We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
Booking.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
PricelineUS$170
Casa Rosal HotelUS$146
eDreamsUS$170
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
325
32
11
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
325
32
11
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel juan carlos beautiful hotel rooms are spacious agua volcano breakfast was included natural light every morning air conditioning minute walk beautiful room second floor central square few blocks guatemala city wedding terrace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

I was there for 5 days. Immediately I was very pleased by the service. The decor is superb, outstanding. It creates the perfect atmosphere for that unique city. The food is remarkably good. My breakfast was included and the variety surprised me every morning. They really care. So what else do you want. Highly recommendable!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank planeur10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Percy Aguilar, Director General at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Dear Robert,
We really appreciate the time spent to share such glowing comments regarding your most recent experience at Pensativo. Taking care of our guests is our main goal and we are happy to know you've enjoyed so much your stay.
Hope you come to visit us again soon!
Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021

I stayed at the Pensativo in mid-February for 2021, and I cannot recommend it enough to future travelers. The hotel has the safety, security, and cleanliness of a 5-star resort. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are updated but yet have an authentic Guatemalan feel. I appreciate that for all of the top-notch amenities of the hotel, it does not lack in culture.

While the Pensativo does not have a gym, spa, or pool on-site, their sister hotel is only two blocks away and all the amenities of the Porta Hotel are available to Pensativo guests. However, the Pensativo does have a wonderful restaurant on-site with excellent service! Do yourself a favor and sit on the second floor terrace to dine with the view of the volcano Agua!

The hotel is tucked away in the south part of the city, offering peace and quiet while you sleep. It is a 10 minute walk to the main city square. For those traveling during COVID, the hotel is about a 5-minute walk to the Juan Pablo Laboratorio. That is where you’ll want to go to get your covid test to return to the states!

For first time travelers to Antigua/Guatemala, I recommend taking book airport transfer through the hotel. Without traffic, it will take you a hour to and from Guatemala City and Antigua. Don’t rely on a taxi to manage that ride.

If I ever make it back to Antigua, I will be staying at the Pensativo again!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TrevorB1858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Percy Aguilar, Director General at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Trevor,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Your comments really motivate our team to continue making every single Guest experience as unique and comfortable as they deserve.
Really hope you come back to Antigua, we'll always be so happy to be hosts at the land of the eternal spring!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

In February we stayed and I did not think I would return after so much fuss of the covid 19) now as a guest at the New Year's gala dinner and seeing the familiar faces such as the service personnel to the restaurant manager (JUAN CARLOS) we realized that He is the engine of the service, being a manager and the same tray loader and giving everything to be successful for a good result, no one is going to do it, congratulations delicious food and there is nothing more than everything was lovely.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munstans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Percy Aguilar, Director General at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for trusting Pensativo House Hotel this special celebration to welcome 2021.
Your comments will be passed on to Juan Carlos since he is a very much valuable part of the team who has made Pensativo come back after we were closed, same as the Kitchen team and the whole staff. This really motivate us to continue making our guests' experience as memorable as they deserve.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We loved the incredible personal attention at this gem of a boutique hotel. With only 15 rooms, it feels more like staying in a private palace than a hotel. The surroundings are perfectly quiet, and the bed linens are to die for. What a treat! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fifty-three-miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Percy Aguilar, Director General at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate the time you've taken to share your kind comments with our staff, making an extra mile effort to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as you deserve.
Really hope you come to stay with us again soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2020

Visiting Antigua and being a guest at a traditional Spanish colonial house! A great option, no doubt! "Pensativo House Hotel" is certainly one of the best lodging choices for all those visiting Antigua. It is centrally located, allowing guests to easily walk all around Antigua's awesome historic center and major attractions. A fine hotel, with beautiful premises and attentive service. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, with clean and comfortable bathrooms. Breakfast was adequate and at international standards. As one of the most popular wedding and celebration venues in Antigua, "Pensativo House Hotel" means party! Enjoy!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Percy Aguilar, Director General at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Dear LuizDutraNeto,
We are so glad to know your experience was up to your expectations.
Thank you so much for recommending our premises, it really motivate us to continue providing an excellent service to all of our guests and visitors.
Really hope you come to stay again with us soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews