We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are a lot better hotels in Sofia, this is a two star at best !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marinela Sofia
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Sofia
Medellin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“There are a lot better hotels in Sofia, this is a two star at best !”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed at the Kempinsky Sofia for one night only (mercifully) having chosen it for old times sake having stayed here many times in the mid 1990's. Well nothing has
changed, in fact its got a whole lot worse.

Checking in I was surprised to be given a metal discus weighing close to half a kilo with the key attached - no keycard here !! This retro line continued when I got to the room as the bedroom furniture is tired old dark veneered (if it is still attached) flat pack and the TV so old it was a museum piece. The mini-bar had a price list but was empty and there was no turn-down service. There was no in-room wireless internet (surely a basic requirement for even a basic two star hotel ?). The bathroom had the decor of a 1970's airport public toilet and there was a rusty tideline in the bath.

Whilst the reception staff tried hard to be welcoming and friendly, the product they have to work with is dead on its feet and the entire hotel requires gutting. In simple terms it was awful and quite how they manage to hang on to a five star rating is beyond me, this is maybe, a tired two star. This is a Kempinsky in name only.

Maybe I should have known better as I am no stranger to Sofia, but for the sake of nostalgia I booked here - well my mistake and I should have known better. So this is a warning to others - for the money the Kempinsky is way, way over priced and it really is only now a relic of times past. For the same money you can have a choice of a myriad of better two star hotels in the same area of Lozenets.

Avoid - unless you want to experience a journey back into Bulgaria's socialist past in the 1970's when the local politburo spent the mornings cementing socialism and the afternoons here getting plastered.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Enoteque_Medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossitsa_Ognyanova, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marinela Sofia, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Enoteque_Medellin,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.

We deeply regret that you have had an unpleasant experience while staying at Kempinski Hotel Zografski Sofia. We appreciate receiving constructive feedback from our guests, even if it is of a critical nature, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide.

In reply to your comment, we would like to let you know that two thirds of our hotel rooms have been already renovated featuring smart card system in accordance with the latest security standards, complimentary Wi-Fi, interactive TV system with Music and Video on demand, safe, minibar.

It is only through patrons like you that we can go the extra mile that differentiates a Kempinski from the competition. We are acutely aware that you have a choice and we would like to keep you as our loyal guest.

Please contact me directly when planning your next visit to the hotel so that I can personally take care of your pleasant stay with us!

Best regards,

Rossitsa Ognyanova
Marketing and PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    265
    141
    61
    50
See reviews for
37
122
51
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed there last month. Overall enjoyed it. Staff is welcome. Room is light and clean. I had breakfast in the lobby terrace - like in garden :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanunda
Level Contributor
177 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in sept 2011, part of our bus tour of the area. Great room with excellent views of the city. Staff were very professional, and friendly, good quality food for dinner and breakfast. Lovely setting outside the ground floor, nice bar area and generally a place you would always go back to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barossabazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level Contributor
543 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I have organized a conference in Kempinski for 40 persons and I didn't get dissapointed at all
We have different type of room ( vip suite - deluxe - single) and all of them were very nice and well furnished.
All rooms were very clean with nice bathroom
Breakfast is nice, large choice
The fitness center is also very good and the pool is with nice warm water 28C
The staff is friendly and very helpful
Will defintely recommand it for anyone who is coming for business trip in Sofia

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Large, clean, comfortable hotel.
Had a corner room on the 16th floor over-looking the city.
Selection of restaurants to choose from. Food was good.
Piano bar open until very late.
Everyone was pleasant and friendly and efficient.
Pleanty of parking outside.
Fairly luxurious at reasonable prices.
Didn't have time to check out the pool and spa.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a delux room on a high floor, overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#2 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinela Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinela Sofia

Property: Hotel Marinela Sofia
Address: 100 James Bourchier Boulevard, Sofia 1407, Bulgaria (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Marinela Sofia)
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marinela Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marinela Sofia has an outstanding location, just 20 minutes from the airport and in close proximity to the city center. The hotel boasts amazing infrastructure built on 30 000 sqm and features the most comprehensive facilities in Sofia offering 442 rooms and suites with stunning panoramic views, the biggest hotel conference facilities in the capital, superb leisure and dining facilities including six restaurants and two bars and a modern health club with the biggest hotel swimming pool in the city. The hotel also offers the only Japanese garden on the Balkan Peninsula. Each Deluxe room and Junior suite are equipped with mini-bar, safe, individually controlled air-condition and heating systems, LCD or plasma flat screen TVs, a modern hotel entertainment system with video and music on demand, high-speed free Wi-Fi Internet and a smart card system in accordance with the latest security standards. Hotel Marinela boasts the biggest presidential suite in Bulgaria, in which a number of celebrities have stayed, such as Helmut Khol, Recep Erdogan, Sylvester Stallone, Julio and Enrique Iglesias, Lady Gaga, Tina Turner, James Brown, Anatoly Karpov, Wesley Snipes, Sergei Mihalkov, Elton John and more. Hotel Marinela provides every amenity necessary for focused and effective business communication. It is appropriate place for your successful meetings and celebrations. Three large banqueting halls, fully equipped to meet international expectations: Sofia 1, 2 and 3 can combine to form the largest hotel ballroom. Hotel boardrooms offer daylight, comfortable chairs and tables, easy connectivity to power and the web for each delegate, access to built-in multi-media equipment, interactive screens, microphones, flip charts, white boards, peg boards and free Wi-Fi. The six restaurants and two bars offer tantalising culinary creations from world cuisines. You can sip aromatic coffee or tea on the sun-lit terrace of Intermezzo lobby bar or enjoy fresh fish at Captain Cook or sushi fantasies at Happy Sushi; dine at the top of the city under the starry sky in Panorama Restaurant, taste sweet creations at Candy bar or stylish cocktails in Bar Le Parfum. The spacious fitness center is one of the most modern in Europe and includes massage rooms and the largest indoor hotel swimming pool in Sofia. Hotel Marinela offers free Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marinela Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing