We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
getaroom.comUS$197
ZenHotels.comUS$168
StayForLongUS$184
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
456
176
89
52
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
456
176
89
52
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casco viejo old city rooftop pool perfect location comfortable rooms bars and restaurants would highly recommend this hotel breakfast buffet chen panama renovation concierge victor canal neighborhood nightlife skyline
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

Superb location, nice building. Tiny rooms facing the inner court yard. This inner court yard is very noisy, for example there was music at 4am in the morning and you hear it in the rooms. This makes for very poor sleep.

Some staff of the hotel very friendly, like the breakfast buffet. Hit and miss with reception.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Sebi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelicaCusatti, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write your comments on Trip Advisor. It is important for us to know your experience because that allows us to get better.
We offer you our more sincere apologies about the noise and the size of the rooms. These usually happen because of the way the hotel is built and how antique it is. However, it is great to know you experienced great customer service and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

We wish you can stay with us one more time.


Best Regards,
Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

... this reno is very well done ... rooms clean and contemporary in design ... interior courtyard a great place to spend down time ... staff well trained, pleasant, and welcoming ... housekeeping excellent ... food is outstanding, and very good value for money ... coffee as good as it gets ... breakfast is a buffet, but you can get a good omelette ... rooms not cheap, but the location of the hotel makes a real difference

Date of stay: February 2020
2  Thank Freedom21700537845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelicaCusatti, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Dear guest,

We are very thankful you chose the Central Hotel for your stay, and we thank you for taking the time to write your comment on Trip Advisor.
We are gratefully pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and that your expectations were fulfilled with our hospitality and location.
We hope we can welcome you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

But, it is a glorified Premier Inn!
Due to its location it is extremely noisy, outside and in.
It has a number of function rooms which create a lot of noise especially so as the rooms are designed around the central hallway. We required twin beds, apparently there are only a small number of twin rooms and they are in the centre of the hotel, immediately over the central hallway. Be warned, there are no opening windows or natural light, only the light that filters in from the windows below the roof.
The room was comfortable enough but it was no better than a Premier Inn room.
The breakfast was reasonable, nothing special.
Reception: one (female) member of staff was polite and helpful but the others were bordering on being rude, albeit they were efficient!
Arriving early evening and finding no 'ordinary' tea in our room, only scented individual packets, my husband went to the bar (in the restaurant) to ask for some breakfast tea bags, the extremely stern lady said it was 'not aloud' to take them to our room and that her tea station was 'laid for breakfast' therefore she was unable to assist us!
Needless to say, after protestations from my husband, she reluctantly gave him two!
Apart from its central location to all things beautiful in Panama old town, it has nothing going for it....well not for us any way!

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank JackoMorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelicaCusatti, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear guest, we appreciate all your comments and we thank you for choosing the Central hotel for your stay in Panamá. For us, is very unfortunate that our customer service did not fulfil your expectations neither did the room where you stayed close to the central hallway. As you mentioned it, you can hear some noise from the central hallway because of the way the hotel is built. We try to keep the charm of the hotel since it was built the first time in 1874.
Your opinion is very valuable for us, so we are going to work on our customer service. Please receive our apologies, and we hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you again.


Sincerely,
Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

Beds were comfortable, rooms nice size, TV's we're large with English available. Free breakfast buffet was decent. Service was excellent!! Most importantly the location was absolutely the best and hotel was quiet. Highly recommend, even though the rate was high.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 826kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelicaCusatti, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Dear guest, we are thankful to read such an outstanding opinion about our hotel. This is very valuable to us and thank you for choosing the Central Hotel during your visit in Panama City.

It is great to know that you enjoyed not only our hotel but also our customer service. We hope we can welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020

Stayed a week with global talents for an in-company leadership program. While not a conference venue, the hotel did everything possible to make the training effective. And it worked. Friendly staff and quick follow-up allowed all participants not only a focused learning opportunity but also fine down-time in the beautiful old city surrounding the hotel.

Room tip: Consider rooms facing either plaza, side street or indoor towards the atrium. Big difference in noise levels.
Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank URamsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear guest, we much appreciate your comment on Trip Advisor. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to assist you in all requests and follow ups. A great customer service is our priority and we are more than glad to know that we accomplished that. Also, it is great to know you enjoyed all our surroundings.

We hope you can stay again with us soon.

Best Regards,

Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews