We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a buggy to the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lopud Island

Lopud Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.52*
and up
Three Dubrovnik Elafiti Islands Cruise
Ranked #49 of 156 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Take a buggy to the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Get the ferry from Gruz harbour and spend the day here, take the buggy to the beach you will see the guy with a golf cart as the ferry docks, its 5 mins ride, not expensive, but a long hard walk in the heat to an amazing beach.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    36
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The trip out to Lopud Island is well worth it. Its a relatively small island, but it didn't feel overly congested while we were there. We enjoyed the stroll across the island to Sunj Beach, which is a real delight. The water was amazingly warm and the sandy beach pristine. Returning back to the other side, we found a lovely bar by the water in which to sample some of the local brews and enjoy the views. Definitely worth a trip.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank UKBen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We spent all day here and I could have stayed the night, or even returned. Very peaceful island, laid back community. Well worth taking a stroll along the promenade from where the boat docks. We ate at the best restaurant here, Konoba Obala, on the main strip, not too far from where the boat docks. The whole fish was amazing, great wine too, and the view! I wish I could upload a photo here. The tables are right on the waters edge. To get the the beautiful beach, you must trek across the island. This is not for everyone. It's quite a distance, with an incline, both directions. Probably took 20-30mins, from memory, but well worth it! The beach is so picturesque. You must pay for each beach chair, but this is for the whole day. The water is like a lagoon, very safe for swimming, and you are surrounded by greenery. There is a bar and restaurant behind the beach chairs, great for a break from the sun. Make sure you know the ferry timetable so you don't miss the last one, we came close! We had an early dinner at the restaurant nearest the ferry/boat dock. Food was great, as was the service. For me, this island is a must. Ferry leaves Gruz, buy tickets at the harbour, make sure you check or take a timetable with you. Well worth spending the whole day here, and dining on the harbour side.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank KC2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wrong side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The boat takes you to the harbour, which is a 2 km and fairly strenuous walk away from the beach. Unexpected at best. At the beach, service is good, and prices are half of those in the city.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank permorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chic promenade.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Palm tree lined promenade with clean sandy beach. No cars so very relaxed and peaceful.Botanical gardens are worth a visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lollipop2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lopud Island also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Lopud, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Lopud Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing