We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
49
81
34
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
81
34
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus stop restaurant opposite small family hotel pedestrian walkway old city nice pool stay there again great hotel to stay spacious room tommy supermarket walled city quiet location the main hotel minute walk from the hotel short bus very nice hotel yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The location is ok for Lapad but expect a 70kn taxi to the old town (where you will want to spend 95% of your time). For the price, we found the room quite bad. Sheets had holes and no fitted sheets. We got two twins when we booked a double bed. The towels were small and old. Staff was misleading about costs to get around. They underestimated cab fare to the old town by 50% and over estimated airport cab fare by 20%.

The rooms were in general worn and dirty. I would have expected much more for the price (140 euro for one night).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnoxBenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed at the Aquarius early June for 5 days. Delightful location, away from the throngs of tourists is "old town" Dubrovnik. A 15-20 minute cheap bus ride away. A close block off of a pedestrian way lined with restaurants and outdoor cafes, all the way to the Adriatic and swimming beach (10 minutes walk). Quiet, comfortable, clean and great breakfasts. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleDootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We arrived at hotel and they had no room for us. We booked the room in May but they didn't have our reservation so they moved us for 1 day in another hotel. We came back the next morning and vaited for the room til late in afternon and then we vere moved send time to their villa. The third day we finaly got a room at hotel but it was dirty The reception staff was wery rude, no apology for moveing us 3 times.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Unfriendly staff, and sometimes the front desk is not manned. When checking out we had to go find the staff (smoking in the kitchen) to be able to leave. We also ended up with bites from the bed and no hot water. We asked for a double bed and ended up with 2 twins. Breakfast was a disaster, sometimes fruit and yoghurts running out. For the price we paid, we could have found better accomodation and friendlier staff

The good side was location was convenient but not close to a sandy beach. Plenty of restaurants nearby, supermarket and corner shops and short bus ride to old town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiji74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

There is an advertising slogan in the UK which promotes paints and varnishes by saying that they do “exactly what it says on the tin”.

This philosophy would perfectly sum up this small and reasonably priced (for Dubrovnik!) hotel in the Lapad area between the Post Office and the small beach.

It is 3 Star so do not expect luxury rooms with sea views, swimming pools, fitness centres, haute cuisine or any of the other benefits that you get, and pay for, at the 5 Star establishments.

What you do get is an efficient, quiet and comfortable place to base yourself for your holiday.

The rooms are adequate, many have balconies and a few at the front of the hotel overlook a pleasant garden with seating where you can enjoy a coffee or a beer after the exertions of the day. My room at the side of the building was fiercely air conditioned with a mini-bar (that was never restocked!) and a small en-suite containing a hydromassage shower.

The buffet breakfast is in the usual continental style although with orange/grapefruit squash rather than proper juice. Although the hotel does serve dinner, there are many restaurants and cafes nearby if, like me, you prefer to eat out but don’t want to go into the Old City every night.

A five minute walk up the nearby pedestrianised street towards Lapad Post Office will bring you to the bus stop to catch the Number 6 to the Pile Gate. There is a small kiosk here where you can buy advance tickets for 8Kn per journey of up to 1 hour, although this only seemed to be staffed during weekdays.

At times, this bus can get very crowded and you might have to stand for the 10-15 minute journey. Busses run every 15 minutes until after midnight. Most of the Coach excursions will also pick you up at this bus stop. There is also a taxi rank next to the bus stop.

Lapad Beach is a few minutes walk in the opposite direction and there are good walks around the bay and the peninsular.

In conclusion, a hotel with a few irritating features but generally it is good value for money and well placed for exploring the local area.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank Fleetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews