We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Panama Marriott Hotel(Panama City)
US$153
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$120
Riu.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Magnolia Inn(Panama City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$149
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Panama(Panama City)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
102
44
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
44
7
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Friendly, clean, and well run. There was always someone on reception ready to give advice. Breakfast was tasty (and always something different), but since it's in the patio of a pleasant little garden watch out for the mosquitoes!
Located in a rather quiet corner of a high rise neighbourhood, it's safe. Very convenient for Panama Viejo and a quicker run in from the airport than more central hotels. However it's a fair distance from the Centre and not hugely well served by public transport - there are plenty enough buses that will take you to the town centre (Mercado Mariscos nearest the Casco Viejo) but it's something like 7 blocks to walk to the bus stop (and you have to find somewhere to sell you a bus card which is nigh on impossible anywhere near the hotel - I got one in town having asked around 15 places in the vicinity). It would have been good to have got more info at the hotel as to which buses to take to the main tourist parts (some pass on Via Israel and there are others on Porras, but since the routes don't have numbers and have only the origin and destination on the front it's not easy to work out where they go). I tried walking into town a couple of times but there's so much construction going on that the chances of falling down an uncovered hole or having something dropped on your head are pretty high, I jest not. Taxis are in reasonably plentiful supply however.
The Parque Omar nearby is a pleasant place for a stroll.
Sonia was very friendly and ready to help - e.g. even without asking she offered me a late check out since I had an evening flight, enabling me to freshen up after an afternoon touring. Rooms were very clean and well decorated. Not too much natural light in the one I stayed in. Overall a very pleasant experience and I would recommend it for people who don't mind being a bit out of town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Manager at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Andrew, Thank you so much for your kind words. Our staff makes every effort to make sure everyone has a good experience. Transportation services in Panama are limited, buses are not that common, most people take taxis, and We are pleased that in spite of this, you have had a good experience in Panama. On behalf of our team THANK YOU!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Based on being "our pick" in Lonely Planet and it being so highly rated, I suppose we had high expectations and it just didn't meet our expectations. It was fine but we were looking for something a little bit more.

Pros: The staff was very friendly and willing to order us a taxi whenever we needed it. The AC worked well and in fact, we had to turn it down sometimes because it was so cold. Breakfast is included -- which is nice although it mostly just consisted of fruit and tortilla with cheese/bacon. The room was clean as others mentioned in their reviews.

Cons: Given the price ($89 per night), we were expecting a little bit more. They didn't have shampoo...just bars of soap. When you start charging close to $90 a night, I expect little things like shampoo. In my opinion, the bed wasn't very comfortable. It was sufficient but not the highest quality mattress. The shower water pressure was not consistent...sometimes okay, usually not very good. The walls seemed pretty thin...you could hear conversations and voices through the walls. Our room had only one small window and it was to an inner hallway (so no natural light).

One other note that's neither a pro or a con: The location wasn't ideal for us...definitely a little out of the way and getting a taxi to bring us back was always a negotiation. Being out of the way may be a pro for some others and we always felt safe. But we also felt safe when we stayed downtown our last night in Panama City and in the end, I'm not sure a "residential experience" was worth the hassle (for us anyway).

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay but not blown away. If we were to return to Panama City again, we probably wouldn't stay there. And we wouldn't jump at recommending it as a place for others...unless they explicitly say they want something that's not in the central part of Panama City. Even then, I think some small touches could really improve the overall experience.

Room Tip: Ask whether you have a window facing the outside or not. Natural light is not a given for all rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Gerente at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho que a pesar de haber hecho nuestros mejores esfuerzos para complacer sus requerimientos no hayamos logrado satisfacerlos.
Gracias por hacernos llegar sus comentarios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Situated in the San Francisco district of Panama City, a quiet residential area. The rooms are clean, spacious and quiet. Very helpful staff. They serve breakfast on the patio - something slightly different each day plus juice, fruit, toast, cereal, coffee etc.
The property can be difficult to find when you first arrive, you need to turn off Belisario Porras Avenue just about opposite the park, there is bank on the corner. It's a relatively safe area but Sonia the manager can easily order you a taxi.
If you turn left when you leave the casa there is a great Spanish deli / bar / restaurant at the top of the road called Bon Vivant, there is a new Greek Bakery on Porras Ave which sells decent bread, sandwiches and great cakes, coffee etc. it's about 15 minutes walk to the Sheraton, I used their pool a few times! There is supermarket called 99 if you turn right on Porras Ave, it's about 800 down the road.
This place is a good find, it's recommended in Lonely Planet.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Propietario at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, para quienes nos esforzamos a diario para hacer que tu estadía en Casa Margarita sea confortable, relajante y placentera, es altamente satisfactorio saber que hemos logrado nuestra meta.
Agradeciendo tus comentarios quedamos en la espera de recibirte en este tu hogar en Panamá nuevamente en un futuro cercano.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Casa Margarita is run by lovely people. The rooms are a good size & clean. There's a lovely garden where you can have breakfast (included in the price). Only downside is the location to other parts of the city,some cab drivers found it impossible to find or wouldn't take us. If this place could be in Casco Veijo it would be perfect. The staff are knowledgeable about restaurants & are very helpful about pretty much anything!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Propietario at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, para quienes nos esforzamos a diario para hacer que tu estadía en Casa Margarita sea confortable, relajante y placentera, es altamente satisfactorio saber que hemos logrado nuestra meta. Desafortunadamente el conocimiento de direcciones por parte de los taxistas en bastante limitado ya que San Francisco es uno de los Barrios mas antiguos, céntricos y exclusivos de la ciudad y deberían conocerlo muy bien.
Agradeciendo tus comentarios quedamos en la espera de recibirte en este tu hogar en Panamá nuevamente en un futuro cercano.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Sonia and others we met were very welcoming and happy to answer any questions we had. Also, breakfast was lovely in the garden. There are a few restaurants nearby so worth asking for directions as it's not immediately obvious where they are. This was a quiet and relaxing location to be in and would be a good option on arriving or leaving Panama City and needing a few nights to start/finish. The only challenge we had was in getting taxis back when some either got lost or wouldn't take us as they said ti was too far. Could have been bad luck on our part rather than a problem. Panama City hotels are pricey so Margarita was good value

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMargarita, Gerente at B&B Casa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, para quienes nos esforzamos a diario para hacer que tu estadía en Casa Margarita sea confortable, relajante y placentera, es altamente satisfactorio saber que hemos logrado nuestra meta. Desafortunadamente el conocimiento de direcciones por parte de los taxistas en bastante limitado ya que San Francisco es uno de los Barrios mas antiguos, céntricos y exclusivos de la ciudad y deberían conocerlo muy bien.
Agradeciendo tus comentarios quedamos en la espera de recibirte en este tu hogar en Panamá nuevamente en un futuro cercano.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews