We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,242)
Filter reviews
2,242 results
Traveller rating
1,247
775
170
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,247
775
170
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel the bus old city president hotel sea view breakfast and dinner babin kuk modern hotel outdoor pool valamar group lobby bar half board excellent hotel tour group a la carte restaurant big hotel spa area
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2,242 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018

The major problem with this Hotel is that it caters very much for business visitors. To be fair I was aware that many of the facilities were likely to be biased towards business clients, not however as much as it was. The dining room tables were crammed in and very difficult to get where you wanted to be.
Tourists were not at the top of the hotels treatment list. The staff at reception blew hot and cold although they tried to be helpful most of the time but didn't appear very happy possibly end of season.
The pools and spa were very good with adequate supply of towels and facilities.
We were on the fifth floor with a partial sea view and a balcony room clean and tidy with plenty of clean linen although towels a bit tired. Tea and coffee in the room ok saved you around £4 a time.
Captive audience meant that you paid quite a high premium on drinks but Lapad was only a very pleasant walk along the coastal path where prices were more sensible.
Very little to do inside the Hotel and children would be struggling to find any thing, definitely an adult type place.
Some very pleasing walking areas down by the coastal walks.

Room tip: Rooms with balconies and sea views above 2nd floor ok above the reception is a bit noisy
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank syddor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VlahoS5, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Valamar Lacroma. We do our best to provide the highest standard of service to all our guests.
All our guests are our highest priority abd we do our best to make them feel at home.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Vlaho Sabljic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Very disappointed with this hotel which caters mainly for business clients who are given preferential treatment over tourist. Tables are reserved for them at the evening meal which meant fewer seats available for everyone else. Our bedding was dirty and wasn’t changed all week, the rooms weren’t cleaned and the toiletries on arrival were used and hadn’t been replaced. The hotel lacks atmosphere the evening entertainment is back ground music suitable for a business hotel.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank spiderswebb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VlahoS5, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Valamar Lacroma
and for valuable input. We work hard to deliver memorable experience for our guests and we are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. In our hotel we do not have preference to certain guests, all guests are equal and we treat everyone with attention. Although on some places there are signs reserved to keep groups together we always accommodate all guests in our restaurant and whenever guest approaches any of the staff with certain request we will do everything in our power to assist them. We will definitely check with housekeeping department comments about your room since we have high standards and our team is praised for clean rooms and public grounds.

We will definitely use your feedback to learn and improve.

Warm regards,
Vlaho Sabljic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel on a half board basis for 1 week as part of a jet2 holiday.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern, beautiful surroundings and spacious rooms. The majority of staff are helpful and friendly.

Situated in Babin Kuk it is a short 15-20 min bus ride to the old town. 5 minutes from the hotel is the promenade which you can walk along to Lapad bay. There are plenty of bars and restaurants along the way. There are also plenty of shops near by and a couple of beaches.

We don’t normally opt for package holidays but fancied a change. After looking at a number of hotels around Dubrovnik we settled on Lacroma as it seemed to have a nice choice of bars and restaurants whilst close to other amenties.

I have to say the evening meals option of the half board let us down, we renamed it half bored. Only the buffet restaurant is part of the half board you just get a discount on the others. The menu never changed, by the end of the week we dreaded going down as we just didn’t want to eat the same food again! The Croatian dishes were limited which was disappointing. The restaurant itself was often chaotic with the tables so close together you could listen to the next tables conversation, staff were often oblivious you had arrived and you often had to shout them over half way through your meal for a drink and they were slow to clear the dishes. When there was a large tour group in, it was like a free for all. Having a nice leisurely meals is part of the holiday so this really dampened our experience.

The breakfast buffet was good but if you went down after 7:30 the food was often luke warm.

It would be so much better if they did theme nights in the restaurants but I guess they are more set for conference and tour group guests who don’t stay a week. It would have also been nice to have the option to use the half board for lunch at the lobby bar and go out for a nice evening meal.

The lobby bar and pool bar are both lovely places to relax. Special mention to Anton at the pool bar. The live music in the lobby bar was also really good each night.

We also had a massage in the spa which was fantastic.

I’d recommend this hotel but probably would recommend the half board option however based on everything else I would certainly consider the Valamar resorts again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KM0JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VlahoS5, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Valamar Lacroma. We do our best to provide the highest standard of service to our guests.
We are sorry to hear you did not had pleasant experience in the restaurant. We do have a seven days buffet menu so we are surprised you did not find each night something new. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed in live music as well as in the massages in our SPA center. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Vlaho Sabljic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Lovely hotel. Very clean spacious rooms. Good pools In and out. Breakfast was excellent. All staff friendly and pleasant. Bus stop close by for Dubrovnik also near Lapad with a selection of resteraunts and a pleasant coastal walk.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VlahoS5, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope that you have enjoyed our service and the facility our hotel has to offer.

We hope that you will visit us again.

Warm regards,
Vlaho Sabljic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

The hotel was more like a conference centre,checking in wasn’t good our room wasn’t ready and we had to go back and join another queue with only 2 staff who were not at all friendly and a customer service refresh wouldn’t go a miss.
Our room was nice with sea view and balcony where we could see the cruise ships coming and going it is worth paying extra to upgrade.The food was just OK you wouldn’t starve but the steak and pork you couldn’t cut most of the veg was strange,breakfast was best with fresh omelettes to order.Ther was no entertainment at night and everywhere you went it was steps or hills.The drinks in the hotel were expensive and the drinks deal didn't seem value for money either.Dubrovnic was very expensive 2 small beers were the equivalent of £10 and it was 7 khuna 1 Euro to use the toilets.we walked the wall and went to Cavtat,the bus service is quite good and reasonable.The toiletries were very poor quality glad I took my own as the supply was very hit and miss as was the supply of tea and coffee etc.
We have had some really lovely holidays with jet2 and cannot think why they use this place as a holiday destination they should keep it as a conference centre.
Not my type of holiday hotel would not go back!

Room tip: We were in room 2044 it was fine
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hilltophouse240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VlahoS5, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Valamar Lacroma
and for sharing your experience with us. While we are happy to hear you were satisfied with some aspects of the service, we are sorry to hear we didn’t meet your expectations in regard to service and entertainment. We do have every day live music on the lobby area and we are sorry you have missed it.
We value every comment from our guests and use them to constantly strive to improve your guests’ experience.

Warm regards,
Vlaho Sabljic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews