We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On eof the best Museums and Art Gallery in Karachi”
Review of State Bank Museum

State Bank Museum
Ranked #11 of 79 things to do in Karachi
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Extremely educational and well maintained. The coin collection dates back from Alexander the Great plus it has come extraordinary contemporary collections. Iranian currency after the revolution worth looking at. Truly worth visiting while in Karachi

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Kishwer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"british era"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"coins"
in 7 reviews
"currency"
in 6 reviews
"treasure"
in 4 reviews
"stamp"
in 7 reviews
"columns"
in 2 reviews
"revolution"
in 3 reviews
"subcontinent"
in 2 reviews
"art"
in 5 reviews
"history"
in 7 reviews
"visitors"
in 3 reviews
"hall"
in 2 reviews
"foreigners"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2018

Numismatic museums are not my forte but is one is particularly interesting in its layout and treasure throve of items on display. Care has been taken in having special displays items for blind persons and tours geared for Children. On the upper floor central hall there are huge frescoes by Sadequain on both side, on one side a smaller room showing some of his smaller artwork and on the other a striking and very large painting of Sadequain by Zahoor Akhlaq.
Caveat, it is difficult to gain access to this museum being in the Pakistani National Bank enclosure.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank notacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We were lucky to have look from outside on this prestigious institute now museum of the country.Constructed with red stone like other British era buildings in this city.This museum once office of State Bank of Pakistan is on I.I Chundrigar road (Previously Mcleod Road the road,it has become very busy with mainy tall buildings of banks around.On its side is "Karachi city" Railway station at little distance.But the museum building stands as outstanding structure among cement/concrete built sky scrappers.Four column facade of entrance is like Greek old buildings in Greece.We could view it from outside only because of car parking problem.Me and my son returned with a promise in our mind to re-visit it.All visitors are advised to come by taxi or other mode of transport because of lack of parking area.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Danwer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Such a beautiful building on the inside and outside. Built in 1920’s in pink stone, the building is impressive in size and grandeur.

A few tips on how to enter: best to come in a taxi or with driver as there is no place to park close by. It’s a very busy part of town as well. The main entrance to the museum is actually attached the Bank itself and you will need to show proof of ID and go through a couple of security checkpoints. They initially asked me for my passport (being a foreigner) but I hadn’t actually thought I would need it here, luckily I had my UK driving license with me. They scrutinised it for a couple of minutes whilst they made calls etc. Once I was cleared I was escorted into the museum which is a joy to walk into. A lot of work has gone into the displays and information panels presented all around. There is acutely quite a lot of stuff to take in and I ended up spending 2.5 hrs here happily reading all the blurb.

Entry is free of charge and I had a lovely man give a guided tour which was extremely informative. It takes you through the start of trading and bartering all the way up to present day currency.

In addition to coins and paper money, it also has a good exhibition on stamps which was very interesting. I had a great time and would thoroughly recommend you go here. On top of these exhibitions is dedicated art from one of Pakistan’s top artists; Sadequain. Do not miss it!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank shimmers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

If you want you to know the history of Currency and the history of indo-pak.
So must visit state Bank Museum for about the currency system

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Connector360444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed State Bank Museum also viewed

 
Karachi, Sindh Province
Karachi, Sindh Province
 

Been to State Bank Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing