We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Experience Ever”
Review of White Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Elephant
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience Ever”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

There is not a better travel experience in the world than staying at the White Elephant anytime of the year. I have stayed at the finest hotels all around the world and nothing compares to the White Elephant. I first discovered this hotel about 7 years ago through a friend's recommendation. I now return every year and have upped my visits to twice a year. If I could make it more often, I would. The White Elephant takes care of every guest to the fullest extent. The rooms are wonderful and the staff is phenomenal. There isn't a bad room in the hotel. From the courtesy van rides to and from the ferry to restaurant recommendations to inside information on all things Nantucket, every person working at the White Elephant is there to help. If ever there is a problem, every member of the staff is there to fix it and make sure your visit is perfect. I am ready to book this year's visits and hope I can make it more than twice this year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colo_Prosecutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Colo_Prosecutor

Thank you for posting your review! It is nice to see that you are coming back yearly! We so appreciate that.

Please let me know when you come back to stay with us this year!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    56
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
86
210
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Our family went there for a 3 night stay just before the high season and are thinking about going back every year from now on. At the time our son was 4 months old and we had an amazing time. We had a very difficult time finding a place to stay with a child that young and were so glad we found The White Elephant. If you have an infant I wouldn't even consider anywhere else.

I could go on for days, but, I'll break it down into Pro's and Con's:

Pro's:
- They met us at the Ferry and ushered us directly to our hotel with no fuss
- When we got to our room they had a crib ready with a travel kit for babies, extra diapers and a stuffed elephant toy
- The rooms were awesome, very luxurious, we stayed in a Guest Suite on the first floor and it was perfect as it had
- Concierge was awesome and recommended the best places, the most amazing being this awesome sandwich shop about a mile up the hills into the residential neighborhood, just perfect.
- The entire staff was awesome for that matter, outstanding service.
- Room service food was excellent
- Location was great, walking distance to the main town and all the stores and dining.

Con's
- none
- maybe you could complain about the price during the high season, but, in the off season I felt we got our money's worth and then some.

I think you get the point, it was amazing. We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: Get a Ground Floor Guest Suite, in the courtyard with the lounges, if you are traveling with a child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Learned_TravelParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Learned_TravelParent

Thank you for posting your review of the White Elephant. I am happy to see that your travels with the little one were successful! It certainly can be daunting! Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I spent Thanksgiving and through the weekend on Nantucket, staying at the White Elephant. From the courtesy van driver Bartek meeting us at the Ferry, right through our greeting by Kelly at the front desk and all the service staff, especially Ramon in the dining room and the fun bartender, Celina, we felt welcomed. We've been to Nantucket many times over the past 35 years and we must say, this was one of the best visits ever! We hope to be fortunate enough to stay there again in the future and highly recommend the hotel. Happy Holidays, Pat & Bill.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Patricia and Bill;

Thank you for sharing your Thanksgiving experience with others on Tripadvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and were able to experience the White Elephant and Nantucket during this magical time of year.

We hope you make it an annual visit!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for three days over Thanksgiving, and most everything was fine.
Upon arrival at the ferry, however, the overwhelmed courtesy van driver had no room available for my wife and I in a way-too-small van, and when I asked him the distance to the hotel, he announced 10-15 minutes. Conveying no options and zero sympathy, this congenitally-sullen fellow proved entirely unhelpful, and so we hailed a taxi.
Check-in was perfect, ably handled by Kelly (a real gem, and a pro).) Food was great at Brant Grill on T'giving Day.
The early-morning, inattentive (and strange) attendant, by the way, could barely be disturbed from his internet surfing long enough to answer a question as to where one might secure coffee.
During our last night (we booked an upscale, harbor-view room), a family with children moved in above us, and our previous peace and quiet was turned on its head. Upon calling the front desk to report the running and jumping above us, the staffer indicated he was unaware children were in that room (?). At any rate, I questioned the judgment of domiciling children in a second floor room above a luxury suite, but he never conceded the point. The noise did stop, however. What did I get in return for the trouble? A baseball hat.
So, is the White Elephant world class? Let's put it this way: My own world-wide travel experience over many years would generously place this establishment in the B minus category.

Room Tip: Second floor, harbor-side, most desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Clark H;

Thank you for sharing your observations on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Please accept our apologies for any missteps in picking you up at the ferry as well as in the manner our overnight clerk behaved.

We do hope to see you again in the future and we are glad that there were many things you enjoyed about your visit.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We recently stayed at the White Elephant during our first trip to Nantucket. Despite the fact that it was low season, the service was still top notch. We were picked up in a courtesy van and were given some helpful island tips from the gentleman who picked us up. This gentleman, I think his name is Bartick (sp), was one of the highlights in a stand-out staff. he suggested that we rent a jeep and take it out to great point (which was the best part of the trip). When we got to the hotel, to our surprise we were upgraded to a suite. Everyone at the hotel was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very nice (comfortable and well decorated). The only minus of the entire stay was that the shower could have been cleaner, but this was easily overlooked as the rest of the room(s) were wonderful. In the same manner, why is it no one asks you at check out if everything was okay with your stay? We would have told them kindly about the shower, had they. The balcony overlooked the water which was stunning. The bed was very comfortable. The fact that it was a little slower part of the season added to the individualized attention we were paid. The hotel even gave us a take home bag, with cold waters and granola bars for the ferry ride back. We left stunned...and thinking that we would most definitely be returning sometime soon. Also, no need to rent a car, all shops and eateries were in walking distance to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodestraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Rhodestra...
Thank you for the wonderful review. I apologize for the shortcoming in cleanliness in the shower. It is certainly not the norm and we are re-grouting all of our bathrooms this winter, so any appearance issues should be resolved.
It is nice to hear about all the things you loved about your stay and we are looking forward to having you here again.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.4 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
9.5 km away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
4.2 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Property: White Elephant
Address: 50 Easton St, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-2258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing