We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“across the street from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Las Mercedes
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“across the street from the airport”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Location is the best, After a long day...the guy holding a Best Western sign when we arrived in Managua was a welcome sight and he was great! He gathered our luggage, 4 in our group, unloaded it to go through customs and picked it up on the other side, loaded it into the shuttle van (even shooed away the kids trying to sell us trinkets) he waited while we checked in then escorted us to our rooms. Staff at the desk all spoke English, they were pleasant and fun. Rooms were clean but shower water was cold, something we experienced at 3 of the 4 places we stayed in Nicaragua. The landscaping is beautiful. Breakfast buffet is included and was very nice, wonderful omelets, fruits and breads. Restaurant and housekeeping staff did not speak English. We communicated as best we could and they couldn't have been nicer. Shuttle got us to airport for our flight home in minutes. Room rates were high in comparison to other places we stayed in Nicaragua. We saw flight crews and pilots there which may be a reason the rates are high.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    251
    163
    70
    70
See reviews for
119
171
107
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

a $100 a nite and no hot water? after 3 weeks of nica hotels with no hot water i was looking forward to having just that before i flew to panama. what hot water is there takes over 5 minutes to arrive and is at such a low volume that it's really useless. boy, the airport area NEEDS SOME COMPETITION! i can get a hotel in Seattle across the street for $65 a nite with all the hot water i want. if you're paying american prices in Nicaragua you're paying way too much. the last best western i stayed at was the one in Palwaukee, Illinois 3 years ago. it was so bad that i haven't stayed in one since and the 35 grand a year i spend on hotels has gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: if you have to stay get a room as far back from the road as possible. all the truckers like to say h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Managua hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is the perfect hotel to stage your trip around Nicaragua or to stage your return from Nicaragua. Just a walk across the highway from the hotel. What's great is the staff, the quaint design. Noise is not well blocked in the rooms so if you need absolute quiet you may want to look elsewhere. The staff are incredibly helpful and dedicated to your needs. And the food (get a room with breakfast included) is a great combo of local an western. Pools are good size (one large, one small) and has nice seating.
This is a third world country, so don't expect the Ritz, just enjoy the comfort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed one night after a late-night arrival in Managua. It was over $100 US per night, which is WAY out of our budget for this trip, but we felt it necessary because of our late-night arrival. Aside from the price, there were some great points. If you're looking to do a resort-style thing, it just might be right. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the food that we had at our free breakfast was perfectly tasty, good coffee... it was a worthwhile investment for our first night, most of our destinations being outside of Managua. If you're interested in experiencing and seeing Managua, it's probably not your best bet, for after 12 hours of travel, a late night arrival, and your first time in a foreign country, it can be a good first step.

Our room had A/C, TV, working electrical outlets, a nice shower/bathroom, and a comfy bed. The room was exceptionally clean, and we were made very welcome by the staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at Las Mercedes after arriving later at night in Managua. I'm not sure how convenient it would be to stay here if you were interested in seeing Managua, but for an airport hotel it was great. There is cable TV and AC, and a nice big shower. We called for an airport shuttle ahead of time but when you walk out the doors of the airport you can see it right across the highway, so we simply walked across with no trouble at all. There is a nice pool and the rooms are laid out in a very unique cabin-style way. It was, however, the most expensive stay on our trip at $115 for one night.

Room Tip: If you're only staying a night, try to get a room close to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aliceelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.4 km away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
589 reviews
10.4 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
658 reviews
11.4 km away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#12 of 50 in Managua
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hotel HEX
Hotel HEX
#19 of 50 in Managua
177 reviews
11.1 km away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 50 in Managua
359 reviews
11.8 km away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes

Property: Best Western Las Mercedes
Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing