We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
getaroom.comUS$197
ZenHotels.comUS$168
StayForLongUS$184
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
456
176
89
52
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
456
176
89
52
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casco viejo old city rooftop pool perfect location comfortable rooms bars and restaurants would highly recommend this hotel breakfast buffet chen panama renovation concierge victor canal neighborhood nightlife skyline
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2018

This hotel is beautiful and in a wonderful location. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. The staff is excellent and very friendly. Close to great restaurants, bars and clubs. Pool is small and intimate with a beautiful view of the city. Work out room is small but adequate. Spa was small but again intimate and welcoming.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank G Clay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis d, Director General at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Dear GClay59
We are humbled by your and five-star rating and glowing recommendation.

Our hotel's primary mission and promise to our guests, is to provide a singular luxury experience. We will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
All the best,


Jose Luis De Ycaza
Director de Ventas & Marketing | Central Hotel Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We stayed for 5 nights, it was fantastic, the breakfast buffet and dinner was excellent, the room was immaculate, the bed large and comfy, the bathroom was a good size, they provided towing robes and plenty of towels, they gave us chocolates each evening and closed the curtains. This hotel provides real value for money, probably unbeatable for quality versus value for money in Panama. The service was very good the staff were friendly, valet parking was helpful, the outdoor roof top pool with nice views was great. The lounge was good. The hotel is located in the old part of Panama City so we could walk almost everywhere which was great. We will recommend it to our friends and we look forward to staying there again soon.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis d, Director of Sales at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Dear James Tanner
We are humbled by your and five-star rating and glowing recommendation.

Our hotel's primary mission and promise to our guests, is to provide a singular luxury experience. We will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
All the best,


Jose Luis De Ycaza
Director de Ventas & Marketing | Central Hotel Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We stayed at the Central Hotel for 3 nights recently while in Panama City. It is well located in Casco Viejo, on the square across from the Cathedral and next to the Panama Canal Museum.

Service at check-in was average, though the bellman was very friendly and helpful. As we settled in our room after a long day of travel, we discovered that the tv didn't work and there was no hot water. We called the desk for help. Although they ultimately fixed the problems, they seemed largely disinterested. I asked for a different room, they refused. It was clear the hotel was not full, and a better run property would have moved us immediately.

The room was very clean and fairly spacious with two double beds and a seating area and a desk. The bathroom was quite nice with double sinks and nice finishes. We heard a lot through the walls--a guest next door had a long phone call very early in the morning and we could hear every word. Windows in the room were strange--too high to look out, though they provided adequate light. I think we were in a newer part of the hotel--if I returned I would ask for a room in the older part.

There is a small but nice pool on the roof of the hotel and this is the highlight of the property. I went up there in the late afternoon one day and it was breezy and beautiful, with nice views over the rooftops of the town.

Breakfast was average--fruit, cereal, bread, and eggs cooked to order. The juices were so watered down it was hard to tell what fruits were in them. The hotel restaurant was under construction while we were there so we did not have the opportunity to try it for dinner.

Our best meal of the trip was at Ochoymedio--just a couple of blocks away from the Central Hotel and DELICIOUS. A great setting, too.

Checkout was strange--the hotel apparently uses express checkout (a bill was left under our door the morning we left), but then we had to go through the entire checkout process anyway at the desk. It was taking forever (something seemed to be wrong with the credit card machine) and we finally just left and figured they would sort it out later (they did).

If you are willing to pay more, stay at the nearby American Trade Hotel. I have heard excellent reviews from many friends who have stayed there, and my impression is that the level of service there is far higher. We considered it, but the rate at American Trade during the time we were there was almost double the rate of the Central. Perhaps you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis d, Director General at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2018

Dear Trip Please

Thank you for providing your feedback in regard to your recent stay with Central Hotel Panama. As I write on behalf of all our teams members, we are saddened to hear that not every element during your visit, did not exceed your expectations.

Our ongoing commitment is to provide the finest personal service and facilities to our guest. So your feedback is much appreciated as it only improves our organization.
We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best regards,
Jose Luis De Ycaza
Director de Ventas & Marketing | Central Hotel Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

Really comfortable room. Generous portions of food at the buffet. Stunning architecture -- well-maintained building. Extremely polite staff - very friendly and helpful. Excellent customer service, really. I appreciate so much that they speak English for me. I am embarrassed I don't know Spanish better.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Valeri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis d, Director General at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2018

Dear, 391valeriep
We are humbled by your and five-star rating and glowing recommendation.

Our hotel's primary mission and promise to our guests, is to provide a singular luxury experience. We will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
All the best,


Jose Luis De Ycaza
Director de Ventas & Marketing | Central Hotel Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

I love the service on this Hotel, stayed a couple of times and particularly enjoyed the top room because of the unique shape of the room and the city view. Nice shower and good breakfast. I love on sundays when they have the tipical panamanian breakfast

Room tip: Ask for balcony rooms, they are nice
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ssubiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis d, Director General at Central Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Dear Ssubiru,
We are humbled by your and five-star rating and glowing recommendation.

Our hotel's primary mission and promise to our guests, is to provide a singular luxury experience. We will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
All the best,


Jose Luis De Ycaza
Director de Ventas & Marketing | Central Hotel Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews