We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
43
8
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
8
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2015

My husband and I stayed at Casa San Lazaro for 6 nights while we were visiting Antigua. This hotel has great service. Sebastian and the other staff were so helpful and went over and beyond to make our stay comfortable. One of our favorite evenings was wine and games by the fire. The breakfast is great, too. The food is made to order, fresh and tasty.
The hotel is located a good 10 minute walk from the core of downtown but we liked the exercise and felt relatively safe at nights.
Our room was small but we had a comfy bed and a nice patio.
We recommend this hotel and would return if we were ever back in Antigua.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a fire place...would have loved to spend the extra money to enjoy the room but it was booked when we arrived.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lindsay &
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Really loved this hotel. The staff were super helpful and friendly. Breakfast was one of the best i've ever had. Decor was bespoke, unique and the bed was comfy. Lovely pool (though I didnt actually use it). Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

We were suppose to stay for two days during our second part of the visit to Antigua Guatemala but we stayed four days. Here you stay in a 5 star hotel, but you pay for a 3 star hotel. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the center, but you always can ride a “tuc-tuc” for 15-20 quetzals (2-3 dollars) to anywhere.
The most important asset of this hotel is the people working there. Alex and Sebastian are two persons that will walk the extra step to help you; they together with Noelia and the rest of the staff make a very nice team. You can not get wrong staying here. It is the best of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miamijhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon on our trip to Central America at Casa San Lázaro. We can just say good things about our stay here.

The hotel was beautiful, all brand new. They informed us that they have been operating for just 9 months.

The room was beautifully decorated with red rose petals. All so nice!

Breakfast was great, traditional eggs one day and open breakfast buffet the following one with heaps of choices. You can enjoy having it sitting in the patio next to the swimming pool. It is an absolutely relaxing atmosphere.

Staff are fantastic. They are always there to help you out. Special mention to Sebastian and Alejandro who made our stay fantastic.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mercè D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in 12 different hotels on our Central America trip, all rated very highly on Trip Advisor. However, Casa San Lazaro came in miles above the rest and massively exceeded my expectations! In fact, it is one of the best places we have ever stayed.

The room was beautiful, boutique and traditional. The attention to detail was certainly there. Very comfortable bed. Hot tub bathroom highly recommended.

Rest of hotel so boutique and bijou, with pretty gardens.

Included breakfast was tasty and served with a smile.

Staff were amazingly helpful. I mean the most helpful and friendly people we have ever experienced working in a hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. They went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay. It made our time in Guatemala the best experience.

The hotel is not situated in the centre of town, but is a 10 minute walk, which is lovely and scenic. That is perhaps already reflected in the excellent price!

Overall amazing value and I would be tempted to stay here again, just for the hotel and the treatment you recieve, despite the fact I've already been to Antigua!

Just book it already!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews