats passing by.

Anyway, we would like to apologize that food and service during your visit were not to your satisfaction and will ensure that our future guests get a better experience. We further hope that you will come back one day and see how your review helped us to improve our services and send you in the meantime our very best regards.


Khop Chai lai lai



The Belle Rive Terrace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

This sophisticated boutique hotel is close to the center of Laung Prabang. Over the road from the hotel is the hotel's restaurant, on a terrace on the banks of the Mekong River. Damian GM of the hotel, has been so friendly and his staff were so good and attentive. I think their breakfast has the best breakfast views in Luang Prabang with Oriental breakfast and western style. I tried soup, fried rice and the incredible croissant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dechavut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelleRiveBoutique, General Manager at The Belle Rive Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Dechavut

Thank you very much for reviewing The Belle Rive Terrace.

How great to know that you enjoyed our riverside restaurant and found the view stunning, the croissants incredible and the staff friendly and attentive.

Our newly built terrace indeed offers great views over the mighty Mekong river, has become an ideal place for a delightful breakfast, lunch, sunset drink or dinner and we very much appreciate you shared your impressions with the TripAdvisor community.

On behalf of our team we thank you very much and hope to see you soon again in Luang Prabang and at The Belle Rive Terrace.


Best regards


The Belle Rive Terrace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed breakfast here 3 out of 6 mornings in luangprabang. Great choice of menu and would highly recommend the noodle soup. Great way to start your day. Staff were very prompt with the food and take very good care. View of the mekong while you eat a fabulous plus as well. Highy recommended if you are looking for someone to dine while in luangprabang.

Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelleRiveBoutique, General Manager at The Belle Rive Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Peter S

Thank you very much for this wonderful review.

How great to know that you enjoyed 3 out of 6 mornings in Luang Prabang on our riverside patio with its fabulous view on the mighty Mekong.

We are truly glad you found the choice of menu, your noodle soup and our staffs service to your full satisfaction and would be more than happy to please you again during your next visit to this beautiful UNESCO world heritage town.

Khop Chai lai lai and best regards



The Belle Rive Terrace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belle Rive Terrace also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Belle Rive Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing