We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$79
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$71
View deal
FindHotel
US$61
View deal
Hotels.comUS$71
TravelocityUS$71
HurbUS$105
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
131
91
53
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
91
53
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central park excellent things stay there again included breakfast rooftop block arch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

This is a decent hotel within walking distance from most attractions in Antigua. They offer wonderful breakfast. The rooms are decent and clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks good English.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank simonegY4884NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
elcarmenhotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Thank you for your comments Simone, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location in Antigua and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

The hotel is cosy and the staff is friendly. Our room and bathroom were clean, but the bathroom smelled like a sewer. We were traveling with other people and they had the same smell in their bathroom, so I think it is a general problem that needs to be fixed by the hotel. The room was also super noisy, we could perfectly hear the conversations from the rooms next door.
The hotel has a nice rooftop and the breakfast was good.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank InesH568
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
elcarmenhotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us, we wil take your observations under consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2019

We stayed here as part of a tour group for two nights arrived late evening first night. The plus points, hotel has a nice court yard and the roof top terrace with views of the volcano were amazing. Staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfasts were very good. We were allocated room 204 which was compact but adequate, bed was comfy and room was ok. Here are the negatives lighting in room was very dim and we really needed two bedside lights and as other reviewers have commented there is no hot water at best it was tepid. There is free wifi but you can only get a good signal in reception The other major problem is noise. From others comments we think that all the rooms are noisey with the worst being those on the street and ours 204 which was at the bottom of the stairs to the terrace and the kitchen was very noisey from 4.30 in the morning so if you are looking for peace and quiet don't stay here.

Room tip: Avoid those facing the street and 204
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank macmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
elcarmenhotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast served in the terrace. We will take under consideration you observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

We arrived at approximately 8pm last night after a long day traveling from Dublin. Hotel el Carmen instantly gave us the warm and inviting feeling. We were warmly greeted at check in and given our room key and WiFi information. When we got to our room I noticed it was right at the street on the second floor. When we were going out for dinner I expressed my concerns at the front desk. There were no alternative room available for last night, but I’m assured of another room tomorrow night.......210 is a well appointed and inviting room, but unfortunately every sound, and I mean, every sound from the street can be heard in the room. It’s 2:18 am as I type this, so far tonight I’ve heard cars, buses, motorcycles, party people and even couples having sex. Avoid room 210 at all costs- it is a total disaster for weary travelers, and frankly- just not good enough as the hotel management are well aware of its shortcomings, but rent it out anyway. Maybe there are other rooms in the hotel just like this. Here’s hoping I don’t find that out tomorrow night!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank G7907LCrichardr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
El Carmen Hotel, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Thank you for your comments, this help us improve. We will take your observations under consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019

Am not one to write reviews but feel that I have to share our bad experience at this hotel. We were booked for one night only. As recommended we asked for a deposit box to put in our money and other personal items since there was no safety deposit box in our room.
We were given a safety deposit box behind reception. Upon collecting them the next day prior departure, I found Dollars and Euros missing. The Manageress was unprofessional and rather rude even having the audacity to imply that my friend have taken it. Since she confirmed there were cameras in the corridors my friend asked her to check these out. Upon checking if they had a camera where the safety deposit boxes were located she admitted there weren't any! For this reason I would suggest to be very careful when booking this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothy0455
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
elcarmenhotel, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2019

We are very sorry you have chosen to come here to make this accusation. We take this accusation very seriously and would like to state the following:
1. We are a serious company that has been operating for more than 27 years and one of our main values is honesty.
2. Unfortunately the clients never agreed to count the money in front of us, the only proof was a worn out envelope with lots of numbers and cross-outs.
3. We immediately started an internal investigation, searching through all the staff’s belongings and didn’t find anything. The clients didn’t care about being present during this and left the hotel for about 1 hour after the incident.
4. From the beginning we offered to call the police, and the clients didn’t agree until 5 minutes before they were leaving, the police arrived 5 minutes after they left.
5. Before leaving one of the clients approached the front desk and said that “maybe she didn’t count the dollars correctly, so we should refund just the euros”.
6. A security camera was installed in the area the following day to ensure our compromise with our client’s safety and trust.
7. We are confident that the money was not stolen in our facilities.
Our other hundreds of positive reviews represent the kind of hotel that we are, and we will continue to improve to give our guests the best possible experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews