We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service. Delicious Food. An absolute must visit! ”

Pompei Italian Restaurant Karachi
Ranked #14 of 415 Restaurants in Karachi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Railway Colony
Description: Fine dining Italian cuisine, using the very best local and imported produce, with an emphasis on contemporary interpretations of classic regional recipes
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

A friend and I visited right at the cusp of 4pm when the kitchen closes. Upon my plea and genuine excuse that I had come from Islamabad and was flying out in 3 hours, the manager reheated the stoves and pans.

The starter with artichoke dip was ambrosial. Activated my taste buds that I didn't even know existed. The fettucine pasta (not Alfredo, the one one) and the oven roasted chicken were pretty good as well.

I was gutted to have missed out on desserts but if I am in karachi again, theres no doubt that I will visit Pompeii again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Humzah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imranbandukda, Owner at Pompei Italian Restaurant Karachi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018

Location, decor, service, all excellent. However, the chef has no clue what risotto is. Mind you, I have yet to find a decent risotto in Karachi. When in Rome, do as the Romans, but when in Karachi...

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rmorin04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

There is no place better in Karachi than Pompei. I have been eating here for a decade and the taste has NOT changed. this is a proper eatery.

and its just not a simple cafe or a restaurant [which it is both] .. its a fine dining paradise. this is like a quintessential Italian place where you can have whichever experience your heart desires.

THEY HAVE THE BEST PIZZA IN TOWN

THEY HAVE THE BEST PASTA IN TOWN

THEY HAVE THE BEST GRILLED PRAWNS IN TOWN

THEIR CLUB SANDWICH IS A PROPER ONE

THEIR STEAKS ARE AWESOME

their menu ranges from gourmet to the best comfort food. there is some classic Chinese and Thai in there as well.
whatever their chef makes, he/she makes it proper and brilliantly.
THEE BEST FOOD IN KARACHI HANDS DOWN

their ambiance is unrivaled .. its rustic yet its modern.

you can sit beside the wood burning fire clay oven and enjoy the breeze and the occasionally admire the beautiful English built house for a railway official about a century ago. its now the SHAPES club. or you can sit inside, enjoy soft music and have your dinner in dimly lit setting that is perfect for any kind of social interaction.

they serve freshly baked bread from the wood fire oven. but if you are not in the mood for the proper restaurant experience then you ca ago and sit in their cafe setting across the lawn from the restaurant itself and enjoy the same meals lounging on a sofa while working your laptop or just relaxing.

the service is brilliant.
they have never let me down even though I am a regular and a frugal tipper yet they have always given me every courtesy. my cheapness is not treated as a disease.
the waiters know the food and KNOW HOW AND WHEN TO HOVER AND WHEN TO DISAPPEAR BEHIND A BAR BESIDE A TOWERING OAK TREE WITHIN THE RESTAURANT.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alichaudhri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imranbandukda, Owner at Pompei Italian Restaurant Karachi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are humbled by your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

I visited Pompei after a few months and found the restaurant to maintain its warm look and ambience. Over a short period of time restaurants begin to look outdated, but Pompei has managed to survive this, and so has its food. Its simple, with tastes and service above average. On this particular visit the food was enjoyable, however our expectations for dessert were unmet which was a first.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nchammmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imranbandukda, Owner at Pompei Italian Restaurant Karachi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Recently visited, was located inside a club, and was not to crowded. Nice Gentry. Our group ordered two domestic beef stakes and chicken risotto. and with thin crust pizza as our starter. The pizza was okay though
Food and Ambiance was good.
Overall good experience

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniyal91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imranbandukda, Owner at Pompei Italian Restaurant Karachi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pompei Italian Restaurant Karachi also viewed

Karachi, Sindh Province
Karachi, Sindh Province
 
Karachi, Sindh Province
Karachi, Sindh Province
 
Karachi, Sindh Province
 

Been to Pompei Italian Restaurant Karachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing