We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Total surprise - luxury in Guatemala"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Total surprise - luxury in Guatemala"”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was part of a medical mission trip and our group stayed a few nights in this hotel located in Antigua, Guatemala. Most of our nights were spent within our hosts school compound. So having never been to Guatemala, I didn't know what to expect! The hotel opened in 1989, and was previously a convent. The architecture is beautiful and the rooms are tastefully decorated. The staff was very informed and we were treated graciously. There is a swimming pool, spa, sauna. You can also arrange to join a tour of the area. The onsite museum is well worth the visit. The Archaeological Museum contains many pieces dating back to Classical Period (200-900 AD), The Colonial Museum permits an exposition dating back to the 17th. century. I found the collections very interesting and gave me more insight into the Mayan culture. Santo Domingo is site for recent Archeological investigations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    231
    75
    24
    32
See reviews for
238
423
68
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

On a recent vacation stay in Antigua we stayed at the Casa Santo Domingo. It is a converted convent (1989) with extensive gardens containing beautiful flora and pet macaws, areas for conventions, artifacts on display, and spacious and well-appointed rooms. It is located East of the Central Plaza at some distance so walking at night from the centre of the city back to the hotel is probably ill-advised because of the overall crime that can be a reality in Antigua. Nonetheless we walked alertly with another adult and did not feel particularly threatened. In the daytime it is a nice distance from the city core so it is a quiet oasis.
Our room was pleasant although the lighting was a bit dark. We had a wood-burning fireplace which added a cozy touch. The bathroom was spacious and very well appointed although their was some aging and perhaps mouldy grout (it is a humid climate) and our particular shower door leaked copiously - all minor. The staff were universally friendly and helpful; well presented and the overall level of cleanliness was good. The spacious hallways were quiet and contemplative gardens were everywhere. We did not use the pool which looked a little tired in terms of overall cleanliness but on a sunnier day it would have been very inviting. There is a nearby parkade with a linking tunnel with small shops, and a very secure service.
Had we more time to stay we believe the historical tours of the site would have been well worth taking. In a country where luxury is harder to find, Casa Santo Domingo was well worth the stay

Room Tip: Ask for second floor towards the back of the site but not on the plaza, or overlooking the pool/gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank activeseniorsKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with others about our Hotel - in particular the one regarding our swimming pool. We want to let you know that we will begin its remodellation in the next weeks and hope you can enjoy it next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

love this place, i stayed here a couple of times and it has awesome rooms, food etc. etc. etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

At the end of our walking tour with Elizabeth Bell (a must!), we experienced this restored Dominican Monastery site. The hotel is upscale, with warm decor. We didn't stay there, but the tour included the grounds and the amazing, I mean one of the most delightful I've visited in 45 countries, museum and gallery. Here's the pitch: "Pre–Columbian Art and Modern Glass – Art and beauty in earthenware, stone and glass – It is a comparative sample between an archaeological collection and one of modern glass, where the similarities between the two of them are shown." Quite spectacular.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Earth
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Casa Santo Domingo is a destination all by itself. Not only does this former monestary offer the visitor to Antigua a wonderful hotel and oasis from the activity of the city, it offers outstanding gardens and museums. It was a treat to be able to experience a stay here. Whether walking the candle lit corridors and gardens in the evening or sitting in the candle lit bar or restaurant, a person is able to absorb the quiet and beauty of the surroundings. Staying at this hotel simply feels good. After checking into the hotel the visitor passes through an arbor of trailing orchids on the way to the rooms. It was beautiful! The rooms are very large and clean with a small balcony that contains a table and chairs. The rooms also had a fireplace with a wood fire set and ready to be lit. The bathroom was spacious and contained ammenities of every kind. The beds were comfortable and the hotel offered guests a choice of pillow types. My only crticism is that the lighting in the rooms was not good. The ceilings are high and have dark wood. Though there were several different lights in the room, it was still too dark to read well or find things in my suitcase. Sections of the hotel were set up in the Spanish style of rooms surrounding a patio, which in this case was a lovely garden. Though I did not have a chance to use it, there is a pretty pool area on the property. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and interested in meeting any need that their guests might have. The attention paid to detail at Santo Domingo made this hotel an exceptional destination for my 3 night stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konstanzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
868 reviews
1.1 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
434 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
308 reviews
1.5 km away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#17 of 75 in Antigua
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing