We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best place for sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi by Yoshi

Sushi by Yoshi
Ranked #74 of 137 Restaurants in Nantucket
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Needham
Level Contributor
158 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“The best place for sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have been going to this little hole in the wall for many years! By far some of the best sushi outside of Japan! BYOB!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

When you're in Nantucket and feel the need to escape Nantucket's outlandish prices, over-the-top charm, and the somewhat creepy sense that you're on an island with the select people that the recession will never reach, Sushi by Yoshi is your place. The food is terrific, especially the sushi and the miso soup, the atmosphere is noisy-crowded-slapped together, and the prices are reasonable, for Nantucket that is.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kwellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite sushi in Nantucket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

My family and I love this restaurant. The prices are great (especially compared to a majority of the island's restaurants, which can be rather expensive) and the sushi is always delicious. They also offer take out, so you can pick up sushi and bring your dinner to the beach to watch the sunset!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CEC921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BYOB Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Yummy sushi in a very small, cute space. It was busy on a Friday night. There were 4 of us and we arrived around 7:30pm and had to wait about 45 minutes to be seated. There is no room inside so we waited out on the street. We mostly ordered maki rolls. The waiter made a mistake with one of our rolls and many of the rolls had a spicy sauce on them which was not listed on the menu. This was not a huge deal for us but may be for someone that is more picky. The sushi was fresh and tasty, and I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chrish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite place on island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We have been to Yoshi's many times and have never been disappointed. My favorite seat is at the bar looking into the kitchen. You can watch the skill and craftsmanship of Chef Yoshi as he prepares meals. This is a BYOB restaurant, the wine shop is just down the street. If you go, you must try the Miso soup.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ksmith3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi by Yoshi also viewed

 
Nantucket, MA
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to Sushi by Yoshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing