We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/08/22
Hotels.comUS$115
PricelineUS$115
HurbUS$116
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
238
63
13
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
238
63
13
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central park breakfast was included beautiful courtyard stay there again cathedral block guatemala parque rooftop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2022 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel, the location just around the corner of the main Park with good restaurants to go for lunch and dinner. The staff was very friendly. Rooms are not huge but very comfortable, we got a room at the back of the hotel which was good to sleep as there was not a lot of noise.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MarcoCoto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rudy Hernandez , Director General at Hotel La Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to confirm that you had a pleasant stay, even in an overnight stay, you were able to confirm and take the advantages of our excellent location. Our friendly staff will be happy to serve you at any possible time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022

We stayed at this hotel on our trip to Guatemala April 2022. Initially we booked for 2 nights but we ended up staying here for every night we had to spend in Antigua, we were going back and forth between locations. We traveled as a family of 4 (2 teenagers) and booked Room #9 with 2 double beds and an AC. There's so much to love about this little hotel. It's a gorgeous colonial mansion that was turned into a hotel. The rooms are around a beautiful courtyard, that is so well kept and a delight to sit there and have breakfast in the morning. The room was clean and the AC helped keep the room comfortable in temperature and the sound of it helped with covering with some of the outside sounds. The staff is very welcoming and always there to help. The hotel manager, Mr. Rudy, is always available to talk to his guests and make sure they are happy. In fact, we had to take a short trip to another city while we were staying at the hotel and Mr. Rudy offered to keep some of our luggage safe so that we don't drag everything with us, he was so thoughtful. The location of this property is perfect, centrally located to all the attractions. We loved going out in the morning and being able to come back to our room for some rest in the middle of the day, it worked perfect. It's a safe location and the hotel keeps the gates closed in the evening so safety is not an issue. However, as it is centrally located, it can get a bit of noise from the street but I always travel with earbuds when I know I will be in the middle of town. Also, I am not sure how ventilation is in other rooms that don't have an AC. This hotel made our stay in Antigua so memorable, we love all the staff there. You can't go wrong with Hotel La Cathedral.

Room tip: Ask for a room with an AC
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rudy Hernandez , Director General at Hotel La Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and what is even more important, that you and your lovely family actually enjoyed your staying here with us and those memories will be living in your hearts forever.
Just like you mentioned our staff is committed with all of our guest and one of our goals is to make them feel like home, thank you to confirm we had achieve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in April for a long weekend and it was fantastic all around. Try e hotel itself is very nice and the room I stayed was perfectly sized. The location is very convenient to all the attractions in town as it is very central. All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank NYCSteve73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rudy Hernandez , Director General at Hotel La Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2022

Thank very much, it was our pleasure to have you here with us, we are glad to confirm you had a wonderfull staying and that you enyojed our convenient location and the attractios around. Our great staff will be happy to serve you the next time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2022 via mobile

As a solo female traveller I chose this because of location to be close to all attractions and this was great. Really central and very safe. Secure at night. They bolt the doors but you can knock and they will let you in so you are free to come and go. Rooms are not huge but they are cosy and clean which was fine for me. To be honest they are quite small but as a solo traveller I was fine. Felt like a home country bedroom! Bathroom was also small but I had no issue. I was out most of the time and just wanted a clean, secure and central place to sleep and shower. Staff were so sweet and nice. Like a family. Beautiful colonial like a mansion with lovely grounds that are well kept. My breakfast was included but I didn't eat at the hotel as I always prefer to explore and try different places. Wifi was hit and miss but this is common in Central America. This is a very good option and I would highly recommend. Just one negative which didn't bother me, but there was a bar or nightclub which appeared to be next door or close by. I can sleep through a warzone but if you are a light sleeper you may struggle. Just be mindful having travelled much of Central and South America that roads can be isolated at night and not always safe. This is close enough even for a single traveller to be able to go out in the evening as you are less than 5 minutes from all the main restaurants. I was travelling in Central America for a while and this was the third and best hotel for me in Antigua.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Ahat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rudy Hernandez , Director General at Hotel La Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2022

Thank you very much for your review, which by the way; describe in a perfect detailed way everything about us, such a description deserve well be part of a traveler's magazine article, because contain all the necesary information what the travelers want to do know in advance before to make a very good decision.
We are so glad to confirm you have a wonderful staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2022

What a beautiful quaint boutique hotel. You feel like you are in Spain or Italy. Best location ever, half a block to cathedral and town center plaza, multiple restaurants and bars to walk to. Luscious courtyard and roof top with multiple comfortable, shade seating areas. Our king size room was absolutely stunning, very large comfortable bed, lockable safe, English TV, drinking water in room, super dark and quite at night. The bathroom has everything you need, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, hairdryer. They changed towels and cleaned room every day. You do not need AC and every room has an adjustable attic fan inlet. The included breakfast was very good with multiple choices, they even where able to accommodate a dairy free selection, bonus! Everyone at the hotel speaks English and is very nice and accommodating. They gave us a map of Antigua and marked historic sites and restaurant/bar locations. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rudy Hernandez , Director General at Hotel La Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2022

There isn't a better possible way to describe the Hotel in the way you do, thank you very much for such a kind and beautiful way to share the wonderful stay you have had with us.
It will be our pleasure to have you again here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews