We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Zudioska Sinagoga” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Synagogue

Synagogue
Book In Advance
US$131.03*
and up
Dubrovnik Jewish Heritage Private Walking Tour
Ranked #43 of 156 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Zudioska Sinagoga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I wouldn't have expected to find such a rich piece of European Jewish heritage in Old Town Dubrovnik, but here it is: the second oldest synagogue in Europe! There is a modest entry fee to see the small museum and the synagogue itself. The museum is composed of old Jewish artifacts and garments (very interesting) and WWII items from then-Ustasa Croatia. The man taking up the entry fee gave me a brief explanation of the museum and explained how a synagogue functioned. It was brief, fun, and informative. I'm glad I went.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank gsimerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    87
    40
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“atmospheric old building still in use for jewish services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

contains museum of old ark coverings and synagogue itself beautifully restored celing painted blue 12 families still use it for services - jews of modern dubrovnik

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Did my Grandfather ever attend services here?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I found out recently that my Grandfather was not Austrian but Croatian... When I walked along the streets I wondered if he did as a boy...did he come to this Temple to attend services as a boy?

Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a tourist attraction close in wintertime?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

yes, this happened. I was advised by a man who didn't like that my mother and I stayed in front of the closed place. He said in a rude way that the place is closed from december to march. Is a shame, how this could be? I try to ask to him to open the place to us, but he just walk away. If they cant managed to keep the place open the year round I think it must be taken out from tourist attraction's list. All the other places opened just for us in winter, why they couldn't?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Jewish content in Dubrovnik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

It's very small and up some stairs but worth the visit. Small museum attached. Some art stores nearby are interesting as well.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mas1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Synagogue also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing