We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Booking.com
US$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$189
US$144
View deal
SAVE US$45
Free cancellation until 26/05/21
Expedia.comUS$167
PricelineUS$167
Lol.travelUS$189
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,799)
Filter reviews
1,799 results
Traveller rating
1,094
409
165
75
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,094
409
165
75
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond member car service luxury hotel ocean view junior suite pool area beautiful hotel turn down service breakfast buffet lobby bar casco viejo old city concierge lille oliver panama gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,799 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2021 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here three nights. It’s a lovely quiet hotel close to everything. The staff is kind and attentive. Our room is on the 18th floor - junior suite. It’s large and has a view to the sea. The breakfast was very good and we have enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Five stars.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maui-no-Kai-oi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector Martinez, Owner at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear Mauia-no-Kai-oi,

Thank you for describing every aspect of your hotel stay so positively. It is good to know we were able to deliver you a memorable experience. Our main goal is to provide this level of service to each and every one of our guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future so once again you can experience our True Waldorf Service. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

The second Waldorf I've visited and without a doubt not at its full majesty due to the current national restrictions, however still a great get away with reduced services and excellent staff, thanks especially to Heidi who was incredibly attentive and understanding of an English man's need to have tea made correctly.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeterC6942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector Martinez, Owner at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear Peter Crompton:

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your great review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that Heidi was an important part of that. We enjoy what we do and the best part of our day is happy guests!

Once again we thank you for your feedback on your recent stay Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2020

The Waldorf was nicely located in the heart of the business district but did not have an overly business hotel feel to it. There were plenty of vacationers. The decor is modern. The staff was friendly although not overly attentive. The pool area on a high floor was a delight. The standard rooms are on the small side but not tiny. I thought the breakfast buffet was a bit limited in choices but who goes to a hotel for the breakfast buffet. It was a nice, enjoyable place to visit in Panama City and recommended for anyone looking for a good centrally located hotel.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NYViator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector Martinez, Owner at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear NYViator,

Thank you for describing every aspect of your hotel stay so positively. It is good to know we were able to deliver you a memorable experience. Our main goal is to provide this level of service to each and every one of our guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future so once again you can experience our True Waldorf Service. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2020

We had a great experience at the Waldorf. Very friendly staff. Buffet breakfast was fantastic. Jose Rollizo provided exceptional service at breakfast, and his friendliness provide a great way to start the day.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank birdpursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HectorPTY, Front Desk Team at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2020

Dear guest,

We appreciate your wonderful comments on your experience on your recent visit to our hotel.

We are happy to know that you experience our True Waldorf Service, and that Jose Rollizo was a very helpful on providing you with the best service.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020

The hotel doesn't feel very big. It is located in a quiet street with great location. The lobby is simple but elegant. Since it's not a very big hotel, it feels cozy.

There were however some major issues during our stay, which left somewhat of a sour taste for our stay.

It started during check in. It took 20 minutes to check in a room, way too slow when you have to check in 3 rooms and there is only one person doing the process. We had booked 3 Jr. Suites and when they gave us different room types, I knew something was wrong.

I ckecked out the room and when back because they gave us a Deluxe instead of the Jr. Suite. Then Karla went on trying to explain that any room with ocean view and a bathtub was considered a Jr. Suite. I said that it wasn't what we had reserved and the "ocean view" was a joke since there were building in front of the hotel, and you could see very little of the ocean.

Karla informed us that the supervisor was in a meeting and it would take a while, so we had to wait. If you pride yourself on customer service, this was the worst example of it. We had to wait because of a meeting, seriously!!!! (During checkout, Hector informed us that there were only 10 Jr. Suites in the whole hotel, so it became obvious that Karla was lying to us. The Jr. Suites are the "07" on the floor).

After we waited a while, my wife started explaining the situation to Lille, the Concierge. Somehow she was able to find us a real Jr. Suite on the same floor of our original room, so we switched to room 1807.

The room was clean and very good, with a few observations:

- There are no sports channels on the TV.
- There could be a small drawer bedside and not just a table. It's nice to put your things aways and leave it all organized.
- There should be a door for the toilet. With the current layout, it is literally installing a door, which adds tons of privacy for the space.
- Water pressure for the shower could be better.
- Faucet to fill bath up is way too small. It took forever to fill the bathtub.

On our first day we asked them to fix a couple of things that weren't working in the room (our stay was for 5 days), and by our checkout time nothing had been done.

We had reserved the rooms with the breakfast package. I highly recommend this because it is way cheaper than paying each time. Our daughter was with us and they charged her US$ 15,00 for breakfast. The breakfast package for the room was for 2 people, so they charged her breakfast. I thought this was on the "cheap" side since a kid doesn't eat that much, and for the rates being charges , it felt "bush league". We had booked 3 Jr. Suites and they felt the need to charge a kid for breakfast, what can you do?!

When you book a room at the Waldorf Astoria, you expect a certain level of service, and with this experience, it didn't meet the standard.

Lille was great. She helped us with the room doing what Karla obviously could have done but refused to do it. Then helped us set up the tour and a couple other things. Every time we saw her she was always helpful. She is a great asset to the hotel. Karla on the other hand .... not sure if it's a lack of training or what, but it's unacceptable to take forever to check in a guest and then try to give them something less, and seemingly not care about it.

I would probably try to stay at this hotel again, but would take a harder look at other places first.

It's not cool when you feel like people are trying to take advantage of you, and that's how I felt.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fabio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HectorPTY, Front Desk Supervisor at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Dear FTichy,

We want to thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to write about your experience.

Thank you for being our guest and for providing such detailed insight about your recent stay. Comments like yours are the ones that help us become better each day.

Our hotel feels committed in sustaining high service standards and delivering excellent quality service and we regret to know that this time our hotel was not up to your standards. We express you our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay and despite these annoyed situations we hope you consider our property for your next stays in Panama.

Best Regards
Front Desk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews