We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza for two!”

Mea Culpa Pizzeria & Trattoria
Ranked #54 of 420 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$46
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the quiet and peaceful old medieval alleyway just 100 meters away from Stradun, Mea Culpa is a great place for a good pizza and cold refreshment after climbing the City Walls. At Mea Culpa Pizzeria and Trattoria we promise to deliver a unique culinary experience where every dish is prepared fresh to order using only the freshest ingredients. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two in our cosy dining room, a casual lunch, or a special evening out, Mea Culpa offers you one of the best dining experiences Dubrovnik has to offer. Our talented pizza chefs at Pizzeria Mea Culpa are taught the traditional Roman methods of creating the perfect pizza. We make our pizzas with only the freshest & finest local ingredients, and bake them in our specialty high tech pizza oven. Our menu includes a large variety that suits any type of appetite, from the most traditional and unique pizza flavours, a wide array of Italian dishes, lasagnes and a selection of pasta dishes that you'd find in top of the line Italian restaurants. Besides authentic Mea Culpa Style Pizza, we feature different "DAILY SPECIALS" such as Chicken with gorgonzola or spinach, Pollo con gamberetti, Veal "Saltimbocca" and our signature dish Tagliatta "Mea Culpa." Our restaurant provides guests with casual al fresco and indoor dining. Pizzeria may receive up to twenty persons in the inside and around sixty guests on the outside terrace. With tables outside on a summer's eve, Mea Culpa's combination of great food, excellent service, and comfortable atmosphere makes this restaurant a must do-dining choice. Grab a bottle of wine and bring your friends down at Mea Culpa to try the best pizza in Dubrovnik. Come and taste the quality! Bonus: don't forget to take your Dubrovnik card with you and you'll get 10% discount.
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for lunch and after being kindly directed to the English menu (they have a few different languages so do ask). My hubby chose a pizza and I chose a chicken salad with two coffees. The waitress looked at us and said “To share? I bring you a bowl” we were a bit confused, but smiled and said yes please. It all became clear when the food arrived! The pizza was a folded one and it filled the plate! The salad was in a bowl and again it was a very generous portion. So share we did and it was delicious. Our guide had told us they made better pizza than the Italians and having sampled them in Rome he’s almost right. Maybe not better, but equal to. The food was lovely, the service as always professional and understated. I love the fact the staff don’t interrupt every five minutes asking how the food is, usually when you’ve got your mouth full. The restaurant is tucked down a side street of the old city, so it doesn’t have a fabulous view like some of the other restaurants do, but it was lovely for a quiet lunch out of the throng in the main streets.

Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana K, Public Relations Manager at Mea Culpa Pizzeria & Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Liz H,
We are indeed thankful for this review as it highlights all aspects of customer service which we strive for, good quality food accompanied by efficient and welcoming service, at value for money prices and above all served in the modern and pleasant settings. We are indeed grateful for your custom and we do hope to welcome you or your friends in the forthcoming months. For now please do receive the kind regards from all Mea Culpa team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 2,741 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

This was the first restaurant we visited and definitely one of the best. Food was excellent, service was excellent and location was superb. All at reasonable prices. Well worth a visit!

Thank banjomeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana K, Public Relations Manager at Mea Culpa Pizzeria & Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear banjomeres,
Thank you very much for your kind words on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant and also enjoyed our excellent food, service and also location. We are looking forward to welcoming you hopefully soon again.
Sincerely,
Mea Culpa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Came here for lunch one day and ordered the kebab pizza based off the waiters recommendation and it was awful. It also cost like $20+ USD - the chicken on the pizza was of very low quality and did not taste good. Neither did the “kebab sauce.”

My fiancé had the margarita pizza though and said it was great (hence 3 stars) so maybe just stick to the basics.

The service was wonderful also :)

Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana K, Public Relations Manager at Mea Culpa Pizzeria & Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Taylor W,
We would like to thank you for visiting our Mea Culpa Pizzeria. It was our great joy to have you as our guests.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share it with other Trip Advisor members.

As we always strive to create an amazing experience for each and every guest, we wish to use this opportunity to apologize for our Pizza Kebab. We will investigate what happened because that pizza is one of our best selling pizzas. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Sincerely,
Mea Culpa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

After wandering this magnificent Town we rested at Mea Culpa one of many many street cafes. It has comfortable seating sunny or shade. The menu mainly pizzas and salad but all good and wholesome we close the mixed pizza very good ( very large too) a glass of local wine which is probably an acquired taste but when in Rome etc..
Service great and very friendly.

Thank Nenners56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana K, Public Relations Manager at Mea Culpa Pizzeria & Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Nenners56,
We are truly pleased you enjoyed your time at our pizzeria and tried our mixed pizza and local white wine. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your visit so much and we hope to have you back as our guests at your next visit to Dubrovnik.

Sincerely,
Mea Culpa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Apparently,Croatians live their pizza and pasta,an italian influence.
All over Croatia,you have these restaurants that offer these staples and favourites.
Mea Culpa provides good,decent meals at fair prices in Dubrovnik.
Eating out in Dubrovnik can be pricey but this restaurant provides tasty meals at fair prices.Good pizza and pasta.

Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana K, Public Relations Manager at Mea Culpa Pizzeria & Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Greg C,
We would like to thank you for being our guests and choose our pizzeria to spend some time in Dubrovnik with us. We are so happy that you recognized our value for money ratio.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Mea Culpa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mea Culpa Pizzeria & Trattoria also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Mea Culpa Pizzeria & Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing