We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
351
72
35
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
72
35
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brant point grill harbor view room bedroom cottage children's beach box of chocolates off season the cottages fabulous experience luxury hotel in town gas fireplace charming hotel complimentary shuttle called the front desk beautiful room main building the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The atmosphere in this establishment is very friendly and welcoming. Bar staff knowledgeable and accommodating.
I would recommend this for afternoon drinks.
Although we have not eaten there the menu is extensive.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ingridt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

I hated to leave the White Elephant. I have stayed here before and my last trip this month didn’t disappoint. The resort is beautifully decorated and offers all the peace you need. Coffee w/danish in the am as well as a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon was so appreciated. Every staff member I came across was friendly and accommodating. The rooms are updated and very clean. Love the bar and restaurant on site options. Location is perfect and within walking distance to shops. My only feedback would be to slash prices on menu items and cocktails during the off season.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank runskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Rather a disappointing stay. Restaurant is very basic and in need of refurbishment, it was windy so the dirty plastic sides were down which didn’t help the ambiance. Perhaps this place works in summer but certainly not in October.
We asked for a take out breakfast for 7am- we’d paid for breakfast on second day, as we were taking an early morning ferry but no chance nothing offered as kitchen doesn’t open till 8am! This place is expensive! But can’t accommodate a simple task!
The complimentary sugary muffins are available from 6 am, who wants that?
Perhaps the cold wet weather didn’t help but this is an outdoor hotel with very little comfort indoors.
The staff tried their best but most of desk staff couldn’t really cared less and appeared fed up, maybe management needs to step in.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SheilajgUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear SheilajgUk;

Thank you for sharing some details of your recent visit with us here. Nantucket in the Fall is considered one of our most serene and precious times of the season, since the crowds have dissipated and it is so pleasant. It seems that perhaps it may have been too quiet for you. Of course if the weather doesn't cooperate it always makes things more difficult. For those that wonder what one would do here in October: In addition to the restaurant, we do have our indoor bar, our pretty Library as well. Often our October guests explore the island by bike and do some amazing shopping (sales galore) in town after checking out the Whaling Museum. Our prices for hotel rooms start at $225 per night in October and we feature a two course lunch for $25 (yes, with choices) and a three course dinner for $39 (also with choices). Breakfast indeed does start at 8AM, although complimentary Coffee, Tea, pastries (muffins, croissants, banana bread) starts at 6AM. Room Service begins at 7AM. We do offer a door hanger inside each room so that we can deliver breakfast when you determine the evening before, as early as 7AM.

I do hope you try us again sometime, and please reach out to me personally to arrange your stay. I am glad you came and wish you a wonderful rest of the year.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Biggest standout were the staff; always professional, always polite, always ready to extend a personal touch.

Would have give 5 stars except for the check in / check out timing...

We were unable to get into our room until 10 minutes before the stated 3pm check in, which would have been fine except that, when we requested an extended check out (beyond the stated 11 am), we were told that we could only be extended until 11:30 because other guests were arriving for our room. ... Uh ... It should take 4-1/2 hours to ready a room ... ya can’t have it both ways.

Either hire more cleaning staff or work with the existing staff to accomplish a shorter turn around time without compromising quality.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank OG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear OG1010;

Thank you for taking the time to visit us! Check in and out times are tricky aren't they? We would love to say that we can always get everyone into the rooms when they arrive, but like most hotels, our check-out time is 11AM and check-in time is 3PM. When the rooms are ready early, we will absolutely not make anyone wait. We always offer to store luggage and let our guests use our property and amenities on the day of arrival and departure at any time.

I am glad you enjoyed the staff and the hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Customer service was great. Great location. Concierge was very helpful. Close to the beach and town
They pick you up at the ferry and also drop off.
They have a car that will drop you around the town or drop you off at a beach

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SuzanB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear SuzanB56;

Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you had a wonderful time. Thank you for bringing up our transportation options. We do pick up and drop off at all the High Speed Ferries. There seem to be more and more of them, so its always good to let us know which one you are coming on. Our Courtesy vehicles will drop our guests off in town as well as at Jetties or Steps Beach, which are somewhat nearby. We offer complimentary passes to the Nantucket Wave, our wonderful Island transit service, which gets you anywhere else on the island.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews