We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge hotel downtown*back in time to Miami Beach*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #17 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Panama Province, Panama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Huge hotel downtown*back in time to Miami Beach*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Delta Airlines put us up here for a flight bump and we loved it.Huge hotel with huge rooms, great service, sushi bar, pool that looks like "Old Miami Beach Days*..Do not know prices but it is a big convention hotel with lots of perks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    855
    230
    95
    85
See reviews for
564
756
113
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and myself spend 5 days in Panama and stayed at the Riu Plaza. Its a 5 star hotel with at most 3star service. The rooms, we booked a executive king room on the upper floor but got a King room on the 19th floor, was good. the mini bar had 1 Pepsi, 1 fanta, 2 beers and 2 waters and that was it. It was not stocked for 5 days. As part of the package we where suppose to get a turn down service at night, which we did not, as well as bathrobe's, which we did not get.
The breakfast is spectacular but the service bad. I can recommend the sushi restaurant in the hotel. Very good and service OK.
The pool an the bar at the pool (Ibiza Lounge) is pathetic. for 645 rooms they have 3 umbrellas. on our first day we decided to have lunch at the pool. We could only get seats in the sun, which was OK as it was overcast. Waited 20min for a waiter which was 6m from us. Then waited 45min for our food and there was maybe 15people around the pool. Second day we decided not to eat but have drinks, same story.
We wanted to do some tours while in Panama City so we asked the Service desk for advise. They only had one tour. The 3 stop tour to Miraflores. We asked about a canal tour and where told it only take place on Saturdays. We where hugely disappointed as we would not be in Panama for a Saturday. While on our tour to Miraflores we met a very sweet Panamanian couple who booked a canal tour for the next day. The lady immediately took her cellphone out and book 2 spots for us.
We had the buffet one night at the hotel and it was such a disappointment. Food tasted like they where standing for hours and where not warm at all.

If it was a 3star hotel I would recomend it but as a 5star, no way!

Room Tip: We asked for a upper floor room, which start from 20 but got 19. The rooms on the west side is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel is in a great part of Panama City, and easy access to all parts. We stayed on the 20th floor and the view was stunning. We had friends that stayed at Trump plaza, and our pool was much nicer and we actually got sun. The staff was very nice & professional, but something was lost in translation. It would take a couple of calls to the front desk, to get across what we needed. The most amazing thing was the breakfast buffet that was included. What ever you're little heart desired for breakfast, was available & very tasty. All and all, the price for the rooms were excellent & the size of the rooms was top notch.

Room Tip: ask for upgrade to the president's suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

stayed here for 2 nights and there is almost nothing to complain about. My room was on the 11th floor - view to the world trade center and some other "high buildings". The room was really nice - stylish decoration. Bed was extremely comfortable. The only downside I have to mention are the thin walls - you can hear almost everything your neighbour is doing or says. Had dinner at the pool twice now and this really sth I will remember: excellent service and good quality / good value food!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
248 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stunning hotel,one of the nicest rooms I have been in recently, that 's where it ends.
20 minutes to check in with a confirmed reservation in my hand and no one else at the desk! Couldn't find me.... No couldn't just check me in and straighten it out, I had to stand there till they found their problem.
We were on the executive floor, the lounge is much worse than a Hilton exec lounge. at least the Hiton has lots of food, hardly any food here, 4 doughnuts at breakfast! The red light on my room phone has blinked every day for 4 days , I have called repeatedly to see if I have a message....no, but they can't or won't fix or reset the light. Finally they have a taxi service,call for a taxi and get hosed. I needed to go 3 blocks...$12 US. I hailed a yellow cab on the street...$2.00, that's right 2 bucks, including the tip!! I complained to the manager, he just smiled at me!
Next time we will try the Meridian!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willbikeforwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
7.6 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.4 km away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
0.6 km away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing