We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depth in Server Skill”
Review of 30Boltwood

30Boltwood
Reserve with OpenTable
30Boltwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 116 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring Street
Description: 30Boltwood delivers an intimate yet unassuming dining experience in historic Amherst, MA. Simply prepared meals crafted by Chef Dino and inspired by the abundance of locally-sourced ingredients. 30Boltwood is a gathering place where old friends and new acquaintances quietly sip cocktails by the fire and celebrate all that is great about food, drink and camaraderie.
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Though the food was excellent, the high point on this visit was the ingredients-knowledge of both the server and the shift manager. Gluten sensitivity -- not celiac, but sensitive -- is an issue for my companion, and bothe the server and his manager made sure we understood what was a TRACE vs. a LOT of wheat. This restaurant is systemically GF on several dishes, and creative in alternative preparation for several others. And, beyond all this, the cocktails are imaginative and tasty and the entrees are cooked with diner preferences in mind.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnhA3674EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at 30Boltwood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear johnhA3674EL,
Thank you for trusting in our staff to produce safe and quality meals for the both of you! We understand the seriousness of allergies and sensitivities, and we are more than willing to accommodate for such concerns. As for the cocktails, while we pride ourselves in fresh ingredients in our menu, this does not exclude the cocktail menu! Our bartenders are incredibly talented in their abilities to concoct creative and delicious beverages. We invite you to return to 30Boltwood soon to try one of our newest creations!
All My Best,
Amanda Long, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

There was confusion with our reservation which we made through Open Table. 30 Boltwood was wonderful straightening that out. We had a mid afternoon Thanksgiving dinner.

I loved my appetizer. Had turkey, mush potatoes & delicious veggies. Pumpkins custard was heavenly.

We'll come back. Even though the room was full, we could still have a good conversation at the table.

Thank Wolfspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at 30Boltwood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear wolfspark,
We are so glad that we were able to straighten out your Thanksgiving reservation! Thanksgiving is one of our favorite holidays here at 30Boltwood and the Lord Jeffery Inn—with potatoes, vegetables, turkey and pumpkin sourced locally from farms right here in Western Massachusetts, you can’t beat the fresh selection. Thank you for choosing to spend your Thanksgiving with us here in 30Boltwood, and we hope to see you for many more occasions in the years to come!
Best,
Amanda Long, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Too fancy. Love the place and its ambience, but pate+ on an English muffin is the sandwich? Wish it were a little less hoity-toity.

Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Shoutout to the staff: Marissa, McKenzie and Garrett. Very accommodating. Food tasty. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Love the copper top tables too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ATourneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at 30Boltwood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hello ATourneu,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire experience with us dining in 30Boltwood! We will be sure to pass on your kind regards to Marissa, McKenzie and Garrett—we pride ourselves in excellent service and we are pleased to hear that these key staff members executed that well for you. We hope to see you back again soon!
All My Best,
Amanda Long, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The food was wonderful all around, from the complimentary amuse-bouche to the potato leek soup to the entrees. I had a delicious pork chop which was done perfectly, accented with a flavorful sauce, and served on just the right amount of freekeh. Husband had the house pasta dish, which I though sounded very basic when he ordered it, but they elevated it with a very tasty ham and a sauce that wasn't too heavy. (I believe there were wild mushrooms in there too.) The service was perfect. Attentive without being in our faces. A bit loud as we were seated in the bar area - can't blame them for that, but it misses 5 stars from me because our table was right next to the kitchen with no partition between us and the doorway. They were busy, but the door was constantly opening and closing, and it took a bit of the romance out of the evening to have the constant distraction. That said, nice to find such a great place in Amherst. Would definitely go back if in the area again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at 30Boltwood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Michael S,
What a wonderful description of your meal here at 30Boltwood—thank you for your glowing review! We, too, love the locally-sourced potato leek soup, and Chef does an incredible job with the pork chops. We hope that our attentive service rounded out the meal that you enjoyed, and we hope to provide you with another memorable experience sometime soon!
Best,
Amanda Long, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 30Boltwood also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to 30Boltwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing