We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, probably won't return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel when Hotel Dubrovnik had an issue with my room. Stayed 2 nights after a cruise down the islands. Any proper bed was heaven after the tiny thing I was sleeping in for a week, so I can’t be too objective!
Stayed in a Villa room (not sure why it’s called a villa, its just another building of the hotel). Room was small and dark, but comfortable and clean. Bathroom was large and modern. Internet did not work in room, had to go to lobby, where it was intermittent.
Staff very helpful and friendly, sometimes missing (off smoking somewhere). 20 minutes late with wake up call, luckily I wasn’t in a hurry.
Location ok… short walk to bus stop, but harder with luggage!
Breakfast included, but sparse.
Will definitely be returning to Dubrovnik (Croatia is amazing), but will choose a hotel either in Cavtat (closer to the airport) or nearer Old City (where everything interesting happens).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missfreakykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

The location is ok for Lapad but expect a 70kn taxi to the old town (where you will want to spend 95% of your time). For the price, we found the room quite bad. Sheets had holes and no fitted sheets. We got two twins when we booked a double bed. The towels were small and old. Staff was misleading about costs to get around. They underestimated cab fare to the old town by 50% and over estimated airport cab fare by 20%.

The rooms were in general worn and dirty. I would have expected much more for the price (140 euro for one night).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnoxBenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed at the Aquarius early June for 5 days. Delightful location, away from the throngs of tourists is "old town" Dubrovnik. A 15-20 minute cheap bus ride away. A close block off of a pedestrian way lined with restaurants and outdoor cafes, all the way to the Adriatic and swimming beach (10 minutes walk). Quiet, comfortable, clean and great breakfasts. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleDootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We arrived at hotel and they had no room for us. We booked the room in May but they didn't have our reservation so they moved us for 1 day in another hotel. We came back the next morning and vaited for the room til late in afternon and then we vere moved send time to their villa. The third day we finaly got a room at hotel but it was dirty The reception staff was wery rude, no apology for moveing us 3 times.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Unfriendly staff, and sometimes the front desk is not manned. When checking out we had to go find the staff (smoking in the kitchen) to be able to leave. We also ended up with bites from the bed and no hot water. We asked for a double bed and ended up with 2 twins. Breakfast was a disaster, sometimes fruit and yoghurts running out. For the price we paid, we could have found better accomodation and friendlier staff

The good side was location was convenient but not close to a sandy beach. Plenty of restaurants nearby, supermarket and corner shops and short bus ride to old town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiji74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
254 reviews
1.2 km away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Zagreb
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
334 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
361 reviews
1.1 km away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik

Address: Mata Vodopica 4a, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: €78 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik is a small, family owned hotel in the center of Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik. Enjoy our summerlicious outdoor swimming pool (opened June 2016) & our poolside restaurant offering tasty fresh food and local wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing