We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,039)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveller rating
756
239
38
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
756
239
38
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lapad bay sphere restaurant sea view the bus old town pool area modern hotel pedestrian street rooftop bar top floor half board plenty of bars and restaurants amazing hotel sunset beach each evening highly recommend this hotel watch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kompas is one of the more expensive luxury hotels in Dubrovnik so our expectations were quite high. We weren't terribly disappointed but there was certainly room for improvement.

Location is good - the hotel is situated on the Lapad waterfront and is a 10 mins drive to the old town. There are lots of bars and restaurants on the main drag nearby but most do look quite cheap and tacky. View from the hotel is spectacular - the hotel faces S/SW so you can watch the sunset from your room or the lobby lounge which is very special.

The hotel itself is clean and modern. Like most of the 'design' hotels on the Med, it has gone for the 'white Ibiza chic' look. However the hotel did come across a bit bland and souless as it was missing the 'final touches' for a more stylish experience.

The top floor lounge has great potential as it has a panoramic view of the bay but there wasn't much ambience - no music, no candles, only really bright lights preventing guests from appreciating the views. Similar shortcomings could be found in the rest of the hotel - sundeck by the outdoor pool had no music, no table to put your drinks, nor was there anyone to tidy up the towels used by the guests.

The room we had was comfortable and had a great view of the bay. However it was already beginning to show signs of age / wear and tear - stained tile grout and mastic in the bathroom, marks on the walls etc. The towels were also quite tired.

We were really hoping to like this hotel but unfortunately our experience was just average. We paid £170 a night so it was okay but I would be rather upset if we paid £300+ a night during the peak season.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank VVILL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very helpful and friendly, room lovely and comfortable. We watched the sunset from the 10th floor terrace and really enjoyed the amazing breakfast buffet. It was a short walk to lots of restaurants and a bus into the historic center of Dubrovnik.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DeeBuck_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights in October. We had a corner room (802) on the 8th floor so had the balcony view but also 2 picture windows to the side making it a lovely bright room with an amazing view. The rooms are bright and well appointed; safe, a/c, tea/coffee, lots of cupboard space, lovely big bathroom with walk in shower and a decent sized balcony. The spa facilities we didn't use but there was a steam room, sauna, indoor pool and gym. The outdoor infinity pool is lovely but Baltic in temperature. The terrace round the pool is a decent size with plenty of sunbeds and towels to use; a little soulless perhaps but what else do you need? Breakfast didn't change daily and the selection was perhaps a little limited but lovely nonetheless. The location is superb overlooking the beach and close to local bars. Getting from the airport was easy - the shuttle (40Kn each) from the airport to Pile Gate. Immediately across the road is the bus stop for local buses. Either take no. 6 which takes you via the port or, as we did, the no. 4 (15Kn each) which drops you at the beach. Getting back to the airport isn't as straightforward as the airport shuttle departs from the main bus station which isnt as easy to get to. We were lazy and took an Uber which are plentiful. Definitely a hotel to recommend.

Room Tip: 7th floor has a flat roof in front so restricted view
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_and_Emma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

An excellent hotel with excellent staff in an excellent location. The hotel is situated very close to a selection of very good bars and restaurants. Also provided is the option of a sunbed on the beach which is a god way to start the day.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank b_r_lilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay with my husband. What a great hotel, the views from the top floor bar are amazing it’s worth having a drink up there to soak in the views of Lapad Bay. We were in a double rm on floor 8 unfortunately did not have full sea view but did not influence our stay, the room is very spacious and well equipped beds very comfy, the cleaning staff keep them to a very high spec, leaving chocolates in the evening, a lovely touch.
Only had breakfast here, it was varied and plentiful, the staff in the restaurant were very attentive, you could dine outside or in.
There are plenty or bars/eateries around the hotel within easy distance. The old town is about 15min bus ride away or we did walk it and it took us 50mins.
If we did return we would definitely stay here again, it is a five star hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kaz087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews