We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for young people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Drunken Monkey Hostel
Ranked #4 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I think the name says it all - it's definitely a party hostel for young people. I stayed there for three nights and while it was lovely and quiet during the day, it got super loud every evening, until well after midnight. I found it impossible to sleep, and the fact that my room was very close to the kitchen, where people socialized all night, didn't help either. But I guess I can only blame myself for expecting silence in a hostel called "Drunken Monkey".

Other than that, the hostel is nice and clean, my room wasn't very spacious but well, it's a hostel, bathrooms are ok. The staff are nice, friendly and helpful. The place is a little far from the center, but it is made clear in the description so there's no surprise and also it's a walkable distance.

On the whole, I would recommend it to people for whom socializing and partying is a priority. If you want a quiet night, there's no way you can have it there.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IzaH324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

This hostel was great. Very clean (which was much appreciated after the previous hostel was filthy!), and lovely helpful staff. Great people who were really friendly and the hostel organise events nightly at the bar. The pool is great, and welcome relief from the hot sun! The beach isn't far, but tbh the pool is much nicer! The showers and toilets were really good, and the beds were comfy enough.

The only downside was the 2.5km walk into town. They are very upfront with this, and the walk is nice enough, it's just a bit of a pain if you wanted to go into town twice in one day. The area where the hostel is based is very quiet - the only noise you hear is from the bar downstairs! And there is a small supermarket 2 minutes down the road for breakfast / beers.

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone, but to make the most of the pool, the bar and the chilled out atmosphere, try to spend an extra day or two here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Livharries49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Good place. A bit far off, but it's stated in the description. 15-20 min walk to old town but on the other hand, about 5 min walk to the beach. Close to the main bus station and super market. Hostel was clean and had a bar. Staff was really nice and it was how we expected it. Nothing to complain about, really.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Exceptional. I loved this hostel. The magnificent staff deserve unstinting praise for their tireless efforts to create such a welcoming, attentive, generous and sociable atmosphere. I would particularly like to thank Mia, whose thoughtful advice on visiting the Dalmatian islands and Istria immeasurably improved my travel experience in Croatia. Her patience and kindness far exceeded my expectations and epitomised my overall experience at the hostel. I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank plivingstone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Loved this hostel. Clean, great atmosphere and close to all the amenities. Staff are lovely and really helpful. Would definitely recommend for those travelling alone, as it is safe and really easy to meet nice people. Will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.3 km away
The Lazy Monkey Hostel
The Lazy Monkey Hostel
#3 of 318 in Zadar
83 reviews
1.3 km away
The Hostel
The Hostel
#11 of 318 in Zadar
71 reviews
2.1 km away
Boutique Hostel Forum
Boutique Hostel Forum
#1 of 318 in Zadar
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Apartments Nediljko
Apartments Nediljko
#16 of 36 in Bibinje
12 reviews
4.4 km away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
4.8 km away
Apartments Mira
Apartments Mira
#3 of 36 in Bibinje
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drunken Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Address: Ulica Jure Kastriotica Skenderbega 21, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Zadar
Price Range: €19 - €28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only established hostel in Zadar owned and run by fellow travelers. Set in a charming part of town only 15 minutes walk along the water front to the old city gates. 'Why should I stay outside the old town? 'Well, quite simply, we offer what the other hostels do not. We have a decked garden complete with sun loungers, splash pool, bar, and a sun terrace. As well as this we have a private courtyard, movie projector and guest computers. We are a clean, comfortable and secure hostel, located in the safe neighborhood of Arbanasi. Ideally situated minutes away from the main bus station, and the scenic Kolovare promenade; nothing Zadar has to offer is out of arm's reach. Note to self to all our globetrotters, avid and novice travelers that like to leave our beloved reviews - We are not in the Old Town! We are able to offer you all the facilities noted above for that very reason. We do have a bar that can get a little exciting and noisy at times, however, this is well regulated by us. We are definitely a hostel that offers fun and excitement as well as relaxation and calm. Come see for yourselves...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Drunken Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing