We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simplicity and richness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel's location is downtown 200 meters from the old city, so I can consider it perfect. The hotel's reception is spacious well decorated, shows another period and simply you can love it. Breakfast is great with a lot of choices, rich and tasted
Internal stars are well maintained and all the concept of the hotel gives nobility. The room large very nice double bed and with very interesting furnishings, a little light baroque and a very modern bathroom. The hotel price for 5 stars hotel is absolutely convenient.

Room Tip: I have a very nice room in the second floor nr. 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pitsavas-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almasan S, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Pitsavas- George,

Warm greetings from the Grand Hotel Continental, Bucharest, Romania.

Thank you for taking the time to share your latest experience with us.

It was a great pleasure for us to host you in our hotel. I am delighted to read your detailed comments about your room, the decorations and the breakfast.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back to our property very soon,

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and meeting rooms were good for a working day. I highly recommend the hotel either for business or pleasure. The location of the hotel is perfect as it locates in one of the best avenues of Bucharest.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almasan S, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hector R.,

Greetings from Grand Hotel Continental, Bucharest, Romania.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and feel humbled that you choose to stay with us.
We are happy to see that you recommended us as a business hotel also we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is well worth to visit! We stayed 3 nights, but didnt want to leave at all. Located in the real heart of Bucharest, price is reasonable because of the high standard. The staff is kind and helpfull 24/7 and the room service is fast and the ordered food is lovely! Highly recommend

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ildikó O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almasan S, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ildiko O,

Warm greetings from Grand Hotel Continental,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us here on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see your flawless appreciation of our staff and your comments on the facilities. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for a longer stay,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

I found this hotel on Bookings.com as a bit of a treat for my fiance and myself for our weekend New Years break and was enticed by the grand old style and central location, right next to the old town of Bucharest.
We were'nt disapointed, it is lovely. We arrived on the Friday night and it was vey quiet, so much so that we were the only people in the lobby bar when we went there.
The room itself was spacious and grand with elegant chairs and decorations, though it had a modern bathroom.
We had a courtyard facing room which was quiet but had an interesting private view.
The bathroom itself looked nice and modern but some strange design floors in the sink and shower led to some accidental floor flooding.

The breakfast included was an above average buffet, everything was very good, and there was a cook on hand to make omlettes and pancakes to order.
We wanted to go some Spa treatments but it was fully booked unfortunatly, as was the restaurant on New Years eve, so it wasnt as empty as we initially thought.
We did order some room service, a chicken club and a roast beef sandwich, and they were delicious, and not badly priced either.
Overall experience at the Grand Hotel Continental was excellent, I would definitely stay here again and recomend others to do so too.

Room Tip: Good room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almasan S, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris G,

Warm greetings from Grand Hotel Continental,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that you appreciated your stay with us and that you recommend our hotel.
We look very much forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for an even greater stay!

Best ragards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Only stayed in this hotel for a night before starting on a group tour of Romania but it ended up being the best hotel of the trip. The room was elegantly decorated, the view from the windows was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, after a long flight, I immediately fell asleep. Also it was a great location, I could walk anywhere downtown without being too far from the hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank tfran88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almasan S, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear tfran88,

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. You chose the right place to stay as we are located at the heart of Bucharest .

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future .

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 km away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.3 km away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#5 of 170 in Bucharest
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 170 in Bucharest
847 reviews
2.1 km away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.4 km away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 170 in Bucharest
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Cale Victoriei 56, Bucharest 010083, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: €82 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Grand elegance is back in Bucharest." At Grand Hotel Continental you will rediscover the old dimension of luxury in the hospitality. Architectural refinement details and exceptional services are dedicated to the elite clientele. We have restored the atmosphere of XIXth century, we have added the XXI-century technology and we have customized all services to create a unique and memorable experience for each guest. The Grand Hotel Continental is located on Calea Victoriei, a place full of history, the center of Bucharest high life since the 1800s. The building was built in 1886 by the plans of two known architects Mr. Enil Ritten Forster and I.I. Rasnovanu in German Renaissance style. It was first called "Otelul" and it was built where the old "Broft Hotel" (property of the businessman Menahem Elias) was before. Half a century later it took the Grand Hotel Continental name. The building has passed through a recent restoration, preserving the same classic structure and details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing