We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, excellent stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kazbek
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just back from a great weekend stay at the Hotel Kazbek. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we had been upgraded to Room 10 since it was our 5th year anniversary. The hotel amenities were lovely, with a wonderful terrace to sit and enjoy the view, listen to the harbor and relax, and a great pool area to enjoy some sun.

We were mainly interested in relaxing and catching up on some much needed sun and rest and this was a great place for that. The service was very friendly and helpful -- the hotel was able to organize a kayaking tour for us and provided towels for us to bring the day of. The breakfasts were lovely and there is a nice beach area not too far from the hotel and some green space that was nice for evening walks.

Overall a great stay and I would recommend without hesitation!

Room Tip: Take the bus 6 into the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Goldrid,

It was our great pleasure to offer you an upgrade for such special occasion that you decided to celebrate at our Kazbek hotel. And thank you very much for sharing your experience with the whole Tripadvisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon here at the Kazbek.
Best regards and congratulations once again from the whole team!

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    51
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
230
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was the 3rd of 3 hotels during our 2 week holiday in Southern Croatia and the 2nd in Lapad. A beautifully appointed hotel with lovely decor and furnishings, 'though some rooms were rather dark (we had 3 for the 6 of us). The main receptionist was so helpful, efficient & friendly, she put the others to shame. Although it is nice to be served, I think a buffet breakfast would have been better as there was no menu and we didn't want to spend ages eating breakfast when we had other places to go & there wasn't a huge choice. The bar was too quiet & seemingly unmanned most of the time; we often waited in vain for a drink. The staff were very pleasant but not exceptionally efficient & the meal in the restaurant was painfully quiet as the dining room is very small and with one other table occupied we felt we could only whisper. They were very accommodating when my daughter realised she had ordered a raw meat dish and she was offered a replacement with no fuss. I feel the hotel needs to have a rejig of its meal areas - the terrace bar would be an ideal place for breakfast with its view over the harbour; the open air breakfast area is fine for evening meals, too hot for breakfast; but the inside dining room is a bit claustrophobic. The pool is lovely, but freezing and is shaded by the afternoon, with only one side benefitting from the evening sun in August. For a relaxing , no hurries short break, this hotel would be great as long as you don't mind waiting for a nightcap.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagIul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Maglul,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel beautiful with lovely décor and furnishings. And the title of your review is absolutely great.
However, I was extremely disappointed about some of your comments.
As you know we are a small boutique hotel with only 13 rooms so when we are fully booked it cannot be more than 26 guests. This is one of the reasons why our common areas are never busy and why we don’t have buffet style breakfast. Our guests simply enjoy taking the long breakfast while being served and offered anything what can normally be found at a buffet in a bigger hotel. The title and conclusion of your review gives a perfect picture of us – we are just perfect for relaxing, no hurries stays.
I am also pleased that you found our staff pleasant (particularly one of our colleagues at the reception) and that the restaurant team dealt well with your daughter’s dinner. We try to offer a discreet and unobtrusive service and we deeply apologize if you found it “not exceptionally efficient”. We are very sad that the standards we pride ourselves were not met on this occasion.
What a shame you think our restaurant is a bit claustrophobic. This is actually one of the areas that we are especially proud of because of the old stone vault that creates a peaceful and historic atmosphere. This part of the building has remained the same since 16th century and was a place where the boats were kept. I wouldn’t agree it is claustrophobic due to its huge window facing the sea and the ceiling height of almost 3.5 m at its highest part.
I am sorry as well you thing our pool is freezing. I suppose this was because of the outside temperature, which was extremely high this August (more than 40 degrees Celsius on some days) so the pool with its 26 – 28 degrees probably felt cold.
We appreciate very much your suggestion about the rearrangement of our dining areas. We will definitely think about it.
We do hope you will come back for a return visit!

Kind regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We only stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. Dubrovnik is a special & unique city but busy in July. The Kazbek is a lovely oasis of calm but within easy reach of the old town. We had fresh breakfasts, light lunches by the lovely pool & enjoyed an excellent dinner on the terrace listening to a jazz singer & guitarist. The staff were superb, friendly & helpful. A little on the expensive side but it was the end of our holiday in Croatia ! We would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chongching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear jwmmt_muir,

And your review is absolutely wonderful! Thank you so much. It's been a pleasure having you as our guests. Hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards from the whole Kazbek team,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Kazbek for 3 nights. As others have mentioned, the hotel itself is located away from the Old City, but we enjoyed being able to escape the crowds after a day of sightseeing and just relax by the pool. Transport to the Old City was very convenient. Buses (10HRK) to the city gate actually pass in front of the hotel and the bus stop is very close by.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed breakfast in the beautiful courtyard in front of the hotel. Breakfast (included in our rate) was made to order, which was a nice change from the standard hotel buffet. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the service was excellent. On the day we checked out, we asked if the kitchen could prepare some sandwiches for us as we were driving to Montenegro, and they put together a nice picnic lunch with sandwiches, drinks and fruit.

Overall a lovely experience. We would definitely choose to stay there again on a future visit to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klavier_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear klavier_mann,

A sincere THANK YOU for this lovely review. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Pave Milogkav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Kazbek for 4 nights and unfortunately during our stay my wife was taken ill. So ill in fact that we had to go to the local hospital. The way the hotel staff helped us and took care of us could not have been any better. We were able to enjoy most of our stay in Dubrovnik and we are convinced that we would not have had as good a time as we did were it not for the fact that we were in the care of the Hotel Kazbek and its staff.

We have promised ourselves that we will return to the hotel and Dubrovnik as soon as we can.

P.S. The hospital also took very good care of my wife and we were seen and treated very promptly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daf_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear daf-16,

Thank you so much.
I am really sorry your wife was taken ill during your stay with us, but on the other hand we are so happy we could do our best and help you in this unpleasant situation. It is great to know as well you received a good care in our hospital.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon here at the Kazbek.
Best regards from the whole team.

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
4.4 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
1.6 km away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Property: Hotel Kazbek
Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique setting with only 12 superior and deluxe bedrooms and 1 suite, the Kazbek Hotel is a 'home from home' for many discerning Dubrovnik visitors looking for a high degree of privacy and modern facilities in a historical ambience. The Kazbek is situated in Gruz bay only 10 min of drive from UNESCO protected Dubrovnik Old City. The former residence of 16th-century nobility now protected as a cultural monument is fully renovated to the highest standards and has regained its original beauty and function. Refined and graceful rooms all individually designed, perfectly combine classical style with 21st century amenities and comfort. Each single piece of furniture has been handmade to add to the historical experience. You will love breakfasting on the beautiful courtyard terrace, sunbathing and relaxing at the private pool area. The rich and varied gastronomic cultures of Croatia can be tasted at the restaurant, where only the freshest and locally produced ingredients are used. The Kazbek Hotel features 3 elegant dining and cocktail venues. The main restaurant has a courtyard terrace and a terrace overlooking the lively Gruz bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing