We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A cozy winter stay on Nantucket” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherburne Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sherburne Inn
Ranked #6 of 42 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A cozy winter stay on Nantucket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have been wrong before, but usually I can tell in a phone call what sort of experience I can expect at a hotel or B&B, and the Sherburne Inn was no exception. From our first contact to make a reservation, my partner and I had a pretty good idea that we would find friendliness and genuine hospitality there, and we did. The owner, Susan, was not there when we arrived, which usually is a bad sign, but not this time. We walked into the beautiful old house to find classical music playing, and tea and cookies set out. It was as if the house wrapped itself around us and said, "Come on in!" We placed a call on the house phone, and Susan promptly answered, explaining that she was a bit delayed but would be there in 20 minutes. She told us to go on into our room and make ourselves at home.

We stayed in Room Two, which, though small, was ultra clean and comfortable. The bed was like sleeping in a cloud and contained the kind of high-quality sheets and comforter that always make us wonder why we don't buy them for our bed at home! The inn is situated in a quiet area just a short walk from the ferry docks, and an equally short walk to the center of town. We had never been to Nantucket before, and although December is obviously a very quiet time, we have to say it felt magical there, with the town fully decorated for Christmas.

Our stay was unfortunately only for one night, but Susan provided helpful tips on how to make the most of it. Because it was the off-season, the breakfast baskets were not provided, so we can't comment on those, but we imagine, based on everything else during our stay, that they are a nice touch. It's clear that Susan enjoys sharing a very special place with others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    30
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
167
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Two exhausted travellers, after a gruelling 10 days in Boston and New York, arrived travelworn and wilted: the greeting and welcome was perfect balm. Our room was extremely light, and impeccably clean (and remained in this condition for our three days), and Sue (our host) could not have been more helpful, informative, and caring. Although being low season, and no breakfast was available, Nantucket offers many different breakfast possibilities all within less than 5 minutes reach from Sherburne so this was not a problem.
There was a sun-deck, and we were lucky enough to have sunshine! so we enjoyed our complimentary afternoon tea, with a book, in the sunshine. And by the way, Sue's cookies are absolutely exceptional! Normally, my husband and I don't indulge, but this was one temptation we could not resist.
Of needs, I travelled without my PC, and Sue was kind enough to check us in for our retun flight to the UK and print the boarding passes too.
And Sherburne is an easy walk to everywhere, and everything - including the wonderful restaurant DUNE which boasts a quieter space upstairs too.
Our stay was everything I had hoped it would be and much more. We'll definitely visit again.
Nel and Kevin Coates

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We are *very* happy with our choice of a B&B for our visit to Nantucket this October. We waited until the last minute to book to make sure the weather would be good. We pick Sherburne for the good Tripadvisor reviews and the 25% discount they were offering during their quiet season. Nantucket doesn't allow B&Bs to provide cooked breakfasts (eggs, etc.) so we were happy to forgo the breakfast basket and use the savings to hit some of the fantastic restaurants in Nantucket. The room (named "Romantic") was a queen on the second floor. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was small, very clean and had lots of hot water. There was a common room outside our room which was comfortable and might be nice if you were traveling with a group. They have a reasonable selection of DVDs, wireless internet, etc. The Inn is located a block from Centre street and is only a 5-10 minute walk from everything. Very quiet at night. Coffee/tea in the morning and afternoon - along with yummy cookies. Susan, the owner, is friendly, has good suggestions for trips about the island, restaurants, bike rentals, etc.

Nantucket is quiet in late October - many of the restaurants are closed, but there are a lot still open and, if the weather is good, lots of things to do (we mainly biked along the miles of trails).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Sherburne Inn was a cute place that was close enough to the dock so that we walked with rolling luggage, but far enough from the shoppers and dock traffic to be very quiet. Queen bed was really comfortable, and the atmosphere and decor was splendid. Music in the public areas was relaxing and beautiful. The Jamaican maid, Kellee, was a pleasure to talk to, and hopefully will be back next summer. The owner, Susan, was very pleasant and helpful.

We went for one of the less expensive rooms (#3), and it was really small. The bathroom seemed to be a converted closet; there was only room enough to stand. Your feet were in the same spot of the floor whether you were using the toilet, using the sink, or stepping into the shower. Sitting on the toilet, your knees were under the tiny sink. The shower would not have accommodated a heavyset person.

Another disappointment was that the continental breakfasts ended the weekend before we got there. This was unclear on the website, as we thought we would get some refreshment from the hotel, although we knew that it would be light.

Having said all this, I would stay there again, but might try a different room.

The highlight of our stay was renting mopeds and riding around the island. What a blast! A double was $100, and was worth every cent. Once we got out onto the roads, we realized that had were rented bicycles instead, we would not have seen nearly as much of the island as we were able to see on mopeds (too long a ride for a bike to go to both ends of the island).

We took a bus tour the following day (Barrets), and it was a real letdown! The female driver (she said that she was born on the island), read her script from a book while she was driving. She did not know what some of the abbreviations she was reading meant, and said, "something, something, whatever." She was also vague about what we were seeing -- should we look right or left out of the bus? I did not find some of the points of interest she was speaking about. We had purchased these tour tickets from the Steamship Ferry ticket counter (fast boat) in Hyannis, because they were discounted from $25 to $20 if were bought them on the mainland. This was a mistake, and I would recommend that you pass this offer up. There was another bus tour service on the island, and it may have been better; I have no information on that.

Nantucket half closes down after Columbus Day. We were there the day after Columbus day, and many restaurants had closed for the season. That was a disappointment. Consider this in your travel date planning.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floor hear the plumbing from the upper floor rooms (i.e. when they flush the toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

On their website it said the room that I booked was large enough for three people and included continental breakfast. The room was barely large enough for one person not to mention three. There was no continental breakfast even though they left a sign in the bedroom that a basket would be delivered to your room between 8-8:30 am. I was so disappointed as we went there to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was not a good experience. They charge way too much for what you got. Shame on the innkeepers. I could not get out of there quick enough. I never saw a public area where you could sit and have tea or a glass of wine. I am so sorry I booked there as it was suppose to be a special weekend for my husband and it was not.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniels2010, Owner at Sherburne Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
I feel so disappointed when any of our guests are unhappy with their Nantucket visit.
It is a rare occurrence and the first of this season that we know about.
No doubt there is a lot of information to take in when visiting Nantucket for the first time. Since we are open year-round, we have seasonal changes in rates, amenities, and special offers. I believe our guests may not have understood the differences in these seasonal changes.
I know we could have made this birthday visit a happier event had we known of our guests' wishes. We would have gladly made an exception to our Quiet Season amenities to include a Sherburne Inn Breakfast Basket that would have appeared at the door with special birthday wishes!

We are a small, friendly, intimate property that is open year-round and distinguishes itself by being welcoming and attentive to each of our guests without being overly intrusive.
Please don't miss our common area parlors with fireplaces on each floor perfect for gathering with friends or quiet reading, our computer work station next to our DVD library, our popular sundeck for sipping wine, and our beautifully manicured yard and garden to be enjoy by all - weather permitting.
Oh and one more fact, room #1 does in every way accommodate three people - two in a four-poster, handcarved queen bed, and one in a pullout loveseat/twin bed with private bath. If you have an questions or special requests, please let us know!
We truly want you to have the best time on our wonderful island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.5 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
0.4 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.6 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherburne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherburne Inn

Property: Sherburne Inn
Address: 10 Gay Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherburne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic Inn, offering 8 spacious rooms with king or queen 4 poster beds, private baths and garden views. Each room includes luxury linens and amenities, central AC, free Wifi, extensive continental breakfast daily, nightly wine tastings and full concierge. Conveniently located on a quiet street, just one block from the shops and restaurants. Easy walk from either ferry. Experience the true essence of Nantucket and join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sherburne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherburne Inn, Nantucket Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing