We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
250
48
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
48
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews folk art local crafts outdoor living room grounds are beautiful minute walk nice pool swimming pool cobblestone streets central square lake atitlan hot water casita flowers guatemala hammocks carmen corridor
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

This is a lovely resort. The sound of flowing water and birds among the flowers, a cooling pool and restful hammocks, fireplaces for cool mornings, and a volcano puffing in the distance, what's there not to like!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 2 bedroom condo
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Behind the gate is a beautiful complex of spacious rooms set among flowers, plants and fountains. Art enhances the rooms and public spaces. We enjoyed several delicious, reasonably-priced meals in the hotel's open-air restaurant. The location is on the edge of town but still within walking distance of the centre and beyond. Really, our only issue was that, when we tried to use the fireplace, the chimney didn't work properly and it became very smoky. Still, I highly recommend this beautiful, relaxing sanctuary.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sanae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely rooms, beautifully landscaped, and decorated, great service, fine food, quiet, and 15 minute walk to the central square. Good location. Manager speaks English and will help you with transportation, tours,airline reservations and very responsive.
Nice small pool, Wifi works well. Foliage lovely.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time in this hotel, rooms are big and well equipped. Gardens are beautiful, as described in other reviews and the staff go out of their way to help you.

The only negative of out stay was our experience with the travel agency recommended by the hotel (vela travel). They tried to significantly overcharge with regards to exchange
rated when paying for trips (the hotel kindly sorted this out) and also did not turn up when we ordered a shuttle to Lake Atitlan , eventually sending a taxi an hour late, without any explanation.

Overall, great stay, would definitely stay again but maybe give the travel agency a miss!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

I'm so happy that I chose this property (it's more of a resort than just a hotel) over the Santo Domingo, which I was considering. The grounds are beautiful and tranquil, with lawns, flowerbeds, and fountains. The staff was helpful, kind, and professional. And the food was excellent. I had dinner all three nights, and breakfast twice. The sheets are deliciously soft, and the high-ceilinged room comes with a fireplace, which the staff will light for you on request. Overall, one of the best places I've ever stayed, and I've stayed at very many. As most reviews note, it's not in a central location, but it's not a bad walk at all to the central square.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, from the huge singles to the full houses
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews