We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spor”

Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western
Ranked #44 of 238 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dear Guest and Friends, Restaurant The House shall be CLOSE from 15 April 2018, after a 12 year hard work. Time for a new adventure, thanks for the trust and happiness in my live. Regards Robin
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

Decent array of beers from around the world, though we stick to Beerlao. Great burgers which hit the spot after lots of Asian food. Chilled out but friendly staff, great toilets and great wifi. Sat out on terrace and watched the world go by. Plenty of variety on menu and all fairly priced.

2  Thank robbo0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the House L, Manager at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear,

Thanks for your nice feedback about the food-drinks and staff ,

welcome in Laos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2016

It was cold and raining when we headed out for dinner and, I have to say, we were tempted by the fact that the restaurant had doors to keep out the cold! We popped in and, as the garden was closed, saw that all the tables were taken. However the owner assured us that we would not have to wait long, and he was right. We enjoyed food and drinks from around the world (my husband had pasta and beer, I had noodle soup and wine) and were happy with everything, including the very courteous and helpful staff. It would be lovely to return if the weather was better.....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehouselaos, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Ros T

Thanks for the good Review for The House Restaurant, yes it was so cold the last days and the restaurant was Full inside ;-)
Yes we have Lao Food to. For all guest a choice, thanks to say it in your review

Regards

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We chose The House because it was one of the few restaurants which operates a closed door policy when it's freezing cold & raining in Luang Prabang - most other places insisted on keeping doors open & there appears to be no heating in any of the buildings!

We were lucky enough to find a table inside. It's cosy & the staff are pleasant & attentive. Because we were so cold we had a couple of brandies, as well as a very nice Chilean red. The mixed bruschetta starter was delicious - tomato & onion perfectly seasoned. The beef stews (one beer, one bougignon) were warming & tasty, although the beef not as tender as we would expect - perhaps because this was buffalo meat? Prices were decent for what we got (70k kip for big plate of beef stew). We were offered chips to go with the stew. Would have preferred boiled or mashed potatoes. Salad seemed an odd side dish on a cold wet day!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VamosChicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehouselaos, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Christine,

Thanks for your open review,
welcome again next time, have a safe trip In Laos

Regards

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We've been here for dinner many times over the past few years and the food just gets better. The chef has taken over and is keen to oblige with any reasonable special requirements. I'm not saying my wife is fussy, but she is and she loves this place!
After a while in Laos we just need good western food now and then. The staff are polite and ready to please. Yes, we like it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehouselaos, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2016

Dear John,

Thanks to come to the restaurant The House for a long time.
Staff and my very happy about your letter, you give us a good positive vibe.
Have a wonderful time in Luang Prabang, see you again.
Regards
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Restaurant is located on the other side of Phousy. Prices are 20-30 % lower than main street. We went in The House for hamburger and beer. There is good selection of Belgium beer. Hamburgers were good. Selection of Belgium beer is wide. Prices are on same level as at home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr_Pasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehouselaos, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2016

Dear Mister Pasi,

Thanks for the nice review from Restaurant The House in Luang Prabang. Yes the Belgian beers are good

Have a nice time

Regards
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing