We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santo Domingo del Cerro, Antigua Guatemala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

For those of you who are ceaselessly in pursuit of the perfect view around Antigua Guatemala, you should definitely take the trip to the Santo Domingo del Cerro. This is the sister site of the celebrated hotel located in the rehabilitated and re-purposed ruins of the lower town's Santo Domingo Church.

The lower church and monastery were completed in the mid 17th century when Antigua Guatemala was the capital of Spanish holdings in this slice of the New World. It was then walloped by earthquakes, abandoned by the good Dominican padres and left to squatters for centuries. About 340 years, later, the eclectic hotel complex that we see today was started.

Early in the 21 century, the Santo Domingo hotel on the hill was established and the view is truly sensational. Yolkobsens recently got on the free shuttle, which goes most days every 15 minutes from the lower hotel location, to make the upward trip for two reasons: the view and the art.

We were warned as we will caution you: eat before you go because the food at the highland restaurant, El Tenedore del Cerro, is expensive and really not very good. Enough said. But by all means have a cocktail there as you devour the view of volcanoes and Antigua Guatemala itself. It's fun trying to identify the city landmarks from a distance, and the birds-eye-view gives tourists and regular inhabitants alike a different perspective on how the town is organized along its Spanish colonial grids.

After taking in the scenery over a cocktail, Yolkobsens recommend a thorough investigation of the grounds. You will be rewarded by the art installations that make up the permanent outdoor offerings. Some startle, some provoke, some amuse, and some are downright weird, but it's all part of the experience. There's even a tropical bird house the size of a suburban back split to stimulate the senses and arouse feelings of kinship with our feathered buddies. Okay, it's just a really neat and unexpected bird house.

Among the more outstanding pieces of art are the mosaics by Guatemala's Efrain Recinos, whose ironic works are displayed here to great effect. The tiled works, dominated by azure blue tones, look innocent at first sight, especially his deceptively doll-like creation, La Guatemalita. Closer inspection reveals a darker vision that seems to transition between late 19th century to present day to a spacey future. Almost all of the murals invoke an embrace or dread of technology, including cars.

Not to be missed is the La Guatemalita sculpture perched on a real Volkswagen relic, which is hoisted at a 60 degree angle on an embankment. La Guatemalita sits on its hood bearing a torch of freedom the way she might hold up a mascara wand. Hard to ignore and intriguing to examine.

Our camera bursting with shots and our imaginations firing away after exploring the outdoor art, both natural and contrived, we happily descended in the wagon that took us back down the hill from the Santo Domingo del Cerro and back to Antigua Guatemala.

Room Tip: For those of you who are ceaselessly in pursuit of the perfect view around Antigua Guatemala, you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antigua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 626 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

We have traveled in Guatemala for ~2 weeks, and the 3 nights we spent at the Casa Santo Domingo were the highlight of the tour. It was like living in a dream. The site with the amazing gardens, the beautiful in-doors museums, the archeological ruins, the food, the welcoming staff - don't miss it!
The hotel is a unique combination of history and luxury, never seen before. As one of our friends said "the best non-looking-hotel I've stayed in..."

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We came to Antigua with no expectations. Wow were we surprised, it was a unique beautiful hotel! We have traveled the world over and this was truly a one of a kind hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel is just beautiful...it is located within a restored convent, with lots of historical places inside. It even has museums in it!
The service and food are very good, and the setting is very luxurious.
I just hope to go back again, but nos as a tourist to really enjoy everything this great hotel offers

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gzcMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife had heard of the Casa Santo Doningo from a member of her local Rotary International club. He said that despite the more expensive rates (average per night around $200), we would definitely enjoy the experience. Checking on line she found that on Sunday nights only the rate for a jacuzzi suite was only $137, so she booked it. When we arrived from the airport the place did not look like anything special from the outside. This I have learned is common in Antigua. On the outside, most places look the same. It's when you go inside that the distinct beauty appears. It's similar to how Dorothy must have felt in the Wizard of Oz when she opened the door after landing in Munchkin land. The gardens are beautiful and everywhere, even covering many of the walkways. If you are a registered guest at the hotel, you get free admission to the museums on the grounds.
We spent hours touring the grounds and museums.
Our suite was very large with a fireplace and a small balcony overlooking the courtyards below (where we enjoyed our complimentary coffee in the morning) The jacuzzi was located in its own separate spacious room with a skylight which added to the romantic atmosphere.
The staff was very attentive.

Room Tip: Sunday night rates were the best bargain we could find at Casa Santo Domingo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 75 in Antigua
908 reviews
1.1 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
425 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
198 reviews
1.6 km away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#16 of 75 in Antigua
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: €118 - €1,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing