We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran cena maridaje en Caliope”
Review of Caliope

Caliope
Ranked #6 of 1,272 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: International
Description: An adventure in gastronomy awaits you at "Caliope," Casco Viejo's first Farm-to-Table dining experience. Panama's newest and most creative culinary experience delivers international fusion that sources fresh and delicious local ingredients. Chef, Martino TK - trained in Italy'sTK - has teamed up with Chef Pierre De Janon of Tantalo Kitchen to provide a unique, gastronomic adventure. (Caliope also features a New York-style artisanal cocktail menu, and an eclectic wine list.) Be among the first to experience Caliope, destined to be the finest dining experience all of Central America. Caliope accepts reservations and holds a limited number of tables for walk-ins.
Restaurant details
Description: An adventure in gastronomy awaits you at "Caliope," Casco Viejo's first Farm-to-Table dining experience. Panama's newest and most creative culinary experience delivers international fusion that sources fresh and delicious local ingredients. Chef, Martino TK - trained in Italy'sTK - has teamed up with Chef Pierre De Janon of Tantalo Kitchen to provide a unique, gastronomic adventure. (Caliope also features a New York-style artisanal cocktail menu, and an eclectic wine list.) Be among the first to experience Caliope, destined to be the finest dining experience all of Central America. Caliope accepts reservations and holds a limited number of tables for walk-ins.
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We have visited Caliope several times it was always perfect. The service and the food are very specialfor us this is the place to go to when there is a spezial occasion.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank rockyaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayanasutilm, Public Relations Manager at Caliope, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rockyaner,

Thank you for coming and for choosing Caliope for special occasions.
It is a pleasure to serve you and to make your feel like home everytime you come.

We hope you have more special occasions to come :)


Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

knowing how good the past special event and pairing nights were we jumped on the chance to go to the 19 crimes paring night - and we were not disappointed - as always the food was delicious, the wine paired really well with the food and the ambiance and service were superb

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank TD-Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayanasutilm, Public Relations Manager at Caliope, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tom,

Hope this answer finds you well!
Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to have you back.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Had dinner at Caliope last Friday and we were thoroughly impressed with the abience, decor, food and prices. Coming from Toronto and used to eating in large North American urban centres, we found the entrees to be good sized portions and well priced. Loved the vibe of the restaurant and the open kitchen was full of amazing smells of cooking seafood. Mmmmmm. We decided to have a cocktail (priced $7-$8) when we arrived and then a very well prices Albarino (under $30) with our meal. We decided to share 3 entrees instead of opting for a few shared apps and our own main. We were not disappointed.

We had the Cédula Tres ($22) which is perfectly cooked seabass on a risotto of lemon, coconut cream and candied ginger. Spectacularly delicious. Then we progressed to the Carbón Ardiente ($25) which was perfectly cooked and grilled octopus with chili and clams, So good. Then finished with Belly Dance( $22). Pork belly on pureed cauliflower and a salad of fennel. A perfect end. Highly recommended if you want to experience modern Panamanian cooking with a global influence.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayanasutilm, Public Relations Manager at Caliope, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sandra,

We love to receive people from all over the globe and enjoy different perspectives of Caliope's experience, thank you for sharing yours and for visiting us, the team will be really happy to read your review.

As you may know, the dishes your ordered are part of our signature menu. It means that even our carta changes, those dishes always stay and they'd been in the menu since we opened; We are very glad to know you found them well cooked and delicious.

Looking forward to have you back soon,
Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

We had dinner here our first night in Panama City and what a dinner it was! We sat at the bar to avoid a large, noisy party in the main part of the dining room and it was a great choice. We had the fun of watching all the food prep - although the chefs and nearby bartenders were hustling the whole time, there was always time for a smile or assistance with the menu when we needed it.

We shared the ravioli appetizer and both had the signature short ribs which were incredible. Thus would have been plenty of food, but they also treated us to an antipasto tray, eggplant dip with bread and a lovely mango sorbet. We were so full but wanted to try a desssert as well and managed to find a corner for the soursop ice cream dish.

We cannot say enough about our wonderful experience at Caliope. A very nice touch was the chefs coming around to our side of the counter to talk to us, explaining a dish or helping us make selections. So warm and friendly.

We sat beside a gentleman who visits Panama frequently. Caliope is his first stop every time and we certainly understand why!

2  Thank LittleIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayanasutilm, Public Relations Manager at Caliope, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear LittleIgor,

It is such a pleasure to read your words. We love to accommodate our guests and to make them feel like home.
The chef's bar is our favorite part of the restaurant because it's a different and fun experience; I'm pretty sure the team will definitely put on a big smile when reading your thoughts.

We hope your come back in a near future and to show you more of Caliope's experience.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Great food, great attention, great ambiance. we would have like that there was more food on the plate, the taste was divine.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank imcfib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayanasutilm, Public Relations Manager at Caliope, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Imcfib,

Thank you for coming and for your comments!
We are very glad to kno you had a wonderful time with us.
Hope you visit back anytime soon (Next week we'll release a new menu)


Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caliope also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Caliope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing