We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #10 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Overnight getaway”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I had a chance to take a one-night trip to Nantucket at the end of March and stayed at this lovely and comfortable inn. There is so much to enjoy and appreciate about the Carlisle House - its proximity to the town and ferries, its wonderfully named rooms and suites, and the fabulous breakfast prepared by Heather, the innkeeper. We stayed in the Tom Nevers room, on the third floor. It was clean and comfortable and provided a glimpse of Nantucket Harbor! We highly recommend the Carlisle House Inn, and we look forward to returning there.

Room Tip: The Tom Nevers room did not have a fireplace, but I believe there are several rooms that do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatBookLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    36
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
88
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norton, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Carlise House in March. We stayed in the Sankaty suite which had a working fireplace. I highly recommend this for an off season stay. The room was warm and heated, but the fire each night at bedtime made it wonderful. The location is perfect. Easily walkable to everything, but not in the middle of everything. Heather puts out a very delicious spread of breakfast items each morning. Home baked breads, popovers, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals. She also gave us some great recommendations for dinners out. (I highly recommend the Dune restuarant) As with all old B&B's the floors were creaky, walls are thin, but the decor and furnishings were very stylish. Very comfortable bed! Furnishings are not over the top victorian and over crowded as some places are. Hot showers, welcoming common areas, and very clean!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Carlisle offers everything you could look for during a Nantucket getaway...the ambience is warm, and the decoration in keeping with the antique nature of the former 18th century Nantucket private residence. The accomodations are clean and well kept as are the shared areas which include an inviting sitting room replete with books about the island, the breakfast porch which is well stocked in the morning with homebaked goods, fresh fruit and other continental goodies. Heather is welcoming, generous and knowledgeable about where to eat, visit, etc. furnishing plenty of materials to read up on local dining spots, cultural events and sites. The location could not be more ideal for walking to/from the ferry as well as the center of town--the icing on the cake was a working fireplace in our room, Cisco, which only further enhanced our romantic, quiet winter get-away...Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Carlisle House Inn is a perfect B&B for your Nantucket getaway. It's located on a cobblestoned street easily walkable to/from the ferry and Main St. shopping and restaurants. The reception area is very welcoming, bright, and cheery. The breakfast porch is sunny and cozy. The floors are creaky and crooked; a charming touch to the old home. We stayed in the Tom Nevers room with a comfy king bed, beautiful pine floors, and a large bath with a shower and tub! The inn is squeaky clean!
Thanks Heather for your hospitality, your yummy blueberry coffeecake and freshly-brewed coffee, and your charming old inn!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at The Carlisle House Inn. We were greeted by Heather, the owner, and her wonderful pumpkin bread. Our room, The Tom Nevers, was located on the third floor and was clean, lovely and spacious. The Inn is a short walk to the center of town and Heather supplied us with directions as well as many different menus from the local restaurants. The breakfast was plentiful with a wonderful choice of foods....yogurt, fruit salad, bagels, cereals, banana and pumpkin bread as well as homemade popovers! I would highly recommend this Inn for a relaxing, quiet stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
4.3 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
266 reviews
0.2 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
0.4 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.1 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 km away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#4 of 38 in Nantucket
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Property: The Carlisle House Inn
Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing