We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
275
44
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
44
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful small hotel old town the main square city gate truffle one night pedestrian zone rain shower loved this hotel rooms are modern breakfast was included hotel restaurant the hotel staff park the car would highly recommend staying here comfortable hotel fantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

I read that this is the best place to stay in Zadar and it was superb in every way. The rooms are large, very comfortable and nicely decorated. The location is ideal, right in the heart of the old town. The staff was super helpful, both before and during our trip. They found us a great guide for a 2 hour walking tour, answered all our questions and provided a full and delicious breakfast. Not cheap but worth the cost.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank adventurelamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARLA S, Guest Relations Manager at Art Hotel Kalelarga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hello adventurelamb,

thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel during your visit to Zadar.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff met all your needs and expectations.
Thank you for sharing your great experience and for recommending us to other travelers.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Karla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Absolutely LOVED the room in this boutique hotel. A tip of the hat to the wonderful women at reception, Eni and Marina! Both were pleasant, helpful and had big smiles. Thank you for your hospitality. Wish we had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Geege923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARLA S, Guest Relations Manager at Art Hotel Kalelarga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hello Geege923,

thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel during your visit to Zadar.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Eni and Marina made such great impact on your experience, we'll be sure to let them know that.
Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending us to other travelers.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Karla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here a family of 5 (ages range 26-65) for one night to explore Zadar’s Old City. The hotel is in the perfect location, walking distance to great restaurants, the sea front, shopping and nightlife.

The staff was extremely helpful and attentive, the rooms were comfortable and spacious, and breakfast at the hotel is delicious.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARLA S, Guest Relations Manager at Art Hotel Kalelarga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Hello Jackie R,

thank you for your great review and for choosing our hotel during your visit to Zadar.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such great experience at our hotel.
Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We stayed here one night in August (height of tourist season) and picked the hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and photos. Overall, we had a lovely time!

We had a "double bedded room" which turned out to be a quiet and spacious king bed room. We were impressed with how quiet the room was because although it looked out over the main pedestrian street and the room across from us had at least one young child, we heard none of these. Overall, we really liked our room: well air-conditioned in the August heat, comfy bed (pillows and somewhat scratchy sheets were just okay), great shower and towels. A couple quirks which are totally peccadilloes but in case you are fussy would be a few "form over function" items like a dangling light fixture right above the bedside table that looks cool but is impossible not to constantly smack with your hand, and an etched-glass bathroom door by the toilet that might lead to some awkward viewings. ;) The wifi wasn't great.

Be advised that, like any other place you stay at in this area, there is no car parking or traffic allowed, so it is a drag to haul your suitcases from even the closest parking lot to the hotel. (One hotel we stayed at in Rovinj had a similar situation, and they solved the issue by having a golf cart meet us at the parking lot and take us to the hotel...not sure if the city of Zadar would allow that, but it definitely made for a nicer experience!)

Front desk staff is super helpful, friendly, and spoke excellent English.

The main ding against our stay was breakfast, which we were really looking forward to from all the yummy photos in the reviews. Sadly, our breakfast experience was not good. They were mobbed with people so it was very noisy and chaotic, and they were very understaffed, and as a result it took forever to get anything. Our server plopped down baked goods and a meat and cheese platter and left. Since we don't eat meat, cheese and not much bread, that was wasted on us. We eventually did get coffee, and a requested fruit and yogurt (underripe and mostly inedible fruit, and a plastic store-bought container of yogurt) eventually arrived. We got the feeling that we weren't welcome to request anything different for breakfast, and so this experience ended our stay on a low note. Hopefully other guests' experience will be better.

All in all, we had a nice time barring breakfast, and we very much enjoyed our time in Zadar.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Simbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARLA S, Guest Relations Manager at Art Hotel Kalelarga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Hello Simbet,

thank you so much for such detailed and positive review and for staying with us during your visit to Zadar.
We're happy to hear that overall your stay at our hotel was great but really sorry to hear about your experience with breakfast.
We truly apologize for the inconvenience at breakfast but we assure you that usually it isn't like that and we always control the capacity for breakfast, especially so our hotel guests can have the best experience at our hotel, which they do, but that day we made a mistake and we deeply apologize for it and hope that despite this, we will welcome you again and be part of your future visit to Zadar.

Sincerely,

Karla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We stayed here Aug 16-19 and the hotel was great, the bed was comfy too. Service was amazing and the hotel staff were great. Genuinely you could tell they wanted to help and made the stay a great experience all together. For that reason this is not a 4 star hotel, I would give it a 5, which says a lot because sometimes 5 star hotels I rate down due to room conditions, service, etc.

The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms were a good size, the bathroom was so nice with the rainfall shower etc. The A/C worked perfectly, room was always freezing, which is how I like it when its 35 + celcius outside.

In Zadar I noticed all the hotels are not really closed off, the bottom reception doors stay open all day, so it does get really hot, but that is just how it is everywhere there, even for restaurants.

Don't expect a view from the room, but I don't mind that kind of thing, I knew when I booked it that there was not going to be a view.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARLA S, Guest Relations Manager at Art Hotel Kalelarga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Hello Dam B,

thank you for your amazing review, we really appreciate it.
We're glad to hear that you had a great experience during your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Karla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews