We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and spacious”
Review of Hotel El Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Panama
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Safe and spacious”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at the El Panama slightly off season. Not very crowded. The swimmingpool was beautiful and the room very spacious. The best part was the outstanding breakfast buffet which had it all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alptech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    268
    183
    76
    58
See reviews for
191
183
54
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We arrived Dec 16 after 11:00 PM because of a flight delay. Check in time is at 3:00 PM so we were sure everything was ready for us. It was almost impossible to communicate with the front desk clerk because there was a big graduation party going on so the music was very loud. They assigned us room #408. When we get there the entire hallway was dark with no lights working. When we asked the bell boy he said "the hotel is running an energy savings program". We agree with the energy savings part but we couldn't see where to put our key card to open the room door. When we finally get in the room had empty shoe boxes everywhere, half of a soda on a table, half of water and worst of all the bathroom wasn't clean (full trash can and used soaps). It was after midnight already when they moved us to room # 308. Of course dark hallways and the room wasn't what we booked (king size bed). Instead we ended up in a room with two double beds. Since we were so tired after a long flight and all the inconveniences we agreed to stay there. The following morning I called the front desk and a very nice clerk offered to move us to a Jr Suite at no extra charge to cover for the inconveniences. Third move in less than 24 hours and guess what: the air conditioning wasn't working and the toilet wasn't flushing. again we call the front desk but this time we wanted to talk to the Manager. They sent the supervisor for that night (1:00 AM) . Of course at that time I was already on the phone with other hotels trying to get a room to get out of there. I did get one but this supervisor asked us to be patient and spend the night there to give them an opportunity to fix the problems. again, since it was so late and we were very tired we stayed. He made a comment that we will never forget: "Everything Looks Nice on the Internet". The next day another manager moved us to another suite with all working a little better but not great for the price we were paying to stay there. Anyway, we had a Graduation Ceremony to attend so we ordered room service to save some time. The person in the phone named Carla said it would take 25 to 30 minutes for the food to arrive to our room. I agreed with that because it was still giving us time to eat, relax and be ready on time to leave. After 45 minutes I called to ask if the food was coming and she said "Is on its way" so I waited another 20 minutes. I called again and she said "sorry for the delay, your food just left the kitchen". After another 20 minutes I called her and said that it was obvious she was lying. When the delivery guy finallly knocked the door we were soooooo unhappy and asked him to leave with that cold food. He put it on the table anyway and promised it was warm and there was no charge for it because of the delay. That was the least they should do. I can't even mention the list of other problems we had there. The only reason I booked that hotel it was the convenient location and they have a casino for entertainment so we didn't have to deal with transportation every day. Is the first and last time we stay there .

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Hotel is undergoing major renovation and the pool was closed. The lobby of the hotel was brand new and tastefully decorated. The room still had some old furniture however the bathroom was new. Hotel is well located in downtown and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiogoPaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Older hotel that has benefited from recent remodeling. Rooms were large, clean and a/c worked just fine. Bed was very comfortable. Beautiful, large pool with swim up bar and attractive courtyard. Breakfast buffet was one of best I've had in a hotel. Clientele was a mix of families and business travelers. WiFi strength was weak, but adequate. Hotel has large conference type facilties so does seem to attract evening events, and the noise does filter into rooms with exposed hallways. Guest services was helpful in arranging excursions. Surrounding area is a little sketchy, but seemed safe enough. Great restaurant, Venetian, about a block away. Also a 24 hour grocery store nearby. Wouldn't choose this as a vacation stay, but good enough for a couple of nights layover.

Room Tip: Cabana rooms around pool looked very appealing. In the main building get a room towards the center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleetstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIssouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I recently had the MISFORTUNE of spending two weeks at Hotel El Panama. Belive me, this place is nothing like it appears on the hotel website. Two weeks time gave me a chance to observe the "true" Hotel El Panama. Let me share the list that I kept while I was there.

1. The shower in my bathroom would not drain properly. It backed up when the person in the room next to mine was taking a shower. Warm water and black slime. Disgusting!

2. Three out of six room ceiling lights burned out.

3. Inconsistent housekeeping services. Had to ask for in-room coffee supplies numerous times. They were supposed to be replaced when the room was cleaned. Dirty drink glasses and coffee cups not replaced.

4. Housekeeper left my room door unlocked and opened. (Luckily nothing was missing.)

5. Lousy wireless internet connection. I was constantly being disconnected.

6. Bathroom faucet dripped the entire stay.

7. Ice machine on the second floor was not working the entire two weeks.

8. Ice machine on third floor worked but, there was no scoop to remove ice. Are we supposed to use our hands??? Broken drink glass left on top of ice machine for three days. Where were the broken pieces of glass? (Not in the ice bin, I hope.)

9. Room service trays left outside of room for two days.

10. My room key card failed to work on four different occasions. The last time it didn't work I was told that they couldn't give me a working key card becuase the system's server was down. Had to be escorted to my room by a bellhop with a master key to let me in. They claimed thatmy key wouldn't work becuase it may have been next to my cell phone of oins in my pocket. Wrong on both counts. My cell phone was in my backpack the entire stay and the key was kept in a pocket without coins.

11. Noisy parties in function room adjacent to hotel lobby. Some lasting until two AM. Could be easily heard from my room on the second floor. I always thought a hotel's primary concern was the comfort of all of it's guests. Not here. The people who pay to party at El Panama have priority.

12. Noisy area of the city. With an in-house casino and a casino next door, traffic noise and car horns are heard at all hours of the day and night.

13. Less than desireable area. Trash left uncollected for days in the street. The Molin Rougue is right next door. (Girls and rooms available.) What a dump. Ground floor shops and restaurants line the street but the second and third floors are uninhabited and in unlivable condition.

14. On the morning that I finally checked out the person working at the reception desk was talking to another hotel employee when I approached. They both looked at me and continued their conversation without acknowleging me. (RUDE)

15. Hotel policy of not allowing food to be brought in or to be ordered in.

All in all, a very disappointing experience. It's obvious that the El Panama's management staff pay no attention at all to details. If I could rate this place a zero I would.

STAY AWAY!!!!

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank airball79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 km away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#42 of 113 in Panama City
671 reviews
0.3 km away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 113 in Panama City
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 113 in Panama City
803 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 113 in Panama City
746 reviews
0.2 km away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#43 of 113 in Panama City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Panama

Property: Hotel El Panama
Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Panama City
#9 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#30 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel El Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing