We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kids Club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Kids Club”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The good... my kids (aged 3 and 5) had a blast at the kids club! The facilities and grounds are beautiful and lush. We loved that there were local crafts people at the resort. Gym was good. The spa was great!

The bad... we were put into the closest room to the wedding reception room (which is open air) , and there is no sound proofing in the room. There is a inch plus margin under the door. With all of the tile, the sound just carries. We go to bed early with young kids and felt like we were in the middle of the wedding receptions which lasted past 11pm. The guests would also stand outside our door and try to talk over the music. The microphone and applause were the worst...one reception had karaoke...!!! We asked to be moved, but they didn't oblige. The room was also a handicap-accessible room which meant that the entire bathroom flooded everytime you took a shower. This water got tracked into the room which isn't good when you have two young kids running around on tile. Our kids also prefer to take baths. Just not the best room for a family with young kids. I would think that the ages of the people in the room would be taken into consideration when assigning rooms. Our request to move fell on deaf ears until two nights before the end of our week-long stay.
The pool was great for size and variable areas that accommodated a wide range of ages. However, it was FREEZING!!! Not just brisk until you get adjusted to it...FREEZING. The kids still went in, but the adults stayed out for the most part. Hard to do when you have little ones. The girls came out BLUE.
Due to the trade winds, the beach was unused. Nice for walks but a bit chilly and sand-blown for sitting this time of the year. Had some water toys for use, but the wind was prohibitive. Most people checked out items only to return them very quickly.
Scuba diving operator on-site was rarely at the desk. Big waste of time trying to track them down.
We arrived early..5amish. Would have preferred that the desk say that a room would be available at their normal check-in time as opposed to being told repeatedly to check back in a little while. Again, another waste of time. Overall, loved the kids club but would probably look into going at a warmer time with less trade winds if that's possible. Preferred our second week's Mamanuca's location and warmth.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divingmommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear divingmommy
We have noted your recent comments on Trip Advisor and we are obviously disappointed that there were aspects of your holiday that did not meet your expectations!
For this we sincerely apologise!
I am not sure at what time of the year you travelled to Fiji but your comments that the pool was freezing is quite unusual! The temperatures in Fiji are usually 26 to 32 degrees Celsius in summer and only gets down to 20 to 26 degrees Celsius in winter!
We apologise for the noise emanating from the wedding party! All of our weddings finish at 10.00pm and the noise levels are closely monitored by our banquets team! It is obvious that we need to take more care in this area of our operations. We are pleased that your children enjoyed your time at the Kids Club and that you also had time to enjoy the Bebe Spa! divingmummy we sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. Our team at Outrigger are all about delivering an exceptional holiday experience! We are all disappointed, that in your case, we have not achieved this goal!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,873
    740
    274
    80
    43
See reviews for
1,517
859
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The staff at this resort deserves a standing ovation. I've never been more pampered and catered to and greeted more genuinely than at Outrigger Fiji. The experience was an absolute pleasure from beginning to end with none of the hassles that often accompanies traveling.

Rooms: I'd have loved to be on the ocean, but the view was unbeatable. The rooms are a bit of a hike from the rest of the property, but much to look at on the way. They are clean and tidy. Keep your Snickers wrappers in a zip lock though - Fiji ants have a sweet tooth!

Grounds/Pool: No shortage of lounge chairs, but get there early to find some shade. Somehow the acoustics were such that a hundred happily splashing children barely made a sound. Very peaceful.

Service: You will not walk by a staff member without receiving a booming "BULA!" in greeting. Also, many rooms come with Talai Butler Service. This means a pleasant staffer comes to your room each evening to turn down your bed and treat you with the daily selection of canapes and champagne - compliments of the house.

Activities: I did my first scuba dive in Fiji after the one-hour free pool lesson from the resort activity staff. Incredible experience. The resort also offers complimentary water sports like sea kayaking, snorkeling and stand-up paddle boarding.

Restaurants: The food was superb, but pricey. The breakfast buffet was enough to keep you full for the entire day which was good because it's about all I could afford! We often trekked down the beach to Le Cafe (excellent pizza, cheap beer) for the rest of our meals and to get a little of the local flavor.

I'd absolutely recommend this hotel. Get a spa treatment or two, laze around by the sea, soak up the sun, and just let this place spoil you.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better - otherwise you lose your view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btourek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear b tourek
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! I have noted your comments regarding a standing ovation – We love standing ovations and we will most certainly share your comments with our team!
We are also pleased that you enjoyed the enormous buffet breakfast that we offer at the resort! There are plenty of fresh options to choose from and the smoothies are to die for!
Thank you for your generous comments relating to our staff! They love coming to work and engaging with our guests – sometimes I think they are having way too much fun!
b tourek, Once again we thank you for your warm and friendly comments – We look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful part of the world!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger for 8 nights in January at the end of a 7-week honeymoon travelling around Australia and New Zealand. The main goal for our stay here was to relax, and we were pleased to find that this resort is the perfect place to do this in luxury.

A few days before we travelled here, we heard on the news that a lot of tourists were being evacuated from Fiji becuase of flash floods and cyclones. This worried us, becuase we'd never experienced weather like this and we almost didn't go. However, we're very pleased we did go - it was business as usual at the hotel, and the weather didn't seem to bother any of the staff. They had a wide range of 'wet weather activities', changing each day, so there was always plenty to do. There were three cyclones forecast for the area while we were there (only one of them hit nearby, just off the coast near us), and other than the tremendous amount of rain the only other signs we saw of the bad weather were the occasional (very short) power cuts.

Our room was perfect - we upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room and were very pleased we did. Great views of the resort and the sea, lovely huge room with a balcony and nice bathroom. It was always spotless (housekeeping did a great job and were very friendly and helpful), and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. We had the use of a day room for our last day (we had a late flight), and this was a superior resort room - the only main differences between the two were that the superior resort room didn't have the great view, and it just had a shower and no bath. Also, the deluxe ocean view room had a toilet in a separate room to the bathroom, which was convenient.

Breakfasts here were amazing - there's a huge variety at the buffet, as well as several alternating options each day. There's a lot of good fresh fruit and delicious smoothies, hot options (some bizarre breakfast choices such as curried sweet potatoes) and pancakes as well as standard cereals and breads.

Lunches and dinners in the resort are great, but they are 'tourist prices', i.e. probably twice as expensive as you'd pay outside a resort. Other than breakfast, we didn't get a meal plan because we thought we would try to eat outside the resort as much as we could. However, this didn't work out for us, as it's incredibly difficult to get out of the resort without transport (you need to walk along the beach, over some boulders, and through a cow-pat strewn paddock), and while there was a nice-looking pizza place just outside the resort, we could never summon the energy for that walk in the pouring rain. Everything in the resort is clean, sheltered and convenient, so we ended up just staying there and swallowing the price. Even if the weather was better, though, there's still not a great deal outside the resort within walking distance - just a little cafe/pizza place and a shop.

We did have some lovely meals, though, particularly at the Sundowner Grill and the Vale Ni Kana (buffet) restaurants. We ate at IVI, the fine dining restaurant, once - the service was great (if anything a bit over the top), and the food was very nice but not as memorable as we were expecting, and I prefered the food at Sundowner to the food at IVI.

We didn't take part in any of the many activities on offer, as we wanted to just read, relax and chill out, but we spoke to several people who did do the activities and they all had a great time. We were invited to the Thursday night party at the spa bar - we're very glad we went as it was a great opportunity to get to know the managers and other holiday makers (and there were free drinks and canapes as well, which was a good bonus!).

The spa was amazing! We had a 'Romantic Discovery', which included a full body massage each and then 30 minutes in a private milk bath with tropical fruit and champagne. Well worth it! (And with the room upgrade we got it 50% off, so it was a bargain.) We also did some guided yoga and meditation sessions at the spa, which were OK (but they were free, so it's difficult to find fault!)

We watched the firewalking show, but unfortunately it was held on the day with the most rain. They provided umbrellas and towels, but it was almost impossible to hear what was being said becuase the rain was so loud.

This was an amazing stay - we'd go back again in an instant, and hope you have just as good a time here as we did!

Room Tip: The Superior Resort room we saw looked just as nice as our Deluxe Ocean View room, just without the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Kate M
Greetings from the isle of smiles! We thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent honeymoon at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We are delighted that you and your new husband enjoyed your time with us! We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the variety of dining options that we have on offer! We seriously believe that we offer the best food of any resort in Fiji! We are also pleased that you enjoyed your treatments at the Bebe Spa – The spa is rated as the number one resort spa in Australasia! As you have clearly stated, even though we experienced quite a bit of wet weather there are always plenty of activities to enjoy at the resort! Our wet weather program is most probably the best I have seen!
Kate M, once again we sincerely thank you for your comments! We look forward to the day when you and your husband return our beautiful resort!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

as a family of 4 with 2 young kids 9and7 . we were in fiji for a wedding at the outrigger. this place is great,easy,relaxing,freindly,clean and allover the resort to stay at. we didnt do to many day trips outside the resort , not that anything really looked that good.the resort has everthing you need. the rooms are clean , new feel, big bathrooms, the tvs could do with a update.food was great as always when on holidays or you seem to do is eat drink and sleep, it seems. 4 resturants to choose from.
big pool ,great beach.allround we really enjoyed our stay.
thanks outrigger

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at the Outrigger for 7 nights in Feb 2012 with my wife and 2 sons (3 and 8 months) and had a fantastic time. My wife and I said this is the first holiday where nothing has gone wrong and we both want to go back as soon as we can. The drive is about 90 minutes by transfer which we arranged with our travel agent and the roads are okay but getting to the resort you forget about the journey instantly. From the moment you arrive at the gate you are welcomed with a Bula and smile by everyone, a great welcome drink and towel to cool you down after the drive from Nadi is appreciated. We stayed in the family garden rooms (the basic) and found it was great for our family, the rooms are in great condition and clean, a portable cot was already in the room when we arrived and the sofa bed had clean sheets, we just needed to fold it out at night.

The staff at the resort are what really make the place special, they all get to know your name and remember the children, everyone wanted to cuddle our baby. Every time you walk past a staff member, even if you can tell they have something on their mind they take the time to smile and say Bula. The pool is great, there is places to sit and eat by the pool at the table or sit on a lounge with a small table for drinks and a plate. The staff around the pool bar and restaurant are always walking around to ask if you want drinks and talk and play with the kids if they don’t have any orders to bring out.

We had a bit of wet weather the first few days and as it is a lot of activities are based outdoors it meant we missed out on doing a few things, there was a wet weather program delivered to your mailbox around breakfast time so you knew what you could do instead that day, there was always something going on even with the wet weather. The walk back to the rooms isn’t very far at all, it is a slight uphill gradient but under thatch cover the whole way. We probably walked it about 10 times a day and even carrying a tired 3 year old it wasn’t too hard, plus it gave us a chance to look at the fish in the streams and frogs jumping about at night.

We tried out all the restaurants except the Ivi as we ate with our children and had a great meal in all of them. As soon as you get to the entrance you are greeted by someone to take you to your table, gives you a high chair and then helps with the drinks. I wish the service we got in Australia was this good. The buffet was great and there was enough variety each day to feel different, the roast pork and apple sauce was my favourite. The sundowner was my favourite restaurant and we ended up eating there most lunches and some dinners, I’m not sure if we were there during a slow period but there wasn’t many people at lunches compared to dinner time so take advantage of the great pizza and bread to have at lunchtimes. We had the restaurant to ourselves or one or two other tables most lunches so the staff played with the children and talked to us, you get a fantastic view of the reef and waves breaking and a cracking sunset view. At night there was a man singing and playing guitar which gave a great ambience to the place. The restaurant around the pool was great for the lunches where we wanted something light and some fruit, it was café style which went well sitting around the pool with some beer or cocktails. At night it is more Asian influenced and the one meal we had was great. All the restaurants have a slightly different children’s menu so there was enough variety to keep adults and children happy, my son loved being able to order his own food and drinks when they asked what he wanted whilst we were still deciding what to eat each day. We ordered room service on two occasions, one pizza and one cheese plate. I heard about Fiji time before we got to Fiji but the staff at the resort definitely don’t follow that when they bring food to your room, after you ring and order everything arrived really quickly. We got a goodbye song on our last breakfast and nearly cried as everyone is so sweet and makes you feel special.

We got the vouchers as we knew we would be eating at the restaurants at the hotel due to our kids and it was great knowing the only extra costs you had were anything you drank. Due to having the vouchers we probably overate, we could have skipped a meal or two due to the amount of food you get but as we had the vouchers we just ate all the time. Outside of the vouchers, we did get coffee from the café at the top of the resort and bought beer and cocktails every day. I work in the CBD in Sydney so I thought everything was reasonably priced and I paid less than I would have if I went out for a coffee or a beer in the CBD.

My wife went to the Bebe spas for two treatments and each time came back saying how great they were, from the ride up to the ride back down the hill everything was great and she didn’t have a bad word to say. We did have High Tea and a cocktail at the spa and the view was outstanding, the High Tea was great especially the home made strawberry jam.

We didn’t use the kid’s club nor the Mei Mei service other than for 2 hours but our children had such a great time in the pool, walking on the beach and resort grounds they were never bored. We went for a trip to the Eco park, the buggies take you right there and pick you up which saves you a walk in the heat. I also had a chance to have a hit at the driving range with my son and he had a great time, although the range is a bit short at 220m as I hit the back fence a few times, a shame it wasn’t during the longest drive competition. We were also lucky enough to be at the Sand Sculpture event and got to see some great fire dancing and drink some complimentary drinks.

The only disappointing thing was our flight back to Sydney was rescheduled 5 hours early and it meant we missed out on spending half a day at the resort. The staff at the front desk were helpful in confirming the times and working with the travel agent and airline and they allowed us to use one of the lunch vouchers we were saving for breakfast as we would not be at the resort to use it.

Although this is my first review on tripadvisor, I had such a fantastic time that I thought it would be a shame not to pass onto other potential travelers my experience and as it appears that Peter reads each of these, I hope you can pass on my thanks to all the staff for such a great holiday which we will always remember. Also I am sorry that my son didn’t respond when you asked him how his day was, he was just tired from all the swimming and was grumpy because I wouldn’t carry him back to the room, he had a fantastic time. We will definitely go back to the Outrigger and I won’t even bother looking at other resorts as we had such a great time there they deserve my repeat business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Gavin J
Greetings from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji - We sincerely thank you for your comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at our beautiful resort!
I was so pleased to read that this was the first holiday that you enjoyed where nothing went wrong! As you have rightly stated, our biggest asset is our warm and friendly staff – They are by far the best you will find in Fiji! We are also pleased that you enjoyed the many and varied dining options that we have on offer! I must admit my favorite is also the Sundowner Bar and Grill – Great steaks with even better entertainment!
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your holiday experience - you are correct when you write that I do read each and every comment and respond accordingly! Also no issue with your son not wanting to chat to me! GM’s can be a bit scary to the kids at times! Gavin J, once again we thank you for your comments! We look forward to the day when you, your wife and the two boys return to Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
19.9 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,542 reviews
49.3 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,074 reviews
0.5 km away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
14.6 km away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
49.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing