We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,414)
Filter reviews
3,414 results
Traveller rating
2,121
831
316
95
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,121
831
316
95
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bebe spa ivi restaurant plantation bure butler service sundowner bar mei mei talai butler a deluxe ocean view room champagne and canapes kids club vale ni tapas meimei service peter hopgood every afternoon pool aerobics coral coast
Filter
Updating list...
1,127 - 1,132 of 3,414 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Brilliant place for couples, You have a choice adult only pool and restaurant options. Stayed in a bure great choice. Drinks and canapé arrived every afternoon. Highly recommend this resort to unwind and relax.

Stayed: March 2015
Thank df0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Dear df0810

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at our beautiful resort.
As you have highlighted we are blessed with an outstanding team. They love coming to work and engaging with our guests.
I also appreciated your comments regarding facilities for couples. We have dedicated dining areas for couples along with our stunning “adults only” swimming pool, Vahavu.
Df0810, All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.

Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the outrigger last week. My sons 18 and 20 really enjoyed the adult bar and the staff ensured they were not bored. They had a room in the main block with easy access to the gym and pool. We stayed in a bungalow where we enjoyed the butler service. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff even decorated our room for my birthday. Loved every minute of our stay

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank ingrid p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear Ingrid p

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent visit to our beautiful resort to celebrate your birthday. As you and your sons found out, lots of fun activities, outstanding dining options but most importantly warm and friendly staff!
Ingrid P, Once again we thank you for your comments. All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.

Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We revisited the Outrigger in July 2015, 3 years after our first visit to this resort. Once again we were delighted with the warm and friendly service offered by both management and staff. The addition of the new Vahavu adult pool area offered a quiet retreat to chill by the pool with a book or a drink. The view from our ocean view room was breathtaking, eclipsed only by the hilltop view from the Kalokalo Bar where we enjoyed sunset cocktails. The variety of meals was never ending, beginning with a wonderful buffet breakfast, lunch from any of the cafes or restaurants (if you left any room) finished off with dinner at a restaurant to suit your taste. A must is a visit to the award winning Ivi restaurant, where we were treated like royalty. We highly recommend the back of house tour, where the general manager will take a tour group behind the scenes to show how the resort is run. The tour will take you through the kitchens, stores, laundry, workshops and offices, proving that they are proud of their workplace and have nothing to hide. Finally, the main reason we are drawn back to this wonderful country is the warm and friendly locals who are genuinely happy to welcome all visitors.
Vinaka Vakelevu.
Ian & Robyn

Room Tip: Top floor rooms offer great views with no noise from neighbours above.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear Ian W
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort!
We sincerely thank you for your review.
It sounds like you had an outstanding holiday at our beautiful resort for your return visit.
As you found out, whilst we mainly cater for families we also offer an amazing array of “adult only” dining and activity options at the resort.
How good are the restaurants at the resort - Our “fine dine” restaurant, Ivi is currently rated as the best restaurant in Fiji whilst the Sundowner Bar and Grill is not far behind (refer separate trip advisor reviews on restaurants). Lunch at the Vahavu “adults only” swimming pool is simply outstanding.
Thank you for joining me on the “Back of House” tour. We seriously enjoy showing our guests around the kitchen, laundry, engineering workshops and also telling a few “Bula” tales.
Ian W, once again we thank you for your comments. All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Such a great resort for a family! It has a really friendly vibe from the moment you’re welcome at the gate by the loudest and longest Bulaaaaaaaaaa in all of Fiji! It’s about 90mins drive from Nandi airport, with not too much around, but that’s ok as there are a lot of activities in the resort. The pool area is very large and you can always get a deckchair, although the food and drink service from here was slow, and the food cold by the time it got to us. Other lunch and dinner options were mostly very good, although nearby restaurants and cafes were good to save a few $. I recommend hopping between the bars to make the most of the happy hours as when one finishes, another is starting up elsewhere.

Daily sports competitions were fun with great prizes on offer like zipline tours and fishing daytrips. Frog/Crab races, firewalking and kava ceremonies were also enjoyable. Nanny service was helpful and affordable for our little one, and the kids club looked busy while we were there.

The staff were very friendly and got to know your names towards the end of our week long stay. Highly recommend, and we’ll be back.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a beach view. The Bures are not too much more cost, so worthwhile
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Dear Dan P
Bula and sunny greetings from Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort.
We are absolutely thrilled to read that we were able to deliver such a wonderful holiday experience for you and your family.
As you have stated the best thing about a holiday at Outrigger Fiji is the warm and friendly staff – We are truly blessed to have the best employees you could find anywhere in the South Pacific – I will most definitely share your comments with all of the team.
One of the best things about an Outrigger Holiday is that we take wonderful care of the children so that Mums and Dads can have some much needed time together.
Dan P, Once again I thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your Outrigger holiday. All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

As our first overseas trip with a young baby (9 months old) we wanted somewhere that wasn't too far to travel but didn't feel like we were in the bubble of a big resort that could have been anywhere. The Outrigger was a really good compromise: it's on the mainland so it's just one flight, and then the 75-minute transfer from the airport took us far enough away that we were on the coral coast and could snorkel off the beach at the hotel. Sure, the beach isn't the picture-postcard tropical paradise you'd no doubt get on the smaller islands, but the snorkelling was better than we expected, we were happy knowing we had good access to medical facilities if we had needed them, and the fact that we were in our hotel room six hours after we took off from Sydney made it a winner for our little boy, and therefore a winner for us!

A word should also be said for the super-friendly staff at the Outrigger: they really made our baby's day with all of the smiles they gave him! I had heard that Fijians love kids but I didn't realise quite how much - they were always really lovely, and never too busy to stop and give him a warm "Bula!" greeting.

The only negative point is that it is quite an expensive holiday as the food and drink isn't cheap - in particular breakfast is tricky as there aren't many options if you don't want the buffet. However on the flip side they have a wonderful butler service where you are served a complimentary drink and canapes in your room at 5pm every day - I told our butler he has the best job at the resort as everyone loves to see him!

Finally, my top tip would be that if someone in your party has a birthday do let the hotel know as they do something special. I won't give too much away but it's a nice touch so make sure you tell them!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Fiona H
Greetings and a very big “Bula” from the team at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort.
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at our beautiful resort. As you found out we are truly blessed with the best team of staff that you could ever wish for. They seriously love coming to work and engaging with our guests. I will most definitely share your comments with our team, in particular your talai butler.
I have noted your comments regarding the breakfast buffet being too big. Our breakfast buffet is rated as one of the best in any resort. We also provide an “adults only” a la carte breakfast at the Sundowner Bar and Grill and if you are after something light you can also purchase a coffee with a muffin or Danish from Takia on the Go.
Fiona H, we thank you for your comments - hopefully we will see you back at our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future.

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews