We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bucur's Shelter Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Amzei Hotel(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Bucharest(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
K+K Hotel Elisabeta(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Continental(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Bucarest City Centre(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Europa Royale Bucharest(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hotel(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$67
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Bucharest City Center(Bucharest)(Great Value!)
US$104
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
128
41
8
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
41
8
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towncommon areas aremain placesfree breakfastpiata uniriiguinea pigsprivate roombed dormbeds were comfortableclose to the city centernice place to stayairport bushome away from homeperfect stayminute walkother gueststhe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

It's a pretty basic place. It is divided into two parts, the part we stayed at was freezing and they offered us a heater, which was okay. I don't know why, but it's full of old (50/60s) people. The worst part are the showers that even though are warm, are all broken and disarmed and spray the water all over. Oh and no privacy in the showers either. The staff is quite good and friendly, nevertheless. It's okay to stay if you're just looking for a basic place to sleep.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irina_B0tnari, Owner at Bucur's Shelter Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Deborah, thank you for your feedback! It is very helpful. We are sorry you didn`t feel comfortable enough… Unfortunately, like in any house, sometimes things just break. They just do. And when this happens, we are doing our best to fix them as fast as possible and make improvements in the house. We hope you had safe travels and lots of fun. All the best from Bucur`s team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I arrived very early in the morning at around 02:00, one guy of the staff was even there and showed me the room. You have to take out your shoes when you enter.
There is a nice chillout area with a big sofa and hassocks. Everybody of the staff was very friendly, helped when I had questions about placed, opening times oder driving in rumania.
The breakfast is basic but sufficient, you have coffee!!!, tea, milk, marmelade and toast. You also can cook eggs, there are many uncooked eggs provided.
You get a key for free to a "tresor" to put your valueables in. The room was clean, the 4-bed-room had a own toilette, shower is in the floor.
To come into the citycentre its a ~10 minute walk, to the parliament also. If you have a car, you can let it in a public area a few meters away for free, no problem.

I recommend this hostel. Thank you for the nice stay and the good conversations. Hope we'll see again!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stekehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irina_B0tnari, Owner at Bucur's Shelter Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you very much for the nice feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Bucur`s! Thank you for staying with us! Hope to meet you again! Happy days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

i spend two nights a bucurs shelter and i'd recommend it to everybody who searches for a nice and small hostel. I was travelling solo and got the private room. It was a big rooom and everything i needed was there. Wifi worked, i've got recommendations on tours and also Ioana and the other people working there like the bear were so sympathic and open for having a chat.
The location is perfect - walking distance to the old town and university square.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Jule C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irina_B0tnari, Owner at Bucur's Shelter Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Jule, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your nice review! Everyone from Bucur`s team salutes you! :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

I staid in this hostel for some nights. It was great. I felt like being part in a family without really know the other people. We made music together and played a lot of games. I met a lot of new friends. I will come back! 5 Stars

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Elias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irina_B0tnari, Owner at Bucur's Shelter Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Eliaaaas! Hope you are fine and having a lot of fun! Yeap, great times with you around! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Very friendly place, with great common areas to hang out. All staff were really nice people, and it's very close to the center. Only spent one night there but I definitely recommend the place, and I would come back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Vasco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irina_B0tnari, Owner at Bucur's Shelter Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you, Vasco! We are happy you had a nice time with us! Hope to see you again! Meanwhile, have lots of fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews