We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
68
26
12
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
26
12
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cornbread whaling museum working windmill inner workings grist mill tour guide worth a visit cornmeal engineering mills grind milled history town wheel island enthusiasts
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Engineering marvel and great historic significance of the island. The staff at the mill was full of local historic knowledge as well as engineering knowledge on the inner workings of this impressive machine. Kids enjoyed it. Also with the Pass $6 adult, $3 for youth (6-17) and free for children. Gets you into 6 other historic sites on the island for the entire season. Last but not least this mill is operational and they grind up corn and bag it for souvenirs but is it human grade consumable, so one could make corn bread or muffins from it. Learn where "Three sheets to the wind", "been through the mill", "Mill/milling around", "mill about", "Run-of-the-mill", to name a few came about.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

I loved the tour of the Old Mill. The tour guide was quite passionate about the history and the workings of the Mill. I highly recommend the tour. It is educational and fascinating. It is something I will remember forever.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

This 1746 constructed mill is reported by the Old Mill guide to be 1000 AD mill design construction technique, presumably imported from Medieval Europe.

The weather vanes can be mounted and the mill can actually function. It's an amazing machine that is well worth a 30 minute visit on Nantucket. The grinding machine, wooden gear cog construction and large external wheel that can rotate the mill are fascinating. A tribute to pre-industrial revolution engineering!

The mill, windmill and rotating top are preserved immaculately.

Tour guides are inside the structure.

As part of an NHA property, purchase a ticket at the excellent Nantucket Whaling Museum on Broad Street. This provides access to all of these little gems of properties all around town.

Well worth 30 minutes of your precious island time!!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank jm2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Nice mill but the windmills were not attached when we were there in early May. The mill was not open to the public when we were there. There are times that it is working and we would have loved to see it operating.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Rented bikes to see the 5 main attractions included in our whaling museum ( even though they were all closed for the season) We were tryumpant on our arrival ( got lost along the way but had many laughs along the way as well) took pictures then on our way to the next one

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank hleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews