We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it had been more than one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wish it had been more than one night”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just a one-night stay after being stranded by snow, but a hotel to return to. It is vast - perhaps a little too vast - and pretty empty on a freezing Sunday in February. But the room was excellent, design-led but not over-designed, with great sea views. The food in the one restaurant that was open was superb. Would certainly return when in the region next time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    589
    242
    64
    25
See reviews for
297
988
61
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The hotel and rooms (floor 2) were excellent, staff were pleasant and efficient.
Situated on a shore, almost all parts of the hotel have a good view of the bay.
Food was very good, hot & cold buffet breakfast, but evening restaurants and menus were restricted, presumably for the winter season.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mapkblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My wife booked a surprise holiday for my 50th birthday at the Rixos Libertas via Thomsons in mid-October. She selected it carefully based on the Thomson brochure, but disappointed to find that many of the facilities advertised were not available.

The brochure said:
"Three gorgeous eateries" - whereas one was closed for the season, a second a very pricey a la carte that nobody ate in all week, leaving just a buffet restaurant.
"Five bars" - there was only one open all week.
"Watch a glittering show" - there were no shows all week.
"Or dance the night away" - there was no dance floor open.

Given that this was a special birthday we were expecting, based on the brochure, to find some sophisticated evening entertainment, so particularly disappointing to find no entertainment programme on offer at all. We complained to both the hotel and the Thomson rep and both gave the same response - "there's entertainment available in the town".

We were also dissapointed to find the all-inclusive food package scaled back as the hotel was very empty:
- Instead of the normal buffet lunch, there was a very minimal snack menu at the bar with just 5 or 6 items on it, the same every day.
- The afternoon "snacks" advertised turn out to be a choice of 3 types of cake, the same as offered on the lunchtime snack menu.

I do appreciate that the season is winding down in mid-October, but nevertheless dissapointed at how far short the hotel was from our expectations, and the brochure.

The hotel rooms theselves were more 3 star rather than 5 star:
- 'Superior rooms' have just one chair in, so you can't easily use the room for eating or drinking.
- The bath with overhead shower is separated from the bed by a pane of clear glass, so wouldn't be suitable for some people.
- The cleaning standard wasn't very good, some days the glassses in the room didn't get replaced, some days towels were missing.
- The outside patio area never got swept, by the end of the week if had lots of leaves on it.
- The plug in the basin was broken, we asked them to fix but it never happened.
- A fridge in the room, but stocked with very expensive bottles of water and soft drinks. This doesn't make any sense at all for guests staying on the inclusive package.
- The all-inclusive package itself was confusing, you had to sign for all the drinks as if you were charging to your room, so you have to constantly check with the staff that the drinks you're ordering are actually in the package. On the very positive side the package does include a long list of branded spirits, but very odd and frustrating that you couldn't order any cocktails on the package even though all the components to make the cocktails were separately available.

I realise this all sounds very negative, I'm glad to say there were still plenty of positives which meant we still had an enjoyable week:
- Great view of the adriatic from the 'superior rooms', certainly worth the upgrade for the view.
- Most of the restaurant & bar staff extremely friendly and helpful especially the 2 guys both called Mario. (However a couple of notable exceptions, 2 of the bar staff who did their best to ignore customers and often delivered the wrong drinks).
- The turkish baths & spa and indoor pool were great, very relaxing, we spent 90 mins or so there every day.
- The buffet restaurant had a good selection of food, different main dishes every day. (However annoying that the wine for the all inclusive package was only served by the glass, not the bottle.)
- A good location, 20 mins walk along the coast to Dubrovnik or very frequent buses if you walk to the stop by the traffic lights at the end of the road. Buses good value - a ticket provides unlimited use on any bus for an hour.
- The town centre itself excellent, dozens of bars & restaurants, just a shame most of the tourists, ourselves included, are either in inclusive hotels or visiting from cruise ships. So most restaurants very quiet in the evening.
- A good walking tour around the town walls, billed as 90 min long, but actually lasted 135 mins. Got details from the information office by the town gate, tours starting from outside the office every morning.
- Good and moving to visit the war museum at the top of the mountain, via cable car which leaves just outside the town walls.

Overall, highly recommend the town as a holiday destination, and there was nothing really too wrong with what the hotel was providing, it just fell a long way short of our high expectations based on the brochure and the price.

Room Tip: Always go for a superior room for the fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DorkingRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Rixos Libertas for one week at the end of October. When we arrived at the hotel we were amazed by the beautiful scenery and backdrop of the Adriatic coastline. The check in staff were friendly and the service extremely efficient. Within minutes of checking in we were sat at the Agora Terrace bar sipping a glass of white wine, eating a beautiful lunch and taking in the fantastic views.
We had booked a superior room and these all have sea views, well worth the upgrade. The room was painted white and was contemporary in design. The bathroom was all glass and this seemed to be a problem for some couples however this was not an issue for us as we could look out at the beautiful scenery whilst having a shower. The room was cleaned daily. I have to say that due to the fantastic view every morning this was one of the best rooms we have stayed in and I'm still thinking about it now.
The hotel facilities were of a high standard yet unfortunately we stayed out of season and therefore it was too cold to use the outdoor pool; however we did have a dip in the sea. The indoor pool was very clean and had again excellent views of the coastline.
We stayed on the All Inclusive package and this was a good deal as the alcoholic drinks were all branded makes including bacardi, Jack Daniels, cointreau etc. The food was excellent quality but limited in choice due to it being end of season and so few guests staying at the hotel. The waiter and bar service was excellent and some of the best we have ever experienced. The Croatian people in general are extremely friendly and down to earth; this also made the holiday special.
The hotel was very quiet but we did not mind as we would often get the bus to Dubrovnik old town after dinner. Dubrovnik old town is magical and would recommend it to anyone who has not travelled to Croatia before. Make sure you take a trip to Lokrum Island as this is also an enchanting place.
I would definately visit this hotel again but during the summer time. I would have given this hotel 5 stars yet due to the time we stayed some of the facilities were not available.

Room Tip: Superior rooms all have sea views and it is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lea020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

While I was on a business trip I spent two nights in this hotel with my husband. The view from the hotel is awesome, and as long as that is what you are looking for, you found the right place. From the ourtside and in the lobby the hotel looks very nice. Breakfast is excellent, with huge buffet but also stations with omlettes prepared to order. Surprisingly they also served pancakes and waffles.
Those are the good sides, however there is many bad sides to the hotel. Rooms are designed in a mediterranean modern style, with glass wall separating bathroom from bedroom part. When we walked into our room the bottom of wall was full of mold growing, and a rug was tossed over it to hide it. We asked for a new room, we were offered two. both of them had some mold but was somewhat better.
Service is not even at a two star level. Waiters could not get orders for coffee or lunch accurate,did not know proper ways of pooring wine, dinner was below average.
Each room has a little porch big enough for two lounging chairs. On those wheels, armrests were missing. Parts of wired fence, of the porch were missing. During our stay maintenance work was being done on the hotel. While we were resting on the porch workers were walking through the porch like it is a public area.
The hotel is filled with humidity, some common spaces smell of it (like for example childrens room). So I would nit take my child there under no circumstances.
All in all for the price we paid (an extremly good bargain due to low season) breakfast and the view was worth it. However I would not reccomend it to anyone at the normal price especially people with kids, allergies!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simona567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.3 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
2.6 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,976 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.9 km away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,784 reviews
3.0 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing