We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definate Recommendation!”
Review of Old Town Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Hostel
Ranked #43 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Split
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My friend and I arrived here at 8am shattered after a night train from Slovenia. Staff could not have been nicer. Though check in wasnt until 1pm we were allowed into the lounge to chill, where we eventually went to sleep. Often hostels are funny about that, but they were lovely and even readied our room for us by 11am! They were really helpful, giving us maps and recommending places to eat. It was also very clean and new feeling dispite it being on its 3rd season. The staff told us the owner is very house proud. We made friends in the 10 bed mixed dorm and went out drinking in a travelers bar near by. Would def recommend if you want to meet people. It is also dead centre and a short walk from the train and bus stations which is very handy! Only downside is only 2 bathrooms and 1 was broken when we stayed.

Room Tip: go for the mixed dorms, more sociable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garlic_prawn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

I recently stayed at Old Town Hostel, I stayed for two days then immediately booked for another 2 the following week.
The hostel is clean and well equipped with WiFi, kitchen, tv and comfy beds - everything a tired traveller wants! The location is fantastic as the hostel itself is within the Palace.
The staff, Dora and Adam, are incredible. They are more then willing to give you any information on Split, and Croatia and are always up for a chat.
Old Town Hostel makes you feel at home, which you won't find at many other hostels.
Im already trying to plan my next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SammmyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at the Old Town Hostel recently and I loved it. Dora and Adam werevery helpful and gave me lots of information about Split. This is the kind of hostel I was expecting on my six weeks of Eurailing around Europe and had only found one other place (Prague Downtown Hostel).

The manager and owner got guests together and created an environment that encouraged interaction and conversation. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were colorful and fun. The common room was lively and a great place to hang. The bathrooms were clean and had plenty of hot water. There were large lockers in the rooms so I was able to put all my stuff up.

When I come back to Split...and I will, i will return to Old Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a four person room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We arrived a day early and the owner (lovely girl whose name i cant remember!) helped us find an alternative just down the road, so we were off to a good start. When we returned the next day the owner was as cheerful and helpful as ever. Hostel is very clean and tidy, great location right in the old town and had a cool vibe. It felt like being in an old friends flat. My only fault, and why this only received a 4/5 star rating, was the fact there is only 1 male and 1 female bathroom for all guests...a few waits but nothing to really moan about. Would definitely recommend, keep up the good work.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank mattlloyd481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Stayed in old town for three nights, and loved the atmosphere at the hostel. I can see how during peak season, it may be a little cramped, but it was just perfect for me. There was one day I just chilled out in the lounge and watched shows and movies from their collection. It was comfortable, and sort of felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchen0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 km away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#23 of 58 in Split
228 reviews
0.6 km away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.4 km away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#9 of 58 in Split
710 reviews
6.3 km away
Ark Beach Apartments
Ark Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in Stobrec
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Hostel

Address: Dominisova 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range: €12 - €21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality budget accommodation in the heart of split, Croatia! With an unbeatable location in the very heart of Split, Old Town is a cozy little hostel run by locals and travelers always willing to show you a good time and make sure you have a comfy, safe and fun stay. Important! *Reception hours: 8am-10pm *Check-in time: 1pm*Check-out time: 12:00 (noon)*We don't take credit cards! Payment must be in cash. Croatian kuna is the preferred currency, but euro or other major currencies are accepted.*We are on the 3rd floor, so please keep this in mind if you're carrying heavy luggage. *Party people and heavy boozers are most welcome, however, take note that we have to Keep the noise down from 1pm until 8 am due to neighbors complaining and city noise restriction laws. Alternatively, choose a party hostel, there are a couple of great ones in Split!*For bookings in the peak season months (June-September), we kindly advise children under the age of 17 and adults over the age of 50, as well as families and groups larger than 6 persons to email us before booking as we may be able to suggest better suitable, high quality accommodation alternatives for this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing