We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
171
19
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
19
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bill clinton rose suite mary sue huevos rancheros rooftop terrace romantic boutique hotel feast for the eyes each evening daily breakfast my favorite thing fresh flowers charming small hotel sitting room great boutique each morning visiting antigua lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Everybody had raved about this place, and perhaps because of this, we were a little disappointed. It's a lovely place and breakfast on the roof terrace with wonderful views was a treat. However the hotel is quite confined and dark with only a very small courtyard. Our room (the yellow room) was tastefully decorated and had a huge bed, but it took up most of the room, which, having no proper outside window, was also very dark, even after the staff had kindly provided us with a reading lamp.There's no restaurant in the hotel, so one has to walk at least 15 minutes into town for dinner, which after a long tiring day exploring, we didn't always feel like doing. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Only 8 rooms in a former residence. Each room is decorated in full local textiles and they are all beautiful and different. There is a large suite on the roof of the hotel. Next to this suite on the other end sits a spectacular roof terrace where you can have breakfast looking at the volcanos and the domes of Antigua's many churches. It is four blocks away from the main square on a very quiet street. Breakfast is divine and included in the room rate. The best rooms are the ones at the very end of the house as those bathrooms are large and have been recently remodeled with more modern accesories than the bathrooms of the first four rooms in the entrance of the hotel. There is a small swimming pool which is heated on the weekends but acts more like a water fountain never saw anyone swimming. Charming and working fireplaces in every room. All in all I highly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LANGUIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This small hotel is a real gem in the centre of ancient Antigua. We had 3 days at the start of our Guatemalan adventure staying here and received faultless service and hospitality. Our room (Rose Suite) was superb and decked with vases of fresh roses. It had its own private roof-top terrace area, where one could take breakfast - in itself a real joy with unlimited fresh orange juice and coffee to die for. All served by smiling Simón. Although the restaurant does not serve dinner, there are so many restaurants within walking distance that it is of no consequence and the elegance of the whole hotel, delightfully candle-lit at night, more than makes up for it. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rose Suite is gorgeous
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Beautifully decorated with open fires in the bedrooms as well as in the comfortable lounge area and dining room. The staff were helpful and attentive and the breakfasts were the best we had in Guatemala, I would particularly recommend the huevos rancheros or the pancakes.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kaye h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We returned to the Posada del Angel after first visiting five years ago and it is still just as great. Many of the staff were the same and just as helpful and charming. Last time we had the Blue room and this time the Green and Mayan rooms. All of them are lovely, different but beautiful and romantic. The decor of the place is amazing and it makes you feel really special staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank stuart12345898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews