We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best kept secret in Panama City”
Review of B&B Casa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Casa Margarita
Ranked #13 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Why didn't I find you earlier in my trips to Panama. I have no complaints. What a bargain! Nice accommodations, great staff, breakfast is wonderful, the other guests I met there were super (and we became friends), close to everything and in a wonderful, safe area (San Francisco). I am going back to Panama and to Casa Margarita!!

Room Tip: Don't rent cars unless absolutely necessary. Panama has an insurance you must purchase and the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Manager at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

It is really very pleasant for us to know that you have had a good experience in Panama and that our place, our staff and other of our guests have contributed to make it also a great experience. THANK YOU !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Friendly, clean, and well run. There was always someone on reception ready to give advice. Breakfast was tasty (and always something different), but since it's in the patio of a pleasant little garden watch out for the mosquitoes!
Located in a rather quiet corner of a high rise neighbourhood, it's safe. Very convenient for Panama Viejo and a quicker run in from the airport than more central hotels. However it's a fair distance from the Centre and not hugely well served by public transport - there are plenty enough buses that will take you to the town centre (Mercado Mariscos nearest the Casco Viejo) but it's something like 7 blocks to walk to the bus stop (and you have to find somewhere to sell you a bus card which is nigh on impossible anywhere near the hotel - I got one in town having asked around 15 places in the vicinity). It would have been good to have got more info at the hotel as to which buses to take to the main tourist parts (some pass on Via Israel and there are others on Porras, but since the routes don't have numbers and have only the origin and destination on the front it's not easy to work out where they go). I tried walking into town a couple of times but there's so much construction going on that the chances of falling down an uncovered hole or having something dropped on your head are pretty high, I jest not. Taxis are in reasonably plentiful supply however.
The Parque Omar nearby is a pleasant place for a stroll.
Sonia was very friendly and ready to help - e.g. even without asking she offered me a late check out since I had an evening flight, enabling me to freshen up after an afternoon touring. Rooms were very clean and well decorated. Not too much natural light in the one I stayed in. Overall a very pleasant experience and I would recommend it for people who don't mind being a bit out of town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Manager at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Andrew, Thank you so much for your kind words. Our staff makes every effort to make sure everyone has a good experience. Transportation services in Panama are limited, buses are not that common, most people take taxis, and We are pleased that in spite of this, you have had a good experience in Panama. On behalf of our team THANK YOU!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Based on being "our pick" in Lonely Planet and it being so highly rated, I suppose we had high expectations and it just didn't meet our expectations. It was fine but we were looking for something a little bit more.

Pros: The staff was very friendly and willing to order us a taxi whenever we needed it. The AC worked well and in fact, we had to turn it down sometimes because it was so cold. Breakfast is included -- which is nice although it mostly just consisted of fruit and tortilla with cheese/bacon. The room was clean as others mentioned in their reviews.

Cons: Given the price ($89 per night), we were expecting a little bit more. They didn't have shampoo...just bars of soap. When you start charging close to $90 a night, I expect little things like shampoo. In my opinion, the bed wasn't very comfortable. It was sufficient but not the highest quality mattress. The shower water pressure was not consistent...sometimes okay, usually not very good. The walls seemed pretty thin...you could hear conversations and voices through the walls. Our room had only one small window and it was to an inner hallway (so no natural light).

One other note that's neither a pro or a con: The location wasn't ideal for us...definitely a little out of the way and getting a taxi to bring us back was always a negotiation. Being out of the way may be a pro for some others and we always felt safe. But we also felt safe when we stayed downtown our last night in Panama City and in the end, I'm not sure a "residential experience" was worth the hassle (for us anyway).

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay but not blown away. If we were to return to Panama City again, we probably wouldn't stay there. And we wouldn't jump at recommending it as a place for others...unless they explicitly say they want something that's not in the central part of Panama City. Even then, I think some small touches could really improve the overall experience.

Room Tip: Ask whether you have a window facing the outside or not. Natural light is not a given for all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Gerente at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho que a pesar de haber hecho nuestros mejores esfuerzos para complacer sus requerimientos no hayamos logrado satisfacerlos.
Gracias por hacernos llegar sus comentarios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Situated in the San Francisco district of Panama City, a quiet residential area. The rooms are clean, spacious and quiet. Very helpful staff. They serve breakfast on the patio - something slightly different each day plus juice, fruit, toast, cereal, coffee etc.
The property can be difficult to find when you first arrive, you need to turn off Belisario Porras Avenue just about opposite the park, there is bank on the corner. It's a relatively safe area but Sonia the manager can easily order you a taxi.
If you turn left when you leave the casa there is a great Spanish deli / bar / restaurant at the top of the road called Bon Vivant, there is a new Greek Bakery on Porras Ave which sells decent bread, sandwiches and great cakes, coffee etc. it's about 15 minutes walk to the Sheraton, I used their pool a few times! There is supermarket called 99 if you turn right on Porras Ave, it's about 800 down the road.
This place is a good find, it's recommended in Lonely Planet.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Propietario at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, para quienes nos esforzamos a diario para hacer que tu estadía en Casa Margarita sea confortable, relajante y placentera, es altamente satisfactorio saber que hemos logrado nuestra meta.
Agradeciendo tus comentarios quedamos en la espera de recibirte en este tu hogar en Panamá nuevamente en un futuro cercano.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Casa Margarita is run by lovely people. The rooms are a good size & clean. There's a lovely garden where you can have breakfast (included in the price). Only downside is the location to other parts of the city,some cab drivers found it impossible to find or wouldn't take us. If this place could be in Casco Veijo it would be perfect. The staff are knowledgeable about restaurants & are very helpful about pretty much anything!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Propietario at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, para quienes nos esforzamos a diario para hacer que tu estadía en Casa Margarita sea confortable, relajante y placentera, es altamente satisfactorio saber que hemos logrado nuestra meta. Desafortunadamente el conocimiento de direcciones por parte de los taxistas en bastante limitado ya que San Francisco es uno de los Barrios mas antiguos, céntricos y exclusivos de la ciudad y deberían conocerlo muy bien.
Agradeciendo tus comentarios quedamos en la espera de recibirte en este tu hogar en Panamá nuevamente en un futuro cercano.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
11 km away
Casa Anita
Casa Anita
#1 of 2 in Las Cumbres
251 reviews
3.1 km away
Lemon Inn Panama
Lemon Inn Panama
#10 of 79 in Panama City
119 reviews
4.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#37 of 115 in Panama City
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,759 reviews
11.2 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
4.5 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Valencia
#41 of 79 in Panama City
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa Margarita

Address: Calle Las Dalias | Casa 97, San Francisco, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: €51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful B&B (Non Smoking) located in the heart of Panama City, Panama. We are 5 minutes away from Centro de Convenciones de ATLAPA, 5 minutes away from Corredor Sur (via Tocumen) and 7 minutes away from the "zona bancaria". Family owned, in one of the best areas of Panama: San Francisco,just a few minutes away from great dining, bars, night clubs and shopping as well as very close to Omar Park. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access and WIFI. Our simple but cozy rooms are cleaned daily, and we serve a delicious breakfast every morning, which includes: fresh fruits and juice, cereals, yogurt, fresh bread, ham and cheese and a selection of local products. And if you like international foods ask Margarita about her Arepas from Venezuela! All served in our lovely terrace with tables, chairs and hammocks. We offer airport pick-up and delivery as well as city tours. Please inquire via email for tours since price is based on volume and location. Please come and enjoy our family atmosphere and the great service and warmth that only a family owned accommodation can offer!!! Excellent price/value! Breakfast included! We offer Airport pick up and delivery from Tocumen Airport and Albrook. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our home in Panama City!!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Casa Margarita
b&b Casa Margarita Hotel Panama City
B&B Casa Margarita Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing