We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Skopje!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arka
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Skopje
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Skopje!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here during a city break to Skopje. Hotel is in a great location, right next to the old town, and a short walk to the Stone Bridge, Macedonia Square, etc. Okay, so its 5-star rating isn't comparable with the scale we're used to in western Europe, but nevertheless, this is a clean, well-appointed hotel. Rooms have all the usual amenities (although note that the lights are controlled by a remote control - when entering your room at night, locate it BEFORE you close the room door behind you!!). There's a buffet breakfast inlcuded in the rate - nothing special, but a good selection (and a great view from the top floor pool bar where it's served). Didn't sample any of the other facilities, but if I found myself in Skopje again, would I stay here? Yes!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    39
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
11
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bordeaux
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Ok, a lot of reviews underline the hotel's location, supposed to be in a weird or unpleasant area of town. So I was on my guard upon our arrival at the hotel. I would say that the hotel is certainly located in the most typical part of town, surrounded by mosques and old low buildings. One of the reviewers mentionned he didn't enjoy being stared at whenever he would get to or leave the hotel. I believe this "staring" by the locals is just a mark of interest, I never felt it to be aggressive in any way. Other areas of Skopje are, in my opinion, less interesting and perhaps more dangerous than the Old Town around Bitpazarska.
The hotel is very modern, and very easy to spot from just about anywhere in the city.(makes it easy to find your way back) It is very close to remains of the city walls and numerous points of interest including Mosques, small shops, local markets, museums, restaurants and food joints. As stated in other reviews please hold on to your wallet and valuables upon crossing the Stonebridge, where young pickpockets operate, sometimes quite aggressively. Fortunately, one of the hotel's plusses is that it offers in-room individual safes (at least my room - 606 -had one).
My room was fairly big, with all the usual amenities expected in an upper class hotel, including toothbrush and toothpaste, a fairly rare find even in luxury hotels. Employees were talkative and courteous and most of them spoke very good English. Breakfast is very good, with Ajvar (local specialty) and other specialties available, as well as standard ""western" food.
From what I have seen, there are several parking spaces in front of the hotel.
The negative points include a pool that is only "decorative" as one of the employee told us, and this is somewhat deceptive, considering what's shown on the hotel's website. Also in my room, the bedcover was not spotless, with a few stains. But overall, the room was clean.
Too bad the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.
A final word for Ohrid. If you have a day, go there. It's 170 km away from Skopje, and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-u-Lyme
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

I stayed here for just one night so am basing my opinion and views on just that. The only word I can think to describe this place is 'weird'. It's weirdly located, does things weirdly and 'feels' weird. It's walkable from the railway station but is sited down an alleyway near to a bazaar, although not as difficult to find as it might sound. Check-in's quick although not over-friendly. The room, however, requires an explanation all of its own.

As is usually the way the lights and so on only work if there's a keycard in the slot provided. The difficulty comes about as a result of the lights being operated by a remote control, which you've got to find before you can switch them on. Not easy in a dark room where you don't know what you're looking for.... The air-con, whilst powerful, is overly loud and does not create a sound sleeping environment. Most bizarre is the hotel's practice of playing 90s dance music via the corridor speakers at a fair volume until about 10pm - not ideal if you've got to be up at the crack of dawn?! Finally the windowcleaner came round before 7am the next morning - not ideal if you fancy a lie-in.

Would I visit Skopje again? No. Would I stay here again if I did? No. It's just weird, and not a particularly cheap weird either.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

I stayed in Arks for two nights on a business trip. The hotel is nice but nowhere near as nice as on the website. The location is interesting as it is on the edge of the old quarter of the city and some 10-15 minutes walk to the main square. Rooms are spacious and clean. The swimming pool was not working, although you could have breakfast around it with great views of the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivankcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

This is a really good qulaity hotel made such by the staff who are freindly and helpful. It's situated in the old town (Turkish part) aacross the river from the main square. Good quiet location lots going on retsaurants bars etc. Quite cheap too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonywilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.0 km away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 km away
BH Hotel Hamburg
BH Hotel Hamburg
#23 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 km away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#8 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Gold
Hotel Gold
#20 of 69 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arka

Property: Hotel Arka
Address: Bitpazarska 90/2, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Skopje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arka 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arka is a modern and contemporary hotel located in the historic nucleus of Skopje's Old Bazaar, within walking distance from the city center and all major tourist attractions. Located behind the main boulevard, Hotel Arka is on the borderline with the culturally protected area of the Old City, within the walking proximity to most tourist attractions and the city center. Business travelers prefer us because of the easy access to city center and the chance to experience the different aspects of the city in a short period of time. Tourists stay with us because we are just footsteps away from the main tourist points in the city: the Old Bazaar, Fortress Kale, Stone Bridge, Main Square, Museum of Macedonia etc. And we give you our word that our stylish rooftop bar offers the best views of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arka Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing